English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 February 2008, 12:23   #1
Krisu
 
Posts: n/a
A600 boot problems

When i turn on my a600 capslock led is allways on and i see black screen on my tv.
Sometimes my a600 boots ok and after ctrl-A-A it freeze again (black screen+capslock led allways on)
I cleaned everything, tried another rom and different psu but no go

thx for help
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 February 2008, 13:01   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,081
Check for shorts between motherboard and RF shield. (Metal thing inside the plastic case which covers motherboard)

Take motherboard out for test purposes, see if that is it?

Try disconnecting the floppy drive, see if that helps.
alexh is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 13:09   #3
Krisu
 
Posts: n/a
Same problem on "naked" mobo ;/
 
Old 21 February 2008, 15:52   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Krisu

when you look at the "naked" mobo, are any of the small capacitors warm/hot to the touch or bulging ?

if so they may be needing to replace... take some close up picks and we can help you

what does the LED bank do ? does it just flash dim and bright green or ..... ?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 21 February 2008, 19:12   #5
Krisu
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@Krisu

when you look at the "naked" mobo, are any of the small capacitors warm/hot to the touch or bulging ?

if so they may be needing to replace... take some close up picks and we can help you

what does the LED bank do ? does it just flash dim and bright green or ..... ?
Today my A600 boot five times in a row without any problems
Power LED and capslock LED are solid bright green. Everything looks ok on the mobo, no leaked/bulged capacitors.
 
Old 21 February 2008, 21:00   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
hmmm............

that sounds suspiciously like a power supply issue.... i could be wrong... but thats discerningly intermittent....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 22 February 2008, 12:49   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,081
Zetro may be right about the capacitors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argus@Amiga.org
Don't throw away a black screen A600 because you think it's completely dead. I sent one such 'dead' m/b to JJB at Amiga Centre and even he said it wasn't repairable...maybe couldn't be bothered with it (who knows). 'Hmm' I thought; let me have a go at it. Low and behold I replaced one of those nefarious leaking silver capacitors near the floppy drive port, plugged the board in to test and 'poof' I was staring at the animated floppy disk insert screen.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 February 2008, 11:40   #8
JonSick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 240
I second power supply. Check solder on the motherboard where the power supply connector is.
JonSick is offline  
Old 23 February 2008, 12:02   #9
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 40
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
I'm almost sure this is a cap issue. I saw some boards with the same symptoms, and they died on me a few weeks later. get those caps replaced or your a600 will die too.

you can find similar horror stories at amiga.org. search for A600 woes.
coze is offline  
Old 06 March 2008, 15:04   #10
Krisu
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by coze View Post
I'm almost sure this is a cap issue. I saw some boards with the same symptoms, and they died on me a few weeks later. get those caps replaced or your a600 will die too.

you can find similar horror stories at amiga.org. search for A600 woes.
I fixed my Ami

It was the same problem :
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...highlight=A600

 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 boot question Djay support.Hardware 2 19 December 2011 21:47
A600 CF Boot Arnie support.WinUAE 2 15 November 2011 19:05
I messed up A600 boot! Help! misjah New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 01 November 2009 03:52
3.1 Kickstart A600 slow boot kipper2k support.Hardware 14 05 July 2009 11:48
A600 + 3.1 ROM ...no boot screen! xc8 support.Hardware 5 11 September 2008 14:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06883 seconds with 15 queries