English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 January 2009, 22:44   #1
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 40
Posts: 3,195
Happy IDE to SD card - the next step?!

Who's going to try one of these babies out then!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-SD-Flash-M...1%7C240%3A1318

Getting smaller and smaller
Paul_s is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 22:54   #2
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
I purchased one of those about a year ago.

Works fine

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 20 January 2009, 22:54   #3
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
They've been tried ages ago and they work... but look at the price and the price of SD cards vs CF... almost double.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=270332373870

Perhaps a better version for A1200/A600

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=260340460213
alexh is offline  
Old 21 January 2009, 01:21   #4
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 765
damn awesome find! I would have went the SD card route rather than the CF card one if id known a year and a half ago..the SD cards a way cheaper & easier to find here than old CF cards...
any advantages over one or the other??? which has more read/write cycles?
klx300r is offline  
Old 21 January 2009, 01:35   #5
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,533
Damn! I just ordered the CF/IDE adapter...

However, the sellers always state these adapter to be suitable for use even for Windows installations. But they do not point out the much lower number of write cycles available for flash cards (compared to hard drives).

My advice is: if using with Windows, be sure to deactivate *at all* the swap file, and rely only on physical memory! This will save a lot of flash life
Supamax is offline  
Old 21 January 2009, 02:03   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
any advantages over one or the other???
CF is native IDE protocol so no adapter chips meaning less power. In theory CF card is much faster but for Amiga internal IDE it doesnt matter. Unknown if SD adapters suffer from FIXED / REMOVABLE issue that some CF cards can.

Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
which has more read/write cycles?
Depends from card to card and manufacturer to manufacturer.
alexh is offline  
Old 21 January 2009, 06:26   #7
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
Some of these IDE-SD adapters might be quite slow... slower than the 8-10MB/s of the Blizzard SCSI Kit (or possibly thereabouts on speed), and much slower than the UWSCSI of the cyberstorm. But I wonder if it will detect the drive as Fixed or Removable....

I looked at the specs of some of the CF2SD adapters, and some said less than 1MB/sec! So beware of the speed ratings.

CF cards with SLC have more read/write cycles. I have read that Sandisk uses MLC in 98% of their chips, but also that their MLC tech tops out at 34MB/s. So an Extreme IV should use SLC but all other brand new Sandisk cards may well use MLC. As Sandisk MLC may be faster than other brand MLC, with other manufacturer you are more likely to get SLC if you don't want to pay $$$ for fastest Sandisks (NOT from ebay).

Link with the above info on Sandisk:
http://savolainen.wordpress.com/2008/11/

So I would say based on the above that genuine extremely fast cards are likely to use SLC whereas the rest MLC for cheap costs and higher density. 16GB slow card == must surely be MLC. If using your card as a hard disk with windows, you should really go for SLC cards IMO.
Calgor is offline  
Old 21 January 2009, 11:01   #8
DH
Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 51
Posts: 4,054
I've mentioned this before in another thread somewhere. CF cards were originally designed for cameras and because SD has almost taken over, these babies are getting harder to find and more expensive.

My question in the other thread was, If you bought an SD to CF adapter would it still work?

At 11.99 GBP you can't go wrong if they work
http://www.mymemory.co.uk/Compact-Fl...h-Card-Adaptor
DH is online now  
Old 21 January 2009, 11:21   #9
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
Some of these IDE-SD adapters might be quite slow... slower than the 8-10MB/s of the Blizzard SCSI Kit (or possibly thereabouts on speed), and much slower than the UWSCSI of the cyberstorm. But I wonder if it will detect the drive as Fixed or Removable....

I looked at the specs of some of the CF2SD adapters, and some said less than 1MB/sec! So beware of the speed ratings.

CF cards with SLC have more read/write cycles. I have read that Sandisk uses MLC in 98% of their chips, but also that their MLC tech tops out at 34MB/s. So an Extreme IV should use SLC but all other brand new Sandisk cards may well use MLC. As Sandisk MLC may be faster than other brand MLC, with other manufacturer you are more likely to get SLC if you don't want to pay $$$ for fastest Sandisks (NOT from ebay).

