English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 March 2011, 02:14   #1
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,069
Best browser for my ACA

Hi:
Which is the best AWeb version I can run with an ACA1230/56?
And where can I find it?
I've tried with the AWeb Max in the file server, and coudn't make it run. As soon as it gets connected it doesn't work anymore.
In OS3.9 I've got Aweb II that is running without problems, but it has lot of limitations.

Last edited by Retrofan; 06 March 2011 at 20:07.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 06 March 2011, 02:30   #2
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 41
Posts: 1,577
- ClassicWB's AWeb 3.4 APL works just fine.
- BB3's AWeb 3.5 (which is nicer) works but any site you start to load gives a nice Error (Suspend/Reboot) window. After a bit of search and tries, it seems that it needs FPU. (It even crached on WinUAE but after enabling FPU it worked just fine).

Unless there's a trick you can make to run AWeb 3.5 without FPU, I think 3.4 is your best shot.
mfilos is offline  
Old 06 March 2011, 03:16   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,069
But the version in CWB is limited, isn't it? It seems they made AWeb public, so there must be a complete version, but where?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 06 March 2011, 15:23   #4
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Aminet would be a good place to start.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 06 March 2011, 17:48   #5
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,556
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
is the FPU for the jpeg datatypes ?? just a guess
I could be wrong and I am often are
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 06 March 2011, 17:59   #6
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Aminet would be a good place to start.
Thanks. I've tried AWeb APL Lite 3.5.09 68000 version and AWeb APL Lite 3.5.09 68020 version. I get an error of "C:Birdie program failed (error #800000004) in both of them. I think it was the same error with the version of the File server.
I'm going to try to disable the Birdie options I've got in the s-s and will see...

EDIT: Yes, it was that, but I only get running the 68000 version of 3.5.09 Perhaps there's a way of exclude Aweb from the command line of Birdie (I tried EXCLUDE=Aweb, but nothing).

Last edited by Retrofan; 07 March 2011 at 23:26.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 06 March 2011, 19:07   #7
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Maybe try and setup Aweb to open on its own screen. Birdie should effect it then unless setup to effect public screens as well.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 06 March 2011, 20:05   #8
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Maybe try and setup Aweb to open on its own screen. Birdie should effect it then unless setup to effect public screens as well.
Really it's openning with it's own screen. I don't know how to set up Birdie to leave quiet public screens.

I'm thinking I'm getting a little bored of AWeb. If I could only change two things in Ibrowse that I like of AWeb...
-The size of the text in the pages (not the buttons, windows and so that I've already done with Mui prefferences)
-The white background in Google that I don't have in Ibrowse. Really AWeb looks much better searching Google than IBrowse!

EDIT: Yes, I've changed the title of the thread, so we can talk of both... Ah, and I'm posting from the Amiga using Ibrowse for 68020.

EDIT AGAIN: And another thing: How did they make EAB File Server that with Ibrowse I have to wait for every window that opens to close the message of "Lengthy Javascript running" ? With AWeb was even worse. I coudn' open it (with the 68000 version; with the one of OS39 it opens, but you only see the "Search" option, not the files there.

Last edited by Retrofan; 07 March 2011 at 23:23.
Retrofan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AWeb on a 4 MB machine? Leandro Jardim support.Apps 13 13 July 2012 22:36
What happened to AWEB and the AWEB website... Xenon Amiga scene 7 01 December 2010 16:58
AWeb 3.1 - 3.2 patch anyone? amidave support.Apps 0 08 September 2010 18:18
AWeb ARexx amiga support.Apps 0 19 November 2008 11:19
os 3.9 and AWeb aldo support.WinUAE 13 16 June 2006 21:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07241 seconds with 13 queries