English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 May 2003, 18:33   #1
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 33
Posts: 191
my last amiga power supply related post

Hey.
Well iv'e given up on tryna get a A1200 power supply off Ebay. So iv'e started looking at retailers such as http://www.vintagecomputer.co.uk and http://www.analogic.co.uk/.
So what I wanna know is what is the best site to use? One that is cheap and reliable? Preferably one that takes PayPal or Solo cards. Currently vintage looks the best but I'm finding it kinda hard to find other Amiga Retailers on the net.

I have done a search on the boards but have found nothing that is that useful

P.S. an A500 power supply would work with an A1200 wouldn't it?

Sorry if I missed a post that answered this already. I'm a bit of a muppet.
wakeupbomb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 May 2003, 18:58   #2
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 46
Posts: 824
Yes, an A-500 supply will work as long as your A-1200 is tuned up much with turbocards and such !
When you get an A-500 supply make sure you get the later, light model with switching transformer which can supply up to 4.5A , while the older, heavy model with normal transformer can only go up to 2.5A !
When you get a 4.5A A-500 supply then I think it should be strong enough to power an A-1200 with HD and turbo card, but that would be the limit, I think. If you have more additional devices like a CD-rom, more than 1 external drives and much ram then I would better have a look for an old PC AT psu ! They have the same voltages and only the connector needs to be modified for the Amiga
Overdoc is offline  
Old 13 May 2003, 12:17   #3
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 33
Posts: 191
well iv'e ordered an A500 light power supply from vintagecomputing. wahooo
cheers for advice mate
wakeupbomb is offline  
Old 14 May 2003, 02:08   #4
Vintagecomputer
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Wakeupbomb

If your wanting an a1200 psu ill see if i have got one of them instead, if not ill send you the one you ordered, its upto you :-)

Cheers

Lee
 
Old 14 May 2003, 14:46   #5
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 33
Posts: 191
whoa freaky

there's a difference???
I suppose i'd prefer the A1200 power supply, since iv'e got an A1200
Unless of course it's gonna cost me more
My A1200 has two hard drives and an 030 card in it...power supply is gonna blow up isn't it?


Cheers
wakeupbomb is offline  
Old 14 May 2003, 15:03   #6
Vintagecomputer
 
Posts: n/a
lol...

I think the only main difference is the colour, the a500 psu is the same colour as the a500, and the a1200 psu is surprisingly the same colour as the a1200

There may be some difference in the ampage but i shouldn't imagine it will blow up ....(its the heavy a500 psu's that wont cope)

Anyway, if i can find you an amiga 1200 psu then this shouldnt be a problem...

Ill get it posted to you tomorrow morning....our post office isnt open on a wednesday :-(, but hopefully you should receive it on Friday.

The price will be the same....

Lee
 
Old 14 May 2003, 15:05   #7
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 33
Posts: 191
ok, that cool
Cheers

I think i'll be buying from you people again some time soon
wakeupbomb is offline  
Old 14 May 2003, 15:08   #8
Vintagecomputer
 
Posts: n/a
I mean 'i should imagine it WONT blow up...not WILL blow up'
 
Old 14 May 2003, 15:09   #9
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 33
Posts: 191
lolol
missed that one
wakeupbomb is offline  
Old 14 May 2003, 15:13   #10
Vintagecomputer
 
Posts: n/a
No wonder you missed it...just read my post for the 90th time...and it seems i said it correctly the first time...I think!!! (take another look)...

Anyway you know what i mean
 
Old 14 May 2003, 15:20   #11
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 33
Posts: 191
i'm getting a headache :P
wakeupbomb is offline  
Old 14 May 2003, 15:25   #12
Vintagecomputer
 
Posts: n/a
Ill send you a box of paracetamol with the psu!!, take 2 after each of my posts

and another 4 if the damn thing blows up (which it WONT)
 
Old 14 May 2003, 15:33   #13
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 33
Posts: 191
hahaaa good one
wakeupbomb is offline  
Old 14 May 2003, 17:50   #14
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 46
Posts: 824
Be careful !!
Don't get the original A-1200 psu if your Amiga is tuned up !
The original A-1200 psu is only 23W in total and only 3A on the 5V line, while the leight weight A-500 psu is stronger since it can provide 4.5A at 5V.

So, the A-1200 psu is underpowered for your Amiga for sure, and even the 4.5A A-500 psu might be not enough powerful when having 2 HDs and a turbocard connected ! Don't know how much power each of the parts consume, but if you want to be on the save side then an AT psu would be the best option
Overdoc is offline  
Old 14 May 2003, 19:04   #15
Vintagecomputer
 
Posts: n/a
By the sounds of it then, you are better off with a lighter type a500 psu :-))
 
Old 14 May 2003, 20:22   #16
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 33
Posts: 191
hehe yeah ok, stick with the A500 light one

I think I'll take out one of the hard drives then, I don't really need the two of them

Cheers Overdoc

I'm not overly sure how connecting to a AT PSU works? Is there any guides on how to do this lying about? One for idiots would be good
wakeupbomb is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 00:36   #17
Vintagecomputer
 
Posts: n/a
Have you received the psu yet?

I also noticed that the weight of the psu has nothing to do with the ampage!, i have some light ones which are 2.5A and 4.5A, which is also the same as the heavy ones....
 
Old 19 May 2003, 12:59   #18
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 46
Posts: 824
Hmm, that's very strange ?!?
Maybe on some of them cases have been swapped ?
I have had at least 30 or 40 Amiga psu going thru my hands and the heavy ones always had 2.5A and the light ones 4.5A. There is also some with 3.0A and some which say A-600 psu. I think these are rather light, too.
Anyway, I have never tested it, but generally from what I have heard people reporting and if C= is right then the light, switching psu is the stronger one.
Overdoc is offline  
Old 19 May 2003, 13:44   #19
wakeupbomb
Amiga Collector
wakeupbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Leeds, England
Age: 33
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally posted by Vintagecomputer
Have you received the psu yet?

I also noticed that the weight of the psu has nothing to do with the ampage!, i have some light ones which are 2.5A and 4.5A, which is also the same as the heavy ones....
Yep I got the PSU cheers. And everything works fine, after a small misshap with the floppy drive
Now I just need to win some decent games on Ebay.
Nice doing business with you

And thats strange having light PSU's with low ampage...
*ponders*

Cheers
wakeupbomb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 15:10
WTB: Amiga related magazines (Amiga Power, The ONE, ZERO...) Andymiga MarketPlace 9 14 September 2010 08:31
Wanted: Amiga 3000 Power Supply kjmann14 MarketPlace 5 03 March 2009 15:49
Amiga 1020 Drive Power Supply huggies support.Hardware 0 24 August 2008 13:54
Amiga 2000 power supply polbit support.Hardware 12 12 January 2007 22:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20393 seconds with 12 queries