Link with the above info on Sandisk:
http://savolainen.wordpress.com/2008/11/

So I would say based on the above that genuine extremely fast cards are likely to use SLC whereas the rest MLC for cheap costs and higher density. 16GB slow card == must surely be MLC. If using your card as a hard disk with windows, you should really go for SLC cards IMO.
It's easy to find out if SD is slower than CF. Plonk both in your "other computer" and copy a big file back and forth, and measure the time.

Me, I have such an adapter and an SD card for it. Might try it in my A1200-030 some day, but with the A500 I went with CF->IDE->SCSI and was very pleased. On my A600 I get like 200 KB/s! Haven't really looked at that yet.

Me, I'd go with Sandisk Extreme III 2 GB CF. Mine perform well.
Photon is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 09:04   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,633
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
Who's going to try one of these babies out then!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-SD-Flash-M...1%7C240%3A1318

Getting smaller and smaller
Interesting, it says it can take MMC and MS too. Is that true?
FOL is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 10:41   #11
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,525
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
MMC works (same card didnt work in minimig)
Chain is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 13:04   #12
cane
Registered User
cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: .hr
Age: 39
Posts: 539
Dealextreme has got SDHC to 2.5'' IDE adapter for $10.50 - linky
cane is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 14:35   #13
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
I've mentioned this before in another thread somewhere. CF cards were originally designed for cameras and because SD has almost taken over, these babies are getting harder to find and more expensive.
Do you live in the same country as me?? In the UK you can get them online everywhere and in most supermarkets. Prices are as cheap (from 99p + postage for 1GB!) if not cheaper than SD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
At 11.99 GBP you can't go wrong
Sure but at £2.07 (including delivery) you can go one better
alexh is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 14:58   #14
DH
Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 51
Posts: 4,054
Cheers alexh

Yes I do live in the UK, but I don't shop much online and supermarket prices are usually stupidly high.

I remember when I got my 1GB Kingston CF online for my Nikon 8800 it cost me £18 'n' that was a few years back and relatively cheap for the time.

The previous question is not really about CF to IDE adapter but a SD to CF adapter that can be used in a CF to IDE adapter for the Amiga. Would they work just the same?


SD to CompactFlash Adaptor


Edit: Maybe this is something no one has tried yet and that's why there is no answers regarding it

Last edited by DH; 23 January 2009 at 16:12.
DH is online now  
Old 23 January 2009, 17:37   #15
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
I am waiting on a CF to SD adapter to arrive so I will let you know when I get it. I think the speed will be slow for the one I am getting (but fastest I could find), but fine for anything <10MB/sec.
Calgor is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 19:43   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post
supermarket prices are usually stupidly high.
They used to be but I think they've wizened up just recently. Tesco were selling two original SANDISK 2GB SD cards for £7 which aint bad. Perfect for the Wii.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 January 2009, 20:12   #17
DH
Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 51
Posts: 4,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
They used to be but I think they've wizened up just recently. Tesco were selling two original SANDISK 2GB SD cards for £7 which aint bad. Perfect for the Wii.
Cheers for that, I now know where to go to get myself a 2GB SD card for the phone

I haven't looked at these things for ages and didn't realise the supermarkets had wizened up to the market but do they sell CF cards. I would really like to get a knew one for the camera.
DH is online now  
Old 25 September 2018, 18:57   #18
Kickstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Berlin
Posts: 3
Are the value by an SDHC Card are the same as an CF Card (Maxtransfer=1xFE00...)?
Kickstar is offline  
Old 25 September 2018, 19:14   #19
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,826
Yes, you should still use 0x1fe00 as the maxtransfer to be safe.
Jope is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 05:55   #20
Kickstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Berlin
Posts: 3
Thanks for the quick answer. There is otherwise a difference, to a CF card, in the settings?
Kickstar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating games with Backbone - Step by Step for beginners! Cammy project.Amiga Game Factory 147 16 July 2018 21:00
LCD Monitor mod (hardware pr0n, step by step) Shoonay Hardware pics 11 16 November 2015 21:13
Step by Step guide for installing WHDLoad and games for complete newbies? daro2096 support.Games 9 11 March 2013 21:59
Installing MiamiDX Step by Step A1200 Rogueraven support.Apps 1 11 April 2008 22:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 1.02483 seconds with 15 queries