English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 February 2018, 04:21   #1
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 278
Ide on A2000 GVP accell card

Not getting any response now or boot up on my Gvp scsi card and hd boot sys.

I also have a GVP Accellerator 030 rev. 7 installed.
It has a 40 pin (male) Ide connector on it. I originally thought this was scsi.

How can I make this work as an autoboot compact flash or sd card hard drive?
Seems most Amiga setups like this use 44 pin.
Signman is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 04:35   #2
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,960
You need the Autoboot ROMs on it which your board may or may not have. Try to boot off of a Workbench floppy from a cli do:
version gvpat.device
See what it says.

Amiga.resource says it only supports 1024 cylinder drives, so you'd have to use a relatively small CF or SD card or maybe do some trickery with your drive geometry.

If you get this working then mostly any IDE-44 pin to IDE-40 pin adapter should work but it will probably be really slow.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 12:09   #3
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
There are nice and cheap CF adapters for 40 pin IDE which fit into a card bracket so they're accessible from the outside.
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 February 2018, 00:55   #4
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 278
So my system has the GVP impact series 2 scsi card with a 1 gb Hd on it. There is no memory installed. My other card is the Gvp 030 Accellerator with 8mb installed.
Also have a Megachip 2mb in there.
Everything booted up fine , nice and fast at 50 mhz before. Now no boot except to floppy and when I do get to workbench no fast ram at all, no extra chip ram and using the gvp disks it doesnt see anything . No drives except df0 and df1(why only one drive in there) anyways...
It did do some type of diagnostics and found an fpu.

Could it be The Accellerator is toast not allowing the gvp impact to work or is the gvp impact card bad not allowing to see memory on accell card.

Or just a bad drive. Typing version gvpat.device ...could not open.
If this booted into 1.3 wb , would that affect it. Have 3.1 rom installed.

I hooked up the 10gb HD to the ide of the accellerator and no go, probably right, too large.
I am still not sure who is the culprit here for the scsi drive on gvp
Signman is offline  
Old 14 February 2018, 20:19   #5
Signman
Registered User

Signman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan
Posts: 278
All of sudden after reconfiguring floppy drives everything comes back online.
Signman is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with GVP A2000-HC+8 Series II SCSI Card checksum support.Hardware 63 23 July 2019 10:12
GVP A2000-HC+8 Series II SCSI Card Kin Hell MarketPlace 8 20 May 2015 13:25
GVP A2000-HC+8 SCSI to IDE to CF - will that work? bRick support.Hardware 4 17 December 2014 03:11
WTB:GVP HC+8 scsi card for A2000 Megamix MarketPlace 1 19 October 2011 16:38
A2000 GVP Impact 8meg card jumper settings T_hairy_bootson support.Hardware 2 21 March 2005 14:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06294 seconds with 15 queries