English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 January 2021, 10:52   #1
Ulysses13
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Surrey / UK
Posts: 50
Question Can't wrap my head around Workbench colour palettes

Hello.

I'm currently sprucing up my A1200 Workbench. I'm using 3.1.4 and thought I'd design some nice icons etc.

I upped my colours to 16, and used FullPalette to set my own colours. I also locked them all so they wouldn't rotate and shift as I used other things.

But, they still do. Even opening up a drawer containing a fancy icon from somewhere else is enough to change the colour palette and everything looks awful straightaway, the only fix being reloading my palette in FullPalette.

So, what's the point of locking the colours if they're not actually locked? I guess I really don't have a handle on this colour palette thing - am I doing something wrong?

Any help would be appreciated - I'm keen on making custom icons for my Workbench apps, but need to rely on a consistent colour palette.
Ulysses13 is offline  
Old 24 January 2021, 13:28   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,191
Use NewIcons or GlowIcons format to save your icons. (Also called palette mapped icons.) Then you don't need to care about palette settings, they always look right.

Regarding FullPalette, you probably don't run FPPrefs at startup or not at the right time.
thomas is online now  
Old 25 January 2021, 11:23   #3
Ulysses13
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Surrey / UK
Posts: 50
Thanks for the reply, I don't know much about NewIcons or GlowIcons. I'm using Iconian to draw my icons which has the option of saving as NewIcon, so I can try that.

FullPalette should work though, unless I'm misunderstanding what it does. The WB colours shouldn't shift if I've locked them, should they?

I checked my startup-sequence, and FullPalette is in there. I have no idea if this is correct, or in the right place, can you offer any advice?


Code:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 45.4 (28.5.2018)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems

If Exists C:LoadModule
   C:Version exec.library version 46 >NIL:
   If Warn
      C:LoadModule ROMUPDATE
   EndIf
EndIf
C:SetPatch QUIET
C:CPU CHECKINSTALL

C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
  IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
    DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
  EndIF

  C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s"
  Execute T:M
  C:Delete >NIL: T:M
EndIF

SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
Run > NIL: "Amiga R:VisualPrefs"
C:IPrefs
FPPrefs
SYS:Prefs/FPPrefs
C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
  Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:
Ulysses13 is offline  
Old 25 January 2021, 12:51   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulysses13 View Post
I checked my startup-sequence, and FullPalette is in there.
You run it twice. I guess the second run disables it.
thomas is online now  
Old 25 January 2021, 13:56   #5
Ulysses13
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Surrey / UK
Posts: 50
That was it!

Seems to be working properly now. Thanks!

I'm going to try and stick to making bog standard 16 colour Workbench icons rather than any other standard, so this will make it easier to perfect my palette and get testing!

Cheers!
Ulysses13 is offline  
Old 01 February 2021, 15:32   #6
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 1,145
I'd highly recommend using Rebel's 16 colour Workbench palette which has already had all the hard hours put into coming up with the most optimised and useful palette for Workbench apps, icons and wallpapers. Then anything you make will be compatible with everyone else who uses this amazing palette now. Here's how my Workbench looks with this 16 colour palette...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WB.png
Views:	64
Size:	78.8 KB
ID:	70708  
Cammy is offline  
Old 01 February 2021, 16:27   #7
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 49
Posts: 388
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Can't wrap my head around Workbench colour palettes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
I'd highly recommend using Rebel's 16 colour Workbench palette which has already had all the hard hours put into coming up with the most optimised and useful palette for Workbench apps, icons and wallpapers. Then anything you make will be compatible with everyone else who uses this amazing palette now. Here's how my Workbench looks with this 16 colour palette...

Hi Cammy where did you get these disk icons? They are fantastic and the CD32 is jaw dropping.... I love the « Work » too, with Lotus 2 on the screen... Aw
seb132 is offline  
Old 01 February 2021, 20:56   #8
Ulysses13
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Surrey / UK
Posts: 50
Sounds intriguing, where can I get that particular palette from?

I'd agonised quite a bit over mine, but happy to check out an alternative...
Ulysses13 is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 02:54   #9
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 1,145
mfilos made a really good guide on using FullPalette and Birdie and VisualPrefs using Rebel's palette here: http://www.mfilos.com/2012/01/guide-...ier-using.html

I have attached a zip of Rebel's 16 colour palette for VisualPrefs, I hope you can get it working.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Rebel16.zip (808 Bytes, 16 views)
Cammy is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 02:55   #10
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
Hi Cammy where did you get these disk icons? They are fantastic and the CD32 is jaw dropping.... I love the « Work » too, with Lotus 2 on the screen... Aw
I'm sorry those icons are just ones Rebel made, he hasn't made enough to distribute them as a pack yet but I can try and gather all the ones I have and upload an archive of them if I get some time.
Cammy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench Colour Palettes Ulysses13 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 25 January 2021 11:46
head to head fighting game like Golden Axe jotd support.Games 15 22 April 2020 21:25
3.1 ROM on A600 - 4 Colour workbench Toryglen-boy support.Apps 4 23 February 2017 01:52
A minimalistic 4-colour Workbench setup for unexpanded systems. Cammy project.ClassicWB 34 01 June 2010 23:57
Changing the colour of the Workbench background NovaCoder support.Apps 15 09 February 2009 00:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08862 seconds with 16 queries