English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 April 2012, 06:21   #1
weiju
Registered User
weiju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 50
FS-UAE 1.1 Development Series - Autoscaling problem

Hi Frode,

I tried a couple of settings for the 1.1.0 version of FS-UAE and it seems that the scaling is wrong when I don't set the viewport setting, however it works when I set it explicitly. When viewport is not set, it looks like this:



I have also attached the configuration files and log file (I am using the Amiga OS 3.1 that I purchased with Cloanto's Amiga Forever).

Thanks,

Wei-ju
Attached Files
File Type: zip configs_and_log.zip (6.8 KB, 179 views)
weiju is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 April 2012, 20:18   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
Hi, I did not manage to reproduce the problem with AmigaOS 3.1 from Amiga Forever, but I did get the same result while booting a ClassicWB installation. I traced the problem to being triggered by "SetPatch" in S/StartupSequence. It is possible you have the same problem, and that the issue depends on the SetPatch version.

I also confirmed that the same autoscaling problem is present in WinUAE 2.4.0 (and WinUAE 2.4.1beta4). This is not necessarily an autoscale bug: autoscaling is just a best-effort function to try to fit the display, but will not always get it right.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 05 April 2012, 03:21   #3
weiju
Registered User
weiju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 50
Hi Frode,
you are right - as soon as I deactivate the SetPatch in the Startup-Sequence, the screen is scaled to the correct size.
Still, it's interesting that version 0.9.12 does not have this problem even with the same OS configuration.

Thanks,

Wei-ju
weiju is offline  
Old 05 April 2012, 12:35   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by weiju View Post
Hi Frode,
you are right - as soon as I deactivate the SetPatch in the Startup-Sequence, the screen is scaled to the correct size.
Still, it's interesting that version 0.9.12 does not have this problem even with the same OS configuration.
Thanks,Wei-ju
Well, it's a bit interesting if the problem does not exist in 1.0.2 either, but 1.1.x got updated WinUAE code, so the autoscaling algorithm has probably been tweaked a bit. I might have a look at it, but it hasn't high priority now. -And changing the autoscaling code might break other cases.

One possibility, if no other suitable fix is found, is to add a hack to specifically detect this "error" and hardcode a fix for it, since these scaling parameters are not likely to be correct in other situations either. Not a very elegant solution. I'll see what I do..
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 06 April 2012, 06:11   #5
weiju
Registered User
weiju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Well, it's a bit interesting if the problem does not exist in 1.0.2 either, but 1.1.x got updated WinUAE code, so the autoscaling algorithm has probably been tweaked a bit. I might have a look at it, but it hasn't high priority now. -And changing the autoscaling code might break other cases.

One possibility, if no other suitable fix is found, is to add a hack to specifically detect this "error" and hardcode a fix for it, since these scaling parameters are not likely to be correct in other situations either. Not a very elegant solution. I'll see what I do..
Yes, I think there are more important issues than this one, and maybe it should be adjusted in WinUAE as well in that case to keep the source in sync. At least I know what causes it and there is a workaround. Thank you so much !

Wei-ju
weiju is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE Development Series FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 1248 07 July 2018 01:11
FS-UAE 1.3 Development Series FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 376 28 October 2012 17:42
FS-UAE 1.1 Development Series FrodeSolheim support.FS-UAE 214 06 May 2012 13:53
FS-UAE Developement Series 1.1.x - "White Screen Problem" nexusle support.FS-UAE 6 15 April 2012 23:24
E-UAE Development pjhutch support.OtherUAE 1 06 October 2008 02:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06469 seconds with 14 queries