English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 June 2017, 05:45   #1381
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb View Post
...
But on your chips, Read cycles are established by asserting WE and CE to LOW....
...
From http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/198/61-64C5128AL-258414.pdf Page 8:
"Notes: /WE is HIGH for a Read Cycle."

So I think his RAM chips are probably fine.
dalek is online now  
Old 23 June 2017, 06:01   #1382
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalek View Post
From http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/198/61-64C5128AL-258414.pdf Page 8:
"Notes: /WE is HIGH for a Read Cycle."

So I think his RAM chips are probably fine.
WE High, but CE LOW. TF530 chips need WE and CE High.

Oh well it was a thought, along the lines of pin correct but there was a signal conflict with the way the chip expects pins to be asserted to enable modes.
whiteb is offline  
Old 23 June 2017, 06:46   #1383
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 214
Nah - it's /CE Low for Read/Write on the AS7C4096A's as well:

http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datashe...AS7C4096A.html (truth table on page 2)
dalek is online now  
Old 23 June 2017, 06:52   #1384
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tachyon View Post
No, no I don't. The TF5xx boards already have RAM in the 32bit FAST RAM space. This is to fill in the standard 8Mb FAST RAM space that many programs and games require to operate.
This intrigues me. Which games only support zorro 2 memory? I know of some that need C00000-memory.
Jope is offline  
Old 24 June 2017, 20:00   #1385
michaelz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Den Haag / Netherlands
Posts: 193
Would this be a relative easy add-on for the tf534? http://www.vesalia.de/e_a500clockport.htm
michaelz is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 22:36   #1386
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelz View Post
Would this be a relative easy add-on for the tf534? http://www.vesalia.de/e_a500clockport.htm
Should be possible. You could probably make this happen on the TF530 by reprogramming the SPI pins and splitting the pins needed out from the IDE interface.
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 08:53   #1387
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,544
After posting last week, about submitting boards to DirtyPCB's and sent to printing the next day (Monday cut off), I got a notification this morning (AU TIME), Boards are in the mail......

Just thought people might want to see the average turn around time.
whiteb is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 09:09   #1388
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelz View Post
Would this be a relative easy add-on for the tf534? http://www.vesalia.de/e_a500clockport.htm
Could you do it, yes. The top two chips are 74HC series chips (Depends on the specific gates in the chip, I cant see the numbers after 74HC), the third on the bottom, I do not know.., it will not show up on zoom.

Buy one, trace the board, then once Steve releases the TF534, you could add it via Eagle. Yeah ! You have the 68000 socket already, add the 3 74HC series, and 2 headers and bobs your uncle. How you route it, thats your problem I have now learned enough through Steve's videos to add something like that on to the schematic page of Eagle..., haven't learned enough about routing yet though. (Hence my comment on his latest videos about adding a 68882 to a 68000 socket) .... Yes according to Motorola, 68882 will happily reside on a 16bit bus, you need a bit of Address decoding, and Chip Select.. but it is doable.

http://amiga.resource.cx/photos/phot...res=hi&lang=en

There you go, all 3 are 74HC series)
whiteb is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 09:15   #1389
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb View Post
Could you do it, yes. The top two chips are 74HC series chips (Depends on the specific gates in the chip, I cant see the numbers after 74HC), the third on the bottom, I do not know.., it will not show up on zoom.



Buy one, trace the board, then once Steve releases the TF534, you could add it via Eagle. Yeah ! You have the 68000 socket already, add the 3 74HC series, and 2 headers and bobs your uncle. How you route it, thats your problem I have now learned enough through Steve's videos to add something like that on to the schematic page of Eagle..., haven't learned enough about routing yet though. (Hence my comment on his latest videos about adding a 68882 to a 68000 socket) .... Yes according to Motorola, 68882 will happily reside on a 16bit bus, you need a bit of Address decoding, and Chip Select.. but it is doable.



http://amiga.resource.cx/photos/phot...res=hi&lang=en



There you go, all 3 are 74HC series)


You don't need the chips. The CPLDs can do the same job


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 10:04   #1390
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
You don't need the chips. The CPLDs can do the same job

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well what I was saying Yesterday on the stream, I figured out Eagle to do the Schematic bus, nets and stuff..

But CPLD and Routing, You are the god. How many VIA's again on the CD32 ram board ??

Here is a CDTV clockport design.

http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/de...clockport.html

Last edited by whiteb; 26 June 2017 at 10:28.
whiteb is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 10:09   #1391
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,507
I added via stitching between the ground planes so about 180 in the end


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 10:19   #1392
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb View Post
Well what I was saying Yesterday on the stream, I figured out Eagle to do the Schematic bus, nets and stuff..



But CPLD and Routing, You are the god. How many VIA's again on the CD32 ram board ??

I was trying to demo how easy this all is not how God like I am. Hmmmm.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 11:30   #1393
Gordon
Settler

Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,204
Sorry if this sounds stupid, but you've designed a card but havent produced it. DO you know if it works? Tested?
Gordon is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 11:33   #1394
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Sorry if this sounds stupid, but you've designed a card but havent produced it. DO you know if it works? Tested?

Of course not. It's being made as I type. We will find out soon.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 11:37   #1395
Gordon
Settler

Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,204
Ah ok thanks. Bit late to the party so wasnt sure how it works but now ive got the idea.

Good luck!
Gordon is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 12:24   #1396
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Ah ok thanks. Bit late to the party so wasnt sure how it works but now ive got the idea.

Good luck!


It's based on the TF530 IDE and RAM designs so barring a mistake from me during design it should work. This stuff is really easy. No clock domains to cross even


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 26 June 2017, 13:28   #1397
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 49
Posts: 1,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Ah ok thanks. Bit late to the party so wasnt sure how it works but now ive got the idea.
Good luck!
As Steve just said, its essentially a TF530 with the 68030/68882 removed, and uses DRAM instead of Sram.., he is spitting at them right now apparently.

But yeah, its off to the PCB house...... then the testing begins and debugging (If needed).
whiteb is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 17:00   #1398
EzdineG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Ok its a firmware issue of some kind. i'll have a think..

Have you had a chance to look at the Rev 3 firmware? Any confirmations of other users bringing up working boards?

There was some debate over /WE and /CE on this RAM. Seems it should be okay, but if others aren't seeing this perhaps what im using is incompatible after all.

Thanks.
EzdineG is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 20:12   #1399
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,507
I've not had time in the last few days. Have work deadlines. Will try and look at over the weekend


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 20:26   #1400
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
did you see the a1200 expansion to pci connector by kipper2k already?
emufan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
8 Bit Dreams
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 06:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 09:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 01:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 20:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 08:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.19843 seconds with 16 queries