English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2018, 16:36   #1
ScottC2010
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Leamington Spa / Warwickshire
Posts: 76
AMITEK HAWK more than 8MB?

Hi,
Is it possible to add more than 8mb to Hawk expansion by modding it?
ScottC2010 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 July 2018, 16:43   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,446
No.
idrougge is offline  
Old 01 July 2018, 16:44   #3
ScottC2010
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Leamington Spa / Warwickshire
Posts: 76
Thanks
ScottC2010 is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 14:21   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,077
It is limited by the CPU which only has 24 address lines (16MiB) and the Amiga chipset + RAM + ROM takes up the other 8MiB
alexh is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 17:42   #5
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,653
idrougge is right - easily can't be done but...

...but you could modify autoconfig and add chips on top (piggyback), modify address selection (so efficiently building new expansion) to fit some unused space - some areas are not used and they are reserved - for example memory between $C00000 and $D7FFFF can be legally allocated (so called SLOW FAST) and used also on CPU (FAST) side. Another area is A00000 to BEFFFF (used partially on some systems but mostly not used at all). If i recall correctly somewhere around 13MB+ of RAM can be easily fit within plain A500. Also out of Amiga spec but with some clever design FC0 - FC3 lines can be used to extend address space to 64MB.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 03 July 2018, 09:32   #6
watman
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 17
Isn't effective limit of 68k CPU 11,5MB? 2 Chip + 1,5 Slow/Ranger + 8Fast?
watman is offline  
Old 03 July 2018, 11:23   #7
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by watman View Post
Isn't effective limit of 68k CPU 11,5MB? 2 Chip + 1,5 Slow/Ranger + 8Fast?
Nope - there can be more than 1.5MB slow, and over 1.5MB in other areas normally not used (depends on machine and used extensions).
And 68K allow to address 4x 16MiB (program and data for user and supervisor).
pandy71 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hawk ramboard refuses 8mb ram Retrofan support.Other 116 05 August 2017 21:13
[SOLD] AmiTek A1200 Hawk 4Mb/8Mb Megamix MarketPlace 2 02 October 2014 14:29
Bought an untested Amitek/Hawk 8MB off eBay... radiokida support.Hardware 46 02 May 2013 11:52
For sale on Ebay, Amitek Hawk ram accelerator card with 8 MB simm miggy1974 MarketPlace 2 13 December 2008 23:42
AMITEK Hawk Ram Board for A1200 for sale lopos2000 MarketPlace 0 28 April 2005 20:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07180 seconds with 15 queries