English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

Old 02 April 2011, 18:21   #1
amiga1

A500+ Upgrading help

Hi,

I received an Amiga 500+ not too long ago. Now that I've graduated and my studies are over I started in on playing with it. I need some help on what types of upgrades I can do to this thing to get it up to date as possible. It has a GVP HD8+ 120MBscsi w/2MB, 2MB Chip, a VXL030 & ram32 W/2mb. There's a rom switch installed, too with a KS1.3 and KS2.1 (or a 2.something). I'm new to this amiga thing so I've been reading a lot about what can be changed with the hardware that I have. I've been having a great time, too lol. I always wanted one of these beasts in my younger years.

I've ordered a 68882 fpu and a micromys v3. Above that I really have no idea what would be a good update to the system that would work well. Would upgrading the SIMM's in the GVP to 8MB make a difference? Or maybe the RAM32 up'd to 8MB? Or both??? would that even work and be noticed by the Amiga?

the 120MB SCSI HD sounds like it's on it's last legs, too. Would a SCSI-IDE to CF adapter be better? I also read that a ZIP is faster than the HD because of the spinup... I've heard of ppl up'in ghte HD to 4GB and even 9GB, but that requires a new ROM or some omni.device or something like that... But sometimes it doesn't... Confuses the hell out of me trying to figure that one out.

If I install a KS3.1 ROM would I be able to install OS 3.5 or 3.9? Has anyone overclock a VXL before? Would a RAM32 upgrade to 8MB and some new crystals for the FPU and 68030 be better than just upgrading the ram in GVP HD8+?

Really, I'd like to get this thing as up-to-date as I possibly can. I'm planning on getting a KS3.1 and a floppy emulator in my next purchase. I'm having a great time with this beast, but due to the info overload I've been giving myself I'm getting a little confuses as to what would work and what wouldn't...

Thanks for your advice and help in advance!

dk