English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 July 2018, 13:01   #1
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
Well hell... my PC died

My i5 system took a dump last night. I had it since 2012 so I guess it had a good run. I smelled something burnt inside it so it's either the board or the CPU.

I'm hoping it's the board so I can use the CPU again. I have an i3 system in storage so I pulled it out and put my 2x4 Ares memory and my Seasonic PSU.

And my OS drive. Here I am.

WHEW!

I'm gonna have to save up for a new build but I'm saving up for new tires on my car. Such is life.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 14:00   #2
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,197
Check the PSU as well, the last time my computer stopped working with a burnt smell coming out of it, it was the PSU that had broken down completely. Cheaper to replace as well.

PSUs should reasonably have removable fuses to prevent any disasters, and to get them back working quickly, but there's more money in making PSUs that can't be serviced easily...
Leffmann is offline  
Old 28 July 2018, 14:27   #3
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
My PSU is a Seasonic and well protected. Also it did not smell burnt. I thought it was the PSU at first and I put the i3 PSU in the i5 box. It did nothing so I put the Seasonic in the i3 box along with the drive and memory.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 01:13   #4
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
My PSU is a Seasonic and well protected. Also it did not smell burnt. I thought it was the PSU at first and I put the i3 PSU in the i5 box. It did nothing so I put the Seasonic in the i3 box along with the drive and memory.
It does sounds like the MOBO maybe the VRM's or the support circuitry around them.

This usually is on one or two sides of the CPU socket so check around there with your nose if you don't see anything that looks burnt or scorched.

I take it this is a Socket 1151 or 1155 mobo ?

If so then you can probably find new boards for a decent price and/or used ones if you want to go cheaper, just not sure on the used ones how long they will last, but you never know.

What is the make/model of the i5 mobo ?
jmmijo is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 02:15   #5
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
It's a Gigabyte B75-HD3 (or H3D) socket 1155. I checked/smelled for burn spots but found none. CPU out of socket too. Smelled the cards, none. Weird, not even a hint.

PSU didn't smell either. Not worrying about keeping the 1155 but rather go for later stuff less cutting edge, maybe a gen 5/6.

My i3 should keep me happy for a while now that I have the memory, video card, HDD and PSU put in. The i3 system runs really good. It's an 1155 too and the i3 is gen 2. The i5 is gen 3.

I thought about putting the i5 in too but uneasy about it. I don't know it's the board or the CPU that took a dump.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 02:53   #6
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
It's a Gigabyte B75-HD3 (or H3D) socket 1155. I checked/smelled for burn spots but found none. CPU out of socket too. Smelled the cards, none. Weird, not even a hint.

PSU didn't smell either. Not worrying about keeping the 1155 but rather go for later stuff less cutting edge, maybe a gen 5/6.

My i3 should keep me happy for a while now that I have the memory, video card, HDD and PSU put in. The i3 system runs really good. It's an 1155 too and the i3 is gen 2. The i5 is gen 3.

I thought about putting the i5 in too but uneasy about it. I don't know it's the board or the CPU that took a dump.
Yeah you kind of have to have some spare known good parts for testing and not worry about if you fry something else.

Good luck in your search for replacement parts
jmmijo is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 04:01   #7
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
The i3 was a complete system on its own. The stuff from the i5 was an upgrade for it. More memory, bigger drive and better graphics. Also a better PSU.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 11:03   #8
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
The i3 was a complete system on its own. The stuff from the i5 was an upgrade for it. More memory, bigger drive and better graphics. Also a better PSU.
That is nice to hear
jmmijo is offline  
Old 29 July 2018, 15:31   #9
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
Thanks. I'm just glad I have a working system.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 02:37   #10
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
I have an idea for a build for $239. A Ryzen 3 2200G CPU, an Asrock A320M-DGS Motherboard and Ballistic Sport 8 gig DDR4 Memory.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 20:14   #11
Solderbro
Registered User

Solderbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hamburg
Age: 50
Posts: 56
AMD is a bit more hot, but as JayZ calculated the saved energy cost for an equal intel is reached after 17 years of use

I avoid to stress my PC, 35° outside and 28° in my rooms. The machine goes up to 60-70°C thermal output within this extreme summer conditions. The FX8350 / RX580 combo works well for most games and as linux workstation, have a 650 Watts PSU inside and a rocksolid Gigabyte board.

Solderbro
Solderbro is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 21:09   #12
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
I have the cooler kit for fitting AMD or Intel CPUs but I don't know about fitting the AM4 boards. Maybe not.

BullyDog is offline  
Old 31 July 2018, 22:10   #13
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by BullyDog View Post
I have an idea for a build for $239. A Ryzen 3 2200G CPU, an Asrock A320M-DGS Motherboard and Ballistic Sport 8 gig DDR4 Memory.

That's my kind of PC. AMD's APUs are great value with decent CPU and GPU for what you pay.

I'm currently using an A10 with 8 GB DDR3, but it's only four years old so I'm giving it at least one more year before I replace it. Hopefully AMD will have something even better in the same price segment as the 2200G by then.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 01 August 2018, 02:22   #14
haps
Rumpig

haps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The bottom of the bottle
Age: 2
Posts: 183
For cooling I can highly recommend something like the Corsair Hydro Series. Since fitting one to my machine I haven't seen the CPU temp go above 30°C when playing some pretty hefty games. Will be interesting to see the difference in a couple of weeks when summer hits and we start getting 35°C+ days.

It's also as quiet as a mouse, you wouldn't even know the computer was on except for the light on the gfx card.
haps is online now  
Old 01 August 2018, 04:39   #15
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
Well, this is it. Tomorrow I will order:

Ryzen 3 2200G - $90
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-DS3H - $65
Ballistix Sport LT 8GB Single DDR4 2666 - $80

Total $235

and ordered! Will get em on Aug 3.

ETA: Make that tomorrow!

Last edited by BullyDog; 02 August 2018 at 02:52.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 01:13   #16
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
Well it came in today.

Emptied my box of the i5 system:



Assembled the motherboard/CPU/memory and installed it:



Decided to go ahead and put in my HD7770 video card and skipped trying the on chip graphics because of what goes on top:





And here I am!
BullyDog is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 04:21   #17
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
Well hell, I can't reactivate my win 10 without buying a license. That's $120!

There! Fixed! hehehe...

Last edited by BullyDog; 03 August 2018 at 06:46.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 10:39   #18
Leffmann
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,197
Do you wake the whole house when you turn it on? I can count 7 fans in there
Leffmann is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 15:35   #19
BullyDog
Registered User

BullyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Texas USA
Age: 68
Posts: 102
LOL no it's pretty quiet.
BullyDog is offline  
Old 03 August 2018, 23:14   #20
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 37
Posts: 3,092
It's fixed? Darn! It was a good hardware pr0n thread.
gimbal is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hell Hell Hell why i continue have core dump on qemu-uae! tlosm support.FS-UAE 4 25 February 2016 23:41
My A4000D died voyager support.Hardware 3 11 March 2012 09:45
HELP think my motherboard died :( ami_junkie support.Hardware 6 06 January 2009 04:57
A2000HD died icewizard2k5 support.Hardware 12 25 February 2005 05:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09205 seconds with 13 queries