English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2008, 12:26   #1
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Accelerator for A1200 KS3.1

Just some advice pls guys,

I'm looking for an accelerator card for my A1200 with KS3.1,
Seen a GVP A1230 card, but remember reading somewhere that conflicts with KS3.1 were common.

Ideally would like the Card to live in the Trapdoor, I like the retro look of the A1200 in it's original case, Towering makes it too MS/PC boring for me.

What about PSU considerations, I have a 65W A500 type available if need be but again, what to keep the package looking as original as possible.
Would that mean an 040 card is out of the question due to Trapdoor / PSU limits.

So what do you guys recomend ??

Failing that does anyone have a 4MB / 8MB with FPU expansion card they want to get rid of.

Cheers all
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 14:01   #2
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 470
AFAIK the 040 cards generally run too hot to be put in trapdoor without extra cooling - which makes keeping the trapdoor on impossible. Later 060 cards run much cooler, and can be run at 50mhz with the trapdoor closed. They are rather more expensive though, unfortunately.

Jon
musojon74 is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 16:23   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by musojon74 View Post
AFAIK the 040 cards generally run too hot to be put in trapdoor without extra cooling - which makes keeping the trapdoor on impossible. Later 060 cards run much cooler, and can be run at 50mhz with the trapdoor closed. They are rather more expensive though, unfortunately.

Jon
Thats not true. The trapdoor goes on fine with an Apollo card with fan attached to cpu.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 16:24   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,826
The point wasn't whether the cover fits on, but does it overheat with the cover on or not.
Jope is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 18:09   #5
laser
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 45
Posts: 648
I had an apollo 1240/40mhz
it doesn't fit well...you need to remove the backdoor
the card runs very hot....on summer hot days the turboboard freezes and I never solved that problem
also you can't insert a biggest fan there cause there's no place between the heatksink and the keyboard

however I think that a new refrigerate system can be developed for that 040 turboboards
laser is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 18:40   #6
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 799
I don't like GVP because they need specific rare and expensive GVP SIMM RAM memory.
If you like 68030 in my opinion, and surely I'm not alone, the best is the Blizzard 1230/IV (probably the faster 68030, pure 50 MHz (not overclocked) + mmu, memory up to 128 or 256MB, optional SCSI support, PCMCIA friendly, disable option by hitting the "2" key...).
About 68040 or 68060 I would go for the expensive 68060: faster and without fan noise.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 21:38   #7
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,737
We have a few 030 accelerators in stock currently- these are OK for a desktop A1200 case.

We can of course demonstrate each card at our Cardiff office.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 26 February 2008, 22:10   #8
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
We have a few 030 accelerators in stock currently- these are OK for a desktop A1200 case.

We can of course demonstrate each card at our Cardiff office.
Where is your Cardiff Office, I may be tempted to visit,
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 27 February 2008, 01:40   #9
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The point wasn't whether the cover fits on, but does it overheat with the cover on or not.
Well I can't speak for the 040/40, but the 25 and 33 are fine and thats with the fan running at 5v. I'm sure a 40mhz running with fan on 12v would be fine as well.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 27 February 2008, 15:43   #10
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Why are amigakit.com too shy to reply???
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 27 February 2008, 16:16   #11
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,737
???

Our address is published on our webstore along with all our other contact details
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 27 February 2008, 16:54   #12
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
???

Our address is published on our webstore along with all our other contact details

Apologies... Did not see it... See you Soon

Many Thanks
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 28 February 2008, 23:49   #13
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
How about an Apollo 1240 (28Mhz) Accelerator,

Can it be used with std PSU, is it fully KS3.1 compatible.
the A1200 also contains a std 6GB 2.5" HD, presumably if used with more than 4MB of Ram the PCMCIA is unuseable...
A1200 is original Commodore motherboard 1D1.

Cheers all, any comments recomendations welcome...

Anybody have one to sell.
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 00:39   #14
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 237
Why not buy a 1240 and get it upgraded to a 60? I forget who does them on here but it's a very viable and cheaper than buying an 060 card.
PaulyQ is offline  
Old 29 February 2008, 11:49   #15
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorfiot View Post
How about an Apollo 1240 (28Mhz) Accelerator,

Can it be used with std PSU, is it fully KS3.1 compatible.
the A1200 also contains a std 6GB 2.5" HD, presumably if used with more than 4MB of Ram the PCMCIA is unuseable...
A1200 is original Commodore motherboard 1D1.

Cheers all, any comments recomendations welcome...

Anybody have one to sell.
I would certainly not recommend using with standard 1200 psu, if you have a 500 one that will do the job nicely.

Up to 32mb (64mb if in tower case) can be used with this accelerator. PCMCIA will still be usable.

I agree with the suggestion of upgrading the card to 060, it is PG that does the upgrades, and he does an absolutely BRILLIANT job.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WINUAE 2.3 with A1200 KS3.1 with WB3.1 Dopus 4.16 won't run Vars191 support.WinUAE 12 24 February 2012 18:00
FS: Super Clean A1200! KS3.1 Nostromo MarketPlace 1 19 November 2010 22:46
KS3.0 + Deneb = KS3.9?? alexh support.Hardware 10 04 January 2010 18:36
A1200 + KS3.1 + ClassicWB + PFS3 , am I safe with 4+GB HD? keropi support.Apps 20 14 February 2008 17:52
A1200 accelerator Unknown_K Amiga scene 16 01 July 2003 01:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08110 seconds with 13 queries