English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 November 2017, 15:04   #121
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Ah ok, then.
Muadib is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 18:28   #122
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
ok
it's one of the danceform examples.
just export this as a lightwave scene (keyframes only)
in lw you see the bones setup, only one object which you replace with your object.

it's adviced to have the same pose on the first frame of the MoCap file,
and the object you want use. but i still struggle here a bit, with puppet's arms in T-pose :/

in DanceForms you have to duplicate the first frame, so it will export to the lw scene.
they seem to count the frame numbers differently, DF starts with 1 , while LW with 0, IIRC.

as long as there is still a free alternative on the net, i dont
Sorry I was at work...

By free you mean anonymous, I suppose?

I am having thoughts about starting a homepage for ARS, btw...
Muadib is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 18:34   #123
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
np. yes, just an upload button - and there u go.
these "free" portals, they aren't free - they get enough metadatas already ... :/

i would be happy, to read on fuzzbook, but this still doesnt work,
i suppose - I cannot find the url at the moment.
emufan is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 00:47   #124
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
I cannot find a working free/anonymous video hoster.
YT, vimeo you need an account - are there alternatives left?

#1) https://streamable.com/vzwq9
does this work?
Works for me.

Totally cool dance BTW - is this mocap data or hand keyframing?
Marchie is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 00:54   #125
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
I 'd love to learn your way of doing it on the Amiga, would you like to share sone directions/instructions/scenes in the future?
I'd love to share how it was done. I'm actually hoping to make a couple of videos about it. Youtube is full of 3D character tutorials, but none on Amiga...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
Coooool! Is it a stock A2000 you did it with?
I started modelling on a 14Mhz 020 with 50Mhz FPU, 12mb RAM (which is about as low as you can go for a VT system). To be fair it was pretty rough going, not sure I could have completed the rigging and animation on those specs. I recently upgraded to V500, which is brilliant, although still a little hamstrung until the 2.7 core arrives with a proper FPU.

Last edited by Marchie; 14 November 2017 at 01:01.
Marchie is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 01:34   #126
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
Works for me.

Totally cool dance BTW - is this mocap data or hand keyframing?
mocap, using the freely available DanceForms for the peecee and macintosh
the puppet i lend from lw 2015

#1) once the fpu is working with the vampire, I think you will use 5.0?
ensure to use the latest standalone versions: modeler 5.0f / layout 5.0r (what was found)

#2) do you have a toaster system in your a2000? if so, skip the above, you already have the latest

Last edited by emufan; 14 November 2017 at 01:48.
emufan is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 08:09   #127
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
#2) do you have a toaster system in your a2000? if so, skip the above, you already have the latest
Can 't one have LW 5 on a Toaster system?
Muadib is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 09:51   #128
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 365
Yes, I have a toaster system, the 4.3 CD has 3.5 and 5.0 on it, but 5.0 is FP only. Will definitely jump to 5.0 once I have decent floating point performance!
Marchie is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 16:17   #129
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
all right. I could argue to prefer the standalone version, so you may have some more ram,
but this isnt a problem with the vampire and it's 128 mb fast ram anymore.
in the first place I wasnt sure , you are working on a toaster system
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
Can 't one have LW 5 on a Toaster system?
reading earlier Marchie added a V500, i simply concluded the 5.0 version is on hold,
until the fpu is working

Last edited by emufan; 14 November 2017 at 18:03.
emufan is offline  
Old 15 November 2017, 02:01   #130
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 365
One minor advantage of running through the switcher is that you can display your renders on a 2nd monitor as a reference as you work - rather handy if you're tweaking poses (especialy when you can't get a solid viewport display in layout - grrr...!)

I think you can use the toaster to preview animations as well, but I haven't tried this yet as I always render to image sequences.
Marchie is offline  
Old 15 November 2017, 16:54   #131
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
thats some cool setup. together with the vampire it will become,
what toaster users have been waiting for 20+ years
emufan is offline  
Old 15 November 2017, 17:38   #132
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Permission to be jealous, please!
Muadib is offline  
Old 16 November 2017, 23:35   #133
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Whoa guys!

The DOF-toy plugins is an AMAZING tool! It helps calculate some of the 7 values that are responsible for the DOF by inputting and locking the known ones. The text file accompanying it explains how it works.

The plugin can also grab values from a specific frame.

It also shows frames in SMPTE,
i.e. for frame 74 @ 25fps = 0:00:02:24
or for frame 74 @ 30fps = 0:00:02:14

I 've been looking for something helpful in TimeCodes like this for a looong time.

Thanks Emufan!
Muadib is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 13:32   #134
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 365
So catch me up - this plugin speeds-up DOF rendering? Or makes it possible at all?

I knew LW rendered DOF (and was one of the earlier programs to do so) but I didn't know it did it in v5...wow.
Marchie is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 13:53   #135
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
So catch me up - this plugin speeds-up DOF rendering? Or makes it possible at all?

I knew LW rendered DOF (and was one of the earlier programs to do so) but I didn't know it did it in v5...wow.
No, it helps with calculations when inputting DOF values. Try it out!
Muadib is offline  
Old 18 November 2017, 14:12   #136
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
I 've been looking for something helpful in TimeCodes like this for a looong time.
cool
emufan is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 17:13   #137
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,235
I've been working on a simple Lightwave animation (using v11 on the PC) but for some reason the animation is screwed up! Anyone have a clue what has gone wrong? I've uploaded the animation to YouTube:

[ Show youtube player ]

The colours are wrong. The beak is yellow and the fur is supposed to be blue.
Steve is online now  
Old 09 December 2017, 17:17   #138
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 613
What are you using to do the animation file, Lightwave save as anim or saving the frames and making the animation with another tool?

I use Lightwave 2015.3 on my PC and save as anim (.avi using Techsmith Screen Capture Codec) though on fast animations it seems to have issues and I use Quicktime h.264 instead.

Last edited by SnkBitten; 09 December 2017 at 17:22.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 17:18   #139
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
What issue are you having? Not knowing what your animation is supposed to do vs. what it is doing is hard to diagnose. I use Lightwave 2015.3 on my PC.
The colours are wrong. The beak is yellow and the fur is supposed to be blue. Can you see the banding effect? It's not supposed to look like that. Maybe it's the video codec I used? I'm not sure. I used Intel Indeo iYUV v2.0 and saved as an AVI at HDTV 1920x1080 resolution. Single frame renders look correct but this is the first time I've played around with animation before in Lightwave.

Here is a single frame.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	emu_head.png
Views:	32
Size:	90.2 KB
ID:	55784  

Last edited by Steve; 09 December 2017 at 17:28.
Steve is online now  
Old 09 December 2017, 17:38   #140
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 613
It's probably the codec. I use Techsmith Screen Capture Codec which works well for simple animations.

Whatever codecs you have for on your PC should be available. I used xvid but it crashed way too much so switched to Techsmith. It doesn't handle bright or fast moving scenes well so have been using Quicktime lately. This was rendered out as an .avi in Lightwave 2015.3 and then converted to a web friendly .mp4 format outside of Lightwave.

http://www.tomcrews.com/LW-Test/Falcon-run2.mp4
SnkBitten is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scala Tutorials? zerohour1974 support.Apps 3 24 March 2015 06:28
Cracking Tutorials? ufo Coders. General 21 31 January 2014 13:39
Vector Tutorials h0ffman Coders. General 7 24 January 2011 19:16
Tutorials for raytracers christianlucio request.Other 0 04 September 2010 19:38
AMOS tutorials Galaxy Coders. Tutorials 0 26 June 2007 14:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11231 seconds with 14 queries