English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2007, 21:43   #1
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 3,412
Amiga Inc. registers new brands in Germany

According to this report on http://www.amiga-news.de/de/news/AN-...-00087-DE.html, Amiga Inc. registers the brands AMIGA ENABLED and AMIGA ANYWHERE in Germany!

What are they going to do?!
viddi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 February 2007, 22:02   #2
superBuster
superFreak
superBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: planet earth
Age: 45
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to superBuster
the less they do the better. My feeling is they are just registering this so they can sue other for using it. Amiga inc is not capabile of creating anyting new or worthwhile
superBuster is offline  
Old 26 February 2007, 22:11   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
NO JOKE:

They are about to launch a Classic Amiga emulator for Cable & Satellite set-top-boxes in the similar mould to the Virtual Console on the Wii.

They are offering 25% of the sale price (about $1 per sale) to ex-Amiga developers who sign up and offer their products for over-air / internet download.

It almost certainly will be a disaster.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 February 2007, 22:11   #4
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400


www.amiga.stink
Dizzy is offline  
Old 26 February 2007, 22:16   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
They tried to contact Thalion several months ago to sign us up and I spent several hours phoning round the copyright holders and passing on the details that Bill McEwen sent me.

They all wrote back to him and he never replied.

WTF?!?

I doubt they could squeeze a quality Amiga emulator onto a set-top-box anyhow. 250MHz PowerPC / MIPS is not exactly the speed you would need to run UAE unoptimised.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 February 2007, 22:19   #6
superBuster
superFreak
superBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: planet earth
Age: 45
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to superBuster
hmmmm, they don't own any content.... they will host OS1.3 and 3.1? beside it makes sense with the Wii, but to buy/rent at set top box to play old games you can run better in uae? retarded.
superBuster is offline  
Old 26 February 2007, 22:48   #7
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
I wish they'd give up! For the love of god will no one let the Amiga name rest in peace
Paul_s is offline  
Old 27 February 2007, 01:35   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by superBuster
hmmmm, they don't own any content....
They are offering a delivery method for content owners to sell their games through them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superBuster
they will host OS1.3 and 3.1?
Get real! G.A.M.E.S. Home Entertainment etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superBuster
beside it makes sense with the Wii, but to buy/rent at set top box to play old games you can run better in uae?
Either you are very THICK or very naive. They aint going after the minority (i.e. geeks like you & me) who know this stuff is free on the net. They are also not going for people who dont already have the hardware.

They are going after the MAJORITY which are ordinary people who have a set-top-box in their home because they have cable or satellite. The hardware is free with their subscription TV package which they happily pay for to watch LOST and 24 etc. There are about 20x-30x more STB's in homes than any Wii, PS3 or XBOX360 combined!

The idea, the platform AND the buisness is VERY VERY real and if they could pull it off it would be a nice little earner. However the content is very very old, most kids over 8-9 would look at it and go "yeah whatever, where is the 3D?" and the set-top-boxes are so underpowered for emulation.

That said people still play the lame VERY slow Java games which are installed on most set-top-boxes, enough to make those companies millions of dollars a year!

Last edited by alexh; 27 February 2007 at 01:43.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using FPU registers? oRBIT Coders. General 16 26 April 2010 14:34
Lost amiga titles from Germany Valaxuna project.aGTW 21 30 July 2009 16:50
Amiga power suply in BERLIN/GERMANY Akira MarketPlace 0 28 April 2008 14:09
Gayle Hardware Registers bluea support.Hardware 5 09 July 2006 18:07
Brands Hatch stainy HOL data problems 4 07 May 2006 22:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14187 seconds with 12 queries