English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 May 2017, 12:14   #1
davidino78
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 10
Amiga cd32 info

Hi members,im from Italy and i ve big retrogaming and retrocomputer passion.
Yesterday i've buy my first Amiga Cd32 used console....
Unfortunately,game controller and games