English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2021, 11:26   #21
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
Yes, it's working when I put it in my USB card reader on the Windows computer. I can copy files to it no problem.
Make sure that it is not formatted as ExFAT or NTFS or something.

Check that the FAT95 files haven been installed properly and that the CF0 file configuration is pointing to it.
solarmon is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 12:46   #22
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
Make sure that it is not formatted as ExFAT or NTFS or something.

Check that the FAT95 files haven been installed properly and that the CF0 file configuration is pointing to it.

The card is formatted as Fat32.
I can see a fat95 file in L.
There is a CF0 file in DEVS/DOSdrivers. When I choose Information from the ICON menu I get a new window but it doesn't say anything about Fat95 there.
When I double click CF0 it says "Device 'CF0:' is already mounted".
MBG is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 12:49   #23
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
The card is formatted as Fat32.
I can see a fat95 file in L.
There is a CF0 file in DEVS/DOSdrivers. When I choose Information from the ICON menu I get a new window but it doesn't say anything about Fat95 there.
When I double click CF0 it says "Device 'CF0:' is already mounted".
You need to view/edit the CF0 file to show its contents.

It is probably OK/correct, but good to rule it out.
solarmon is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 12:55   #24
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
When I edit CF0 it says among other things
Filesystem: = l:fat95
Device: = compactflash.device
MBG is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 12:59   #25
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
When I edit CF0 it says among other things
Filesystem: = l:fat95
Device: = compactflash.device
That looks normal/correct.

If you are able to use ADF, then you can try my standalone boot disk. This will rule out any issue with your Workbench OS setup. The boot disk has the CFD/FAT95 drivers installed.

https://sites.google.com/one-n.co.uk...boot-cfd-fat95
solarmon is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 13:03   #26
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
I just tried the premade ADF file in my GOTEK but that also gives read/write errors. Very strange.
An ADF image cannot have read errors. Are you sure it says "read/write error" and not "checksum error"? That's something different. Checksum errors can be caused by Viruses. Lamer Exterminator comes to mind.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
An install program seems to come out. "install_95". When I double click it
nothing seems to be happening. Am I doing something wrong?
RTFM maybe? The install_95 program just changes the language of the strings inside the fat95 program. It does not install anything.



Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
I can see a fat95 file in L.
There is a CF0 file in DEVS/DOSdrivers.
You also need compactflash.device in Devs.
thomas is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 13:16   #27
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
RTFM maybe? The install_95 program just changes the language of the strings inside the fat95 program. It does not install anything.

You also need compactflash.device in Devs.

RTFM? I'm sorry to upset you but I don't know as much about this stuff as you.
I did read the readme that came with the fat95.lha and don't see that the install changes the language.

Compactflash.device is in Devs.
MBG is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 13:41   #28
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
If you are able to use ADF, then you can try my standalone boot disk. This will rule out any issue with your Workbench OS setup. The boot disk has the CFD/FAT95 drivers installed.

https://sites.google.com/one-n.co.uk...boot-cfd-fat95

I downloaded your boot disk but I'm having trouble writing it to a floppy because I can't get it onto my Amiga.
And I can't boot from the Gotek as it's external.
Pfff. Not easy this stuff but thanks for you patience.
MBG is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 14:33   #29
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
RTFM? I'm sorry to upset you but I don't know as much about this stuff as you.
I didn't expect you to know it, that's why I suggested to read the instructions.

But you are right. I remembered that it said that there is no installation script, just copy fat95 to L and run the install_fat95 icon only if you want to change the laguage. Apparently it does not say it any more (or never said this).


Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
And I can't boot from the Gotek as it's external.
AmigaOS can boot from external floppy drives. If you don't have a harddrive it does so automatically. Otherwise hold down both mouse buttons after reset and choose DF1 from the early startup menu.
thomas is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 15:24   #30
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
AmigaOS can boot from external floppy drives. If you don't have a harddrive it does so automatically. Otherwise hold down both mouse buttons after reset and choose DF1 from the early startup menu.
Ah yes, I just figured that out as well. I tried it last week and it didn't show DF1 in the boot list but that must have been because the Gotek didn't have a bootable ADF selected.
Well, even if the problem is yet not solved, I am learning. .

