English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 November 2016, 22:20   #61
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikems View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat666 View Post
You should of really named it Farthum Scrotum
Hi friend , think that we spend lot of time and work in this game, I wan´t lost more time with the stupid think of the derived name. We wait for good or bad reactions about the game. The name are in Latin language, please don't loose our time and work with it.
Some quick googling reveals that furtum means theft and sacrum means sacred, ergo furtum sacrum translates as Sacred Theft

This isn't the first game to be given a latin title - Canem Canem Edit was the UK title for Bully, by Rockstar games, on games consoles and PC. Canem Canem Edit translates as Dog Eat Dog.
Lonewolf10 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 February 2017, 02:32   #62
Estrayk
Registered User

Estrayk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 102
Maybe the limitation of 512k chip-memory can cause that in the end, the game is left without ingame-music. So here you 've the last version (unfinished yet) that I did.

[ Show youtube player ]
Estrayk is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 08:38   #63
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,684
Why the hell 512k limit???
Predseda is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 13:20   #64
kikems
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Oviedo
Posts: 174
we want it work on any Amiga, from Amiga 500 to Amiga 4000. Graphics , sound and music , that you can listen or view can be only allocate in Chip memory, because custom chips only access to data on Chip memory. Fast memory are only for CPU.

While you play a game, GFx, snd and mucsic are allocate in Chip mem, all other information and data allocated in fast ram.

This limit to 512Kb to ensure compatibility with all Amiga. Most Amiga 1000, A500 and A2000 only have 512Kb Chip memory.

Last edited by kikems; 01 February 2017 at 13:26.
kikems is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 13:36   #65
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 759
Maybe you could enable in-game music only for 1mb systems?
vulture is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 13:52   #66
kikems
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Oviedo
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
Maybe you could enable in-game music only for 1mb systems?
Yes for any Amiga with 1 Mb ram , usually 512Kb chip and 512 kb fast. Final version will be works with any Amiga with 1 Mb ram.
Actual promotional DEMO works with Amigas with 1 Mb chip ram.
kikems is offline  
Old 01 February 2017, 13:56   #67
kikems
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Oviedo
Posts: 174
We delayed development of this game because we need do first other things that you can see in a short time, after that we continue developing of Furtum Sacrum.

Here you can see our contribution for AmiGameJam 2016 , Brus Lii Amiga Game. A video with english commentaries about development, enjoy.

[ Show youtube player ]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Menu.png
Views:	74
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	51884  
kikems is offline  
Old 02 February 2017, 23:25   #68
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikems View Post
We delayed development of this game because we need do first other things that you can see in a short time, after that we continue developing of Furtum Sacrum.
Erm... ok


Quote:
Originally Posted by kikems View Post
Here you can see our contribution for AmiGameJam 2016 , Brus Lii Amiga Game. A video with english commentaries about development, enjoy.

[ Show youtube player ]
Why is the copyright symbol used twice on the title screen?
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 03:12   #69
kikems
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Oviedo
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf10 View Post
Erm... ok




Why is the copyright symbol used twice on the title screen?


???? this is your best question after show you the game?
kikems is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 21:13   #70
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 924
Any news on this guys?
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 22:02   #71
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikems View Post
we want it work on any Amiga, from Amiga 500 to Amiga 4000. Graphics , sound and music , that you can listen or view can be only allocate in Chip memory, because custom chips only access to data on Chip memory. Fast memory are only for CPU.

While you play a game, GFx, snd and mucsic are allocate in Chip mem, all other information and data allocated in fast ram.

This limit to 512Kb to ensure compatibility with all Amiga. Most Amiga 1000, A500 and A2000 only have 512Kb Chip memory.
Sorry, not true. Majority of A500's are 1meg, software companies wouldnt have made their games 1meg only otherwise.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 01 July 2017, 00:08   #72
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Sorry, not true. Majority of A500's are 1meg, software companies wouldnt have made their games 1meg only otherwise.
Growing up, I knew a great many people with A500s (I had an A1000) and only one had the 1MB expansion - it was just not common at all, until the A1200 came out and suddenly everyone was adding 500MB Hard disks and accelerator cards...

I did once see an A2000 stuffed to the gills with expansions, though, but that was because I worked at an Amiga hardware/software company.
Dunny is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 13:13   #73
kikems
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Oviedo
Posts: 174
We are working on it, lot of work to do and low time to spend .

