English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 October 2008, 00:14   #1
xerces8
 
Posts: n/a
Temporarily speed up emulation ?

Hi!

Is there a way to temporarily speed up emulation ?

It would come handy during loading of games, which can be pretty slow.

Currently WinUAE uses about 40% of the CPU on my system, so there is enough reserve to allow a speedup.

Regards,
David
 
Old 05 October 2008, 00:18   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Warp mode is activated by pressing 'End' and 'Pause' at the same time. You need to press it again to deactivate it. You will see that CPU usage goes to 100% during warp. This makes makes the loading times a lot shorter
TCD is offline  
Old 05 October 2008, 00:18   #3
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,047
You can speed up floppy disk loading by going to the Floppy Drives section and changing the floppy drive emulation speed

EDIT: Or... what TCD said
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 05 October 2008, 00:21   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Setting the floppy speed to 800% is also a very good idea Some games don't like it, but the majority work this way.
TCD is offline  
Old 05 October 2008, 00:28   #5
BippyM
Registered User

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 8,699
Use warp mode, avoid floppy speed up as it doesn't actually do much during warp mode anyway, and warp mode is more likely to keep it all sync'd... only much faster

Turbo mode breaks the sync'ing!
BippyM is offline  
Old 05 October 2008, 12:59   #6
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
No one to mention the JIT speedup feature ? This optimizer can speedup games loading tremendously, but of course at the cost of some compatibility.

Also, I usually set the priority of WinUAE process higher than normal, it won't speed up the emulation but prevents other Windows processes to interfere.

A subsidiary question : Can you tell us if you are you from the ADF or the WHDload camp ?
NewDeli is offline  
Old 05 October 2008, 13:15   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
No one to mention the JIT speedup feature ? This optimizer can speedup games loading tremendously, but of course at the cost of some compatibility.
Ever tried to enable JIT with a A500 config? Bet you didn't
TCD is offline  
Old 05 October 2008, 19:19   #8
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
A bit of trivia here : When I discovered the effect of the JIT emulation, I really wanted to establish a list of games that could run with it. Some Amiga game 'experts' discouraged me to make an extensive use of this feature.

Now, I have JIT and warp mode deactivated automatically with my main WinUAE config, and activated again when I have finished playing the game. A simple rule would be : Use JIT with AGA games, but it's not that simple, as old games may benefit from it, and a few AGA games might not like it.

Also, tweaking JIT itself can make it less harsh to games. (by disabling hard flush, most notably).

Finally, JIT may have other unwanted side effects, so when using AmigaOS for development, I shan't recommend turning it on.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 06 October 2008, 11:13   #9
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
Finally, JIT may have other unwanted side effects, so when using AmigaOS for development, I shan't recommend turning it on.


I've been developing countless intros/demos and other stuff with enabled JIT mode (would not have been fun without JIT anyway) and I never experienced major problems. So can you please elaborate on why you can't recommend turning on JIT when using UAE for development? I'm really interested... *sigh*

Last edited by StingRay; 06 October 2008 at 11:43. Reason: typo (never post when you didn't have your first coffee yet :D)
StingRay is offline  
Old 06 October 2008, 14:29   #10
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 45
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Well, I was not too sure about JIT causing trouble or not under AmigaOS, since it messes up quite a few games. Thanks for making it clear there's no problem activating it when coding.

I don't code myself, I am simply "manipulating software" under the OS, once in a while, but it seems to me I have to reset the emulator a bit more often when JIT is enabled. Can't really confirm it or input it to JIT exclusively.

Is there a place where we can see your demos in action ?

Last edited by NewDeli; 06 October 2008 at 14:45.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 06 October 2008, 15:10   #11
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
Is there a place where we can see your demos in action ?
I've been involved in most of the Scarab releases and made some stuff for Scoopex, DCS, Darkage, Resistance and a lot of other groups too. Most recent demo I've coded is Twenty which was released at this years Breakpoint.
StingRay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emulation speed universale support.WinUAE 5 08 January 2013 17:51
Small Bug; Emulation Temporarily Freezes On Restart Titler support.WinUAE 8 26 November 2009 16:57
Emulation Speed Limit? Thom87 request.UAE Wishlist 6 25 November 2007 22:07
Floppy Drive Emulation Speed... DamienD support.WinUAE 7 12 September 2005 18:32
Shortcuts for CPU-Emulation Speed Retro-Nerd request.UAE Wishlist 4 03 September 2005 23:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07319 seconds with 13 queries