Thanks for your help.
MBG is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 15:52   #31
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
If you are able to use ADF, then you can try my standalone boot disk. This will rule out any issue with your Workbench OS setup. The boot disk has the CFD/FAT95 drivers installed.

https://sites.google.com/one-n.co.uk...boot-cfd-fat95

I was able to boot to your disk from the Gotek after all.
When I stick the PCMCIA adapter into the computer I still get the CF0:Uninitialed icon.
During boot it showed a requester:"Please insert a volume containing LIBS/icon.library in any drive.
Also "Can't find DF0: libs_314" "assign failed returncode 20".
MBG is offline  
Old 26 January 2021, 15:52   #32
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
I am running WB 3.1.4.
MBG is offline  
Old 27 January 2021, 07:17   #33
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 493
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
After disabling my accelerator card with a jumper I can now see my CF card
Which accelerator card do you have?

Quote:
I am running WB 3.1.4.
Is it in ROM?
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 27 January 2021, 12:11   #34
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
Which accelerator card do you have?

Is it in ROM?

I have an MTec 1230 accelerator card. In the manual it says to use jumpers
to disable its memory or the whole card to use the PCMCIA slot.
In testing I've noticed that it doesn't seem to make a difference if disable them.
The PCMCIA card shows up (or not, it's a bit intermittent) with the MTec card on or off. Is this requirement not needed anymore in 3.1.4 maybe?


I'm running official 3.1.4 kickstart rom chips and WB3.1.4. 3.1.4.1 actually.
MBG is offline  
Old 29 January 2021, 23:56   #35
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
Tonight I did some further testing. I borrowed a small 32MB CF card from a friend.
When I plugged it into the PCMCIA adapter it was recognized immediately. So the Amiga was setup correctly after all.

My friend's card was formatted as FAT. I tried that on my own cards but
I have not been able to get them to work. So I guess I will have to buy a different card that is compatible.

Any recommendations?
MBG is offline  
Old 30 January 2021, 22:48   #36
Pixelfill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Preston
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBG View Post
Tonight I did some further testing. I borrowed a small 32MB CF card from a friend.
When I plugged it into the PCMCIA adapter it was recognized immediately. So the Amiga was setup correctly after all.

My friend's card was formatted as FAT. I tried that on my own cards but
I have not been able to get them to work. So I guess I will have to buy a different card that is compatible.

Any recommendations?
I Use a Sandisk Extreme III 1.0Gb in my CF adapter, that I repurposed from my old SLR camera. It works fine in my experience.
Pixelfill is offline  
Old 31 January 2021, 09:47   #37
MBG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: NL
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pixelfill View Post
I Use a Sandisk Extreme III 1.0Gb in my CF adapter, that I repurposed from my old SLR camera. It works fine in my experience.

That's good to know. Thanks.

I ended up ordering a Transcend CompactFlash 4GB 133x card. It was on
Solarmon's Rowshare table. Hopefully I get the right one as there are two
kinds. One that works and one that doesn't.
MBG is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pcmcia cf transfer kit boot disk > hd install > easyadf SilentBob77 request.Apps 0 19 April 2019 01:33
Emulated PCMCIA, problem using PrepCard to format as disk? Old_Bob support.WinUAE 10 21 June 2017 14:16
PCMCIA fault: DOS error code 225 - Not a valid DOS disk 4am support.Hardware 2 07 April 2012 11:20
A600: Boot from PCMCIA-Flash-Disk 1988 support.Hardware 1 13 February 2011 17:26
PCMCIA Squirrel + PCMCIA Network Card tootoid support.Hardware 1 18 April 2007 13:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12143 seconds with 16 queries