We usually try to adapt games to work with any Amiga with 512 Kb chip + 512 Kb fast.
The promotional demo of Furtum Sacrum need 1 Mb chip because size of music, but our lastest internal version of Furtum Sacrum works with 512 Kb chip + 512 Kb fast. I hope that final release works in any Amiga 512 Kb chip ram + 512 Kb fast.
If we don't use in game music, game will be work with only 512 Kb chip, but actually any Amiga have at least 512+512 .
kikems is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 14:02   #74
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Growing up, I knew a great many people with A500s (I had an A1000) and only one had the 1MB expansion - it was just not common at all, until the A1200 came out and suddenly everyone was adding 500MB Hard disks and accelerator cards...

I did once see an A2000 stuffed to the gills with expansions, though, but that was because I worked at an Amiga hardware/software company.
Sorry, just not true, 1991 is when it all changed.

Quite a few games had 1meg options, before 1991. By 1991, Team 17 arrived announcing 1 meg only minimum spec, and very quickly once other publishers saw the success Team 17 were getting, others followed suite later that year, not only was the A500 Plus released that year with 1meg standard, many ECS Amigas before that came with a 512k expansion as standard from resellers other than the high street shops.

Several cracks also came out before 1991 that were 1meg only as well that would have helped the push for 1meg.

Prince of Persia, The Immortal, Crackdown, Ghosts n Goblins, It Came From the Desert, were all released as 1meg only versions as well as lots of other games.

1meg quickly became the standard, 512k owners became the minority.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 14:22   #75
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikems View Post
We usually try to adapt games to work with any Amiga with 512 Kb chip + 512 Kb fast.
The promotional demo of Furtum Sacrum need 1 Mb chip because size of music, but our lastest internal version of Furtum Sacrum works with 512 Kb chip + 512 Kb fast. I hope that final release works in any Amiga 512 Kb chip ram + 512 Kb fast.
As a last resort, you could just deactivate music for machines with too little chip RAM.
idrougge is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 17:12   #76
kikems
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Oviedo
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
As a last resort, you could just deactivate music for machines with too little chip RAM.
Yes i'm suppose that can be possible release one versión with in-game music for Amigas with 1 Mb ram and another one without music for Amigas 1000 and Amigas 500 with only 512 Kb. I take note about this for the final release.

We say our demo versión need 1 Mb, but the real consume of ram are 620 Kb.

With Retrowars ( we have the final release for english at 80% )we make some concept test adapting graphics and visible area to NTSC format and works on Amigas with 512 Kb. The reduction of game area from PAL 320x256 pixels at 32 colors to NTSC 320 x 200 at 32 colors, reduce a lot the use of chip ram. Some classical games like Monkey Island have a small game area because the game are ready for NTSC format and you view vertical stretched graphics in PAL machines. The monkey island characters in NTSC not are short and fat like PAL characters

Last edited by kikems; 03 July 2017 at 17:20.
kikems is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 17:15   #77
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
1meg quickly became the standard, 512k owners became the minority.
Yeah, even before I had an Amiga, I knew that having 1MB was absolutely necessary. Most if not all games post 1992 were 1MB only.
Akira is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 17:23   #78
kikems
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Oviedo
Posts: 174
Our base system for development are AMOS an it's make difficult make projects with 512 Kb only. The amos library and the method of how to amos use bobs make an easy development but consume lot of chip ram. I'm sure that if we use ASM we can do the same with less ram, but not time to spend and knowledge for an ASM development
kikems is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 17:30   #79
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikems View Post
Our base system for development are AMOS an it's make difficult make projects with 512 Kb only.
Stop worrying about that, 1MB is standard and a spec everyone has nowadays.
There's much worse requirements on shitty Backbone games and people still play those :P
Akira is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 17:34   #80
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikems View Post
Our base system for development are AMOS an it's make difficult make projects with 512 Kb only. The amos library and the method of how to amos use bobs make an easy development but consume lot of chip ram. I'm sure that if we use ASM we can do the same with less ram, but not time to spend and knowledge for an ASM development
1 meg should be your minimum specification, whilst its admirable catering for 512k users, using AMOS, youre going to,be seriously short on memory.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Amiga Game in Development phase Amiten project.Amiga Game Factory 18 28 December 2015 18:55
RetroKomp/LoadError Game Development Competition meckert Amiga scene 8 02 July 2015 10:03
Wuzzi - Game in Development foody project.Amiga Game Factory 53 23 June 2006 10:50
The Last Seal (game development) Frog Coders. General 0 02 January 2005 16:44
game development? poppe Amiga scene 0 02 April 2002 17:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09087 seconds with 14 queries