English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 July 2014, 15:57   #1
Piramania
 
Posts: n/a
Commodore 64 Web.it

Hi!

I'm selling my "Commodore 64 Web.It" - It is fully functional, perfect condition, boxed with all original bags, cables, pointer and manuals.

This computer was designed and built by Web Computers International, a Belgian startup that has licensed the Commodore-brand from Tulip Computers who had taken over the brand from ESCOM after Commodore's demise. Built in flash-drive, modem, TV-out, VGA-out, touch-pad with optional pointer. The software, however, was dismal -- Windows, some sort of Lotus office suite, Netscape, and a C64 Emulator.

The computer was a commercial disaster, and apparently only a few hundred machines were sold. (No wonder - it's retail price was around 400 )

More info:
http://www.amigahistory.co.uk/c64web.html
http://www.frankfaber.nl/websites/webit/index.html

Asking price 70 EUR + Shipping from Denmark







Last two:
http://disneybasen.dk/forumgrafik/webit_4.jpg
http://disneybasen.dk/forumgrafik/webit_5.jpg
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 July 2014, 16:34   #2
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 652
Bizarre, I never knew such a monstrosity existed! Someone might like it a s a curio.
Adrian Browne is offline  
Old 17 July 2014, 16:42   #3
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,808
It's just laptop without display but I'm curious about C= and F8 keys.
s2325 is offline  
Old 17 July 2014, 17:24   #4
Piramania
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian Browne View Post
Bizarre, I never knew such a monstrosity existed! Someone might like it a s a curio.
Yeah, I believe the thing is rather rare but it is probably only insteresting as a curio, as the processor is too slow for decent C64 emulation.
 
Old 17 July 2014, 17:29   #5
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,808
I think for DOS based C64 emulator this CPU is enough.
s2325 is offline  
Old 17 July 2014, 18:29   #6
Piramania
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
I think for DOS based C64 emulator this CPU is enough.
Not really... The machine ships with a customized / optimized(?) version of CCS64, but still it is too slow to make games running smoothly. Strange, but I guess they just wanted to rush the thing to market before they ran out of money
 
Old 22 July 2014, 17:40   #7
barkingboy
Zone Friend
barkingboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 146
Is it as uncomfortable to use / type on as it looks?
barkingboy is offline  
Old 23 July 2014, 15:15   #8
Piramania
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by barkingboy View Post
Is it as uncomfortable to use / type on as it looks?
Pretty much, yes The actual keyboard feels okay, but the thickness of the computer is about the same (and as uncomfortable) as any other laptop from that time.
 
Old 25 July 2014, 00:26   #9
Piramania
 
Posts: n/a
The computer is now sold!
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Commodore Amiga CD32 and Commodore CDTV j_sntos MarketPlace 4 09 March 2012 15:18
Looking for a few items on the web..... Smiley MarketPlace 3 21 November 2006 23:41
New Amiga Web Browser Solid Snake Amiga scene 7 19 June 2006 16:04
I came across this Web Site..... CPC464 Amiga websites reviews 4 06 November 2002 23:31
My web page ... Carlos Ace Amiga websites reviews 9 05 August 2002 01:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13718 seconds with 12 queries