English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 July 2010, 07:06   #1
pmack
 
Posts: n/a
WHDLoad and NTSC

I have a PAL A1200 and I can boot in NTSC just fine using the boot switch screen. However, some games (like Arkanoid and Naughty Boys) still cut off on my screen even if I use the NTSC switch in WHDLoad.

Is there anything I can do about this (besides getting a monitor instead of using my NTSC TV)?

Thanks
 
Old 29 July 2010, 09:42   #2
Anakirob
Unregistered User
Anakirob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tasmania
Age: 38
Posts: 858
Some games, like Arkanoid and Naughty Ones, use more vertical lines than will fit in an NTSC display. So "no", there is nothing you can do about it in software.

Last edited by Anakirob; 29 July 2010 at 10:22.
Anakirob is offline  
Old 29 July 2010, 10:15   #3
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
IIRC there is an NTSC version of Arkanoid.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 29 July 2010, 10:21   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
There is : http://www.whdownload.com/games/Pack..._NTSC_1136.zip
TCD is offline  
Old 29 July 2010, 16:51   #5
pmack
 
Posts: n/a
Ok, thanks for the responses. On a related note, how good/back are these PAL to NTSC converters (like the Shinybow CDM-660 PAL to NTSC)? Is it worth it?
 
Old 29 July 2010, 17:30   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,451
They won't be able to magically invent more lines on your TV if that is what you are thinking. They will have to either crop the image or scale it (which is probably horrible).

Last edited by alexh; 29 July 2010 at 17:42.
alexh is offline  
Old 29 July 2010, 19:29   #7
pmack
 
Posts: n/a
I understand it won't be perfect, i was just trying to compare my options here. Another one would be to buy a multi-system TV, right? Has anyone here heard about this one? http://www.amazon.com/Sharp-LC-22L50.../ref=de_a_smtd
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speed issues with PAL games on NTSC system (whdload) sovietconscript support.Games 0 18 February 2013 06:28
WHDLoad - NTSC and screen offset Anubis project.WHDLoad 4 27 January 2010 22:20
NTSC A500 Pal/NTSC mod pics kipper2k Hardware pics 2 29 March 2009 08:56
Double PAL / Double NTSC, oficially supported by WHDLoad... Shoonay project.WHDLoad 1 17 December 2005 18:05
Fixing WHDLoad installs to run in NTSC Rebel-CD32 project.WHDLoad 6 26 March 2005 18:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07760 seconds with 13 queries