English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2008, 19:03   #1
Lordie
 
Posts: n/a
What monitor for the Amiga?

Im looking for a monitor that I can use to play my old Amiga A500, A600 and A1200 games on.

My question is: Having bought an Amiga RGB to SVGA connector cable (the monitor I tried to connect it to displays the image but it wraps itself around in a tube shabe) will a MicroVitec monitor display these old games correctly?

I was considering this:

http://www.microvitec.co.uk/products...tic%20case.htm

Or maybe one of these:

http://www.microvitec.co.uk/products...%20monitor.htm


Or should I just get some kind of scan doubler thing?
 
Old 20 February 2008, 19:12   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,183
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
they start at £499 for a 14"...! They are made to order for industry....
DDNI is offline  
Old 20 February 2008, 19:13   #3
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,183
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Buy an AMIGA to SCART lead and use your TV
DDNI is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 00:34   #4
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 799
On using a SVGA monitor with an Amiga RGB to VGA adapter+VGA cable you will have a large Workbench display but you will not be able to play games.
On using an Amiga RGB to Scart cable you will play games but Workbench screens stays at low 640x256 resolution (without flickering).

The best CRT monitor you can buy for Amiga are Microvitec 1438, Amiga M1438S (14") or Amiga M1538S (15"). All these monitors, branded Amiga too, were manufactured by Microvitec. Amiga branded monitors have stereo audio speakers included in their cases.
Unlike old 1081 or 1084 these monitors auto-sync from 14kHz to 40kHz and can display any Amiga resolution (AGA included) from PAL 640x256 (for games compatibility) to DBLPAL 640x512 (for bigger Workbench screen) + others.

Sometimes you can find them on e-bay surely at very cheaper prices than your industrial newer Microvitec.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 17:58   #5
Lordie
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the info so far!

Would one of these scan doublers be of any use for my old games?

Would the display from an Amiga -> Scart cable be that much worse than using an old amiga monitor or a scandoubler?

Last edited by Lordie; 21 February 2008 at 19:37.
 
Old 21 February 2008, 20:40   #6
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 799
- Scandoubler allows you to connect to your Amiga the CRT VGA/SVGA monitor born for PC. Since they sync from about 30kHz the scandoubler doubles the 14kHz Amiga output to this value and therefore you can connect them without losing compatibility for games (requiring low-res PAL). Obviously, on this monitor, you can have higher resolution for Workbench.
Unfortunately, there are very rare LCD monitor that work with scandoubler.

- I think an M1438S has a better display than older 1084, 1081 and TV with Scart connection, but about TV probably it depends on its quality.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 22 February 2008, 11:47   #7
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,143
Cheap TFTs and VGA boxes are your friend
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 22 February 2008, 16:57   #8
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 2,447
Be sure though that if you get Scandoubler that it can handle Interlace modes if you wish to use that mode for Workbench. My Scan Doubler is great for low resolution screenmodes for games, but absolute SHIT for Interlace mode in Workbench.
blade002 is offline  
Old 23 February 2008, 08:22   #9
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
they start at £499 for a 14"...! They are made to order for industry....
Wtf?? Apart from the fact that they are multisync what is so good about them?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 23 February 2008, 11:30   #10
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
The whole 'how to get decent Amiga output these days' is something of a pain. There's lots of threads here @ the EAB about it - worth a search.

It's arguable that the Amiga & its games were made with CRT in mind so for ease it would be worth finding a multi-sync CRT that will scan down to the Amiga & also handle WB. (Amiga-branded monitors obviously - but how knackered will an old CRT be..?) Some TFT-TV's have been rumored to handle Amiga-outputs. (built-in scan-doubler + flicker-fixer)
Then again most of us already have monitor(s) - likely TFT. Room for yet another monitor..? It will be a BIG surprise if you have / can find a TFT that will scan low enough...
...So a v. expensive scan-doubler (flicker-fixer) will be needed...
...or some other method of connecting the two:
-Run the Amiga through your PC's TV card..? (depends on what your TV card can do)
-A VGA box from fleaBay..? (search the forum for good choices)
Amiga->S-Video..? (Zetr0 has been making some of these - ask nicely and he may add you to his growing list of orders)
-Get a GFX card for your miggy..?
-Use to TV-out on your Amiga..?
-The above mentioned options..?

They've all got pro's + cons with regard to quality, authenticity, price, flexibility - none 'perfect'.

Um, there's always emulation:
(Win)UAE - Amazing!
Amithlon - High-end Amiga.
X-Aimga - Authentic System.
Fellow - For low-end x86 box.
Charlie is offline  
Old 23 February 2008, 19:49   #11
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,183
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braddo View Post
Wtf?? Apart from the fact that they are multisync what is so good about them?
Nothing!
I spoke to Microvitec, and they told me that they are used as displays on manufacturing units costing upwards of £100k.
£499 is an insignificant part of the total unit cost.
Additionally, the monitors are only made to order, therefore the economy of scale demands a high price.
DDNI is offline  
Old 24 February 2008, 00:01   #12
Lordie
 
Posts: n/a
I dont mind spending money on a scan doubler, if there isnt too much tweaking involved.

Emulation is alright but transferring all the adf images via serial cable I find quite tedious.

Btw I spoke to someone at Microvitec already, the price they quoted me for a new Desk-Scan 1402 was £850 plus shipping plus vat!!
 
Old 24 February 2008, 13:09   #13
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,183
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Hmmm it would seem that you sounded like you had more money to be extracted than when I phoned!

One fella (last year) at microvitec told me they had some old 1438s knocking about the place. I think they were asking £100 plus p&p.
DDNI is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which monitor for Amiga ? THX1138 support.Hardware 9 09 May 2008 12:28
Amiga To Monitor LazerBall support.Hardware 2 19 February 2007 18:14
Amiga to PC Monitor smith3556@tesco support.Hardware 42 06 June 2006 10:15
Schematic diagram of an Amiga 1942 or Amiga 1940 monitor Vaclav support.Hardware 0 18 May 2006 05:18
Best monitor for Amiga Pyromania Amiga scene 2 11 April 2002 13:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07226 seconds with 13 queries