English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Demo DVD

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 May 2009, 20:40   #1
DJ_OXyGeNe_9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkie
Posts: 31
Best capture method

I'm new here And also I'm working on audio/video. If you visit my channel on youtube you can watch my videos.

http://www.youtube.com/user/psygno83

I'm using Sony Vegas / Sony Soundforge. And after effects (not much) etc. Means I'm good on encoding I'm trying to find best capture method for amiga. I'm using fraps for now. But some problems with Fraps and WinUAE. Winuae plays 50 fps, and must capture as 50fps. But if you convert to 25/29/23fps looks some blurry. I can't capture 25fps, because winuae crashes. So I'm working to find best method for capturing from WinUAE. If I find best, I'll write here. If you know someting, want to learn

thanks.

Frexample, first one from uncompressed avi file (fraps file) Second from encoded DV file;


DJ_OXyGeNe_9 is offline  
Old 04 May 2009, 20:47   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Have a look here : http://recordedamigagames.ath.cx/mod...p?categoryid=2
TCD is offline  
Old 04 May 2009, 20:52   #3
DJ_OXyGeNe_9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkie
Posts: 31
Thanks, I'm checking
DJ_OXyGeNe_9 is offline  
Old 08 May 2009, 23:47   #4
DJ_OXyGeNe_9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkie
Posts: 31
I was trying to make video for commodore 64 mix; want to look like 64 graphics. But I couldn't find anything about video /16 colors. So I tried something and made this;

this one was first;



and tested more;



Do you think it's ok; looks like commodore 64 ?

and another guy tried something (but not video)




http://www.librador.com/index.php?/a...s.html%3Cbr%3E
DJ_OXyGeNe_9 is offline  
Old 08 May 2009, 23:51   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
The second one looks quite like C64 Would be cppö to see a video in that style
TCD is offline  
Old 08 May 2009, 23:57   #6
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Also this: (most important)
http://recordedamigagames.ath.cx/mod..._id=94&forum=1

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_OXyGeNe_9 View Post
http://www.youtube.com/user/psygno83

I'm using Sony Vegas / Sony Soundforge. And after effects (not much) etc. Means I'm good on encoding...

But if you convert to 25/29/23fps looks some blurry...
Not really, those programs won't do..... they are (imo) crap. All you need to know to get pixel sharp, perfect quality video is in my above link. If you have any questions, join our irc channel.... you can find the address on longplays.net or recordedamigagames.org.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_OXyGeNe_9 View Post
But if you convert to 25/29/23fps looks some blurry...
The frame rate has nothing to do with the picture quality, you are either using the wrong codec or settings. And you should never encode/convert a 50 fps movie to 23 or 29..... only half, or it will get a jerky framerate.... 50fps>25fps=ok..... 60fps>30=ok.... 50fps>(anything but 25)= fail

Last edited by Ironclaw; 09 May 2009 at 00:10.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 09 May 2009, 00:03   #7
DJ_OXyGeNe_9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkie
Posts: 31
Thanks
DJ_OXyGeNe_9 is offline  
Old 09 May 2009, 00:28   #8
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Have you tried ConGo 5.0? Is a great tool to convert images to C64 style.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 09 May 2009, 00:33   #9
DJ_OXyGeNe_9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkie
Posts: 31
No I didn't, but I'll But especially, trying to make real videos look like commodore64.
DJ_OXyGeNe_9 is offline  
Old 09 May 2009, 02:48   #10
DJ_OXyGeNe_9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkie
Posts: 31
Here is the video;

[ Show youtube player ]
DJ_OXyGeNe_9 is offline  
Old 09 May 2009, 03:59   #11
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_OXyGeNe_9 View Post
Here is the video;

[ Show youtube player ]
Criticism: (all I'm good for, sorry)

1. You didn't use "?" or "!" in the intro when you typed, so all the text typing was rather lame, + you type slow. (doesn't C64 have those symbols?)

2. The video didn't have big enough pixels, you should have made them bigger, and I know YT blurrs videos, so this video should have been upped as HD to preserve the crispy pixels and to remove most, if not all blurr.

3. The overall colors and effect of the video (not intro with text) wasn't very C64-like.

4. .... I'm hungry.. gonna eat.. bye
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 09 May 2009, 08:56   #12
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_OXyGeNe_9 View Post
Here is the video;

[ Show youtube player ]
Not bad (well the style of the video, won't comment on the song ). I agree with IC about the pixel size (resolution). If there is way to do it, set it to 160x200
TCD is offline  
Old 09 May 2009, 12:47   #13
DJ_OXyGeNe_9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkie
Posts: 31
My real target was mix acepalla and SID version. Video is bonus for youtube. I couldn't find anything for best viewing. These 3 things different, playback speeds are not the same. Just a video test But yes, I'll listen your advices

If you want to watch a real commodore 64 video, watch this; a Turksih rock band. This is really pro video.

[ Show youtube player ]
DJ_OXyGeNe_9 is offline  
Old 09 May 2009, 14:29   #14
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,589
Why use fraps with an emulator that has built in video recording of the output?
Photon is offline  
Old 10 May 2009, 22:40   #15
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
Got bored so thought of these C64 video thingies... so, I ripped the "Slap Chop Music Video" from YT, opened it into VirtualDub, resized it to a low resolution (didn't bother with the C64's native one, and don't remember which res I chose), then resized it back up, so now it was all pixelated.... YT don't have any method of reducing colors (that I know of), so I installed my only real video editing program, an old version of Adobe Premiere, havn't used it in years (cuz VD is all I need when working with game videos (longplays)), but still remembered the Posterize effect... SO, I imported the VirtualDub video, slapped on the effect, set the Posterize level to 4 and saved the vid. All 5 mins work. Guess lower frame rate could be more C64-like..... but used the original 25fps the vid had.

I only made this post for DJ_OXyGeNe_9 so he has an additional way of doing some sort of (not close maybe, but better than what he showed us I think) c64 video.

Here's what it looked like in Adobe Premiere:



Not really into C64 stuff so don't really know how a legit video clip in C64 could look like, except looking at the images posted in the first post in this thread.. like:

And this effect (without modifications) is nothing near that :P. To me those pictures look more like old PC VGA stuff... and not c64-ish.... so, maybe my vid IS better looking than those pics..... well, you C64 lovers decide.

Anyway, made 4 test pictures, the left one is in Posterize level 4, which I made the video in, then the rest is 5, 6, 9 as an example... maybe level 6 is more suited as a C64 video?



Anyway, here's the vid I upped to YT: [ Show youtube player ]
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 10 May 2009, 23:00   #16
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 40
Posts: 3,313
Oh, Ok, no need for Adobe Premiere or any other program. VD can do the posterize too, you just need to download the filter.

Edit: Here's the source video file incase u wanna see the nice, big, crispy pixels more clearly :P http://.com/files/23147018...Video.mp4.html
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 00:28   #17
DJ_OXyGeNe_9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Turkie
Posts: 31
I love it Let me test your way. Thanks.
DJ_OXyGeNe_9 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-UAE Emulation best method. Paradroid90 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 28 December 2011 20:55
Control Method? seuden HOL suggestions and feedback 1 13 October 2010 15:32
New imaging method? Pheonix request.Apps 2 27 August 2009 06:41
Best method of running UAE on an Xbox? h0ffman Retrogaming General Discussion 7 06 January 2009 01:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08484 seconds with 13 queries