English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 July 2018, 05:15   #1
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 498
A500s with bad FDD

I have salvaged a pair of A500's from the junk pile, both boot happily to the insert WB disk screen, but neither will read a disk...

Suggestions on where to start?

EDIT: Perhaps I should clarify: Is there anything other than swapping the floppy drive that I should consider? (I realized this is a rather ridiculously obvious thread otherwise ).

Last edited by Marchie; 31 July 2018 at 11:45.
Marchie is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 15:47   #2
Devlin
Bane of Magic

Devlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bradford, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 327
clean disk heads thoroughly but GENTLY, open machines and confirm connections are good and solid etc etc
Devlin is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 15:51   #3
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,396
Another issue that crops up with drives that have been sitting for a long time is that the heads seize and can't move. Taking the lid off the drive and carefully cleaning the rails, if possible applying some new, light lubricant, is a good idea too. Over the years, the original grease mixes with dust and dirt to become a thick, gungy mess that hardens on the slide rails.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 01 August 2018, 02:59   #4
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
What happens when you insert the disk?
idrougge is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 09:14   #5
gdunlapsd
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: San Diego / USA
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Another issue that crops up with drives that have been sitting for a long time is that the heads seize and can't move. Taking the lid off the drive and carefully cleaning the rails, if possible applying some new, light lubricant, is a good idea too. Over the years, the original grease mixes with dust and dirt to become a thick, gungy mess that hardens on the slide rails.
I've found that WD40 works very well as a solvent to dissolve and clean up hardened old grease. Just make sure to apply new grease afterwards; WD40 is not really a lubricant.
gdunlapsd is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 02:47   #6
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
What happens when you insert the disk?
Both drives just click and spin a little.
Marchie is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 02:49   #7
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 498
Looks like I'm going to have to learn how to service a floppy drive.

Never done this before - are there any guides out there? What kind of grease might I need and where would I get it?

Thanks all for the replies by the way!
Marchie is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 04:17   #8
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
What model is it? Some suffer from run-out capacitors.
idrougge is offline  
Old 02 August 2018, 10:10   #9
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,450
I'm no expert on repairing disk drives but for lubricating the drive I would use either RP7 or a 3-in-1 type oil.
Hewitson is online now  
Old 03 August 2018, 01:18   #10
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
What model is it? Some suffer from run-out capacitors.
The 500's are both rev5, can't speak for the floppy drives, do they have a model number somewhere on them?

I pulled one drive out, cleaned and lubricated it, but the result is still the same, will keep trying and see if I can pull something off before Goteks arrive in the post...


By the way - I have a working drive pulled from a 1200, can I drop that into a 500?
Marchie is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 01:58   #11
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
The model number is often printed on the rear of the FDD.

A1200 drives work fine, as long as they come from Commodore machines. But the mounting requires some ingenuity since A1200 drives are slimmer than A500 ones.
idrougge is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 23:20   #12
Wayne123
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: So. California, USA
Age: 59
Posts: 59
My A500 Rev 6 has a Chinon FB-354 drive, I see them sometimes on EBAY.
Wayne123 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parallel to FDD? whitebird support.Hardware 13 22 January 2015 01:20
If you like Gotek drives and A500s I think you'll be interested in this. Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 61 30 September 2014 01:39
What floppy drives did the A500s originally ship with? quantum112 support.Hardware 9 19 July 2009 22:27
What do you think of the special edition A500s? Graham Humphrey Amiga scene 48 27 December 2007 00:46
Bad MCP, BAD! Akira support.Apps 14 22 August 2003 17:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07717 seconds with 13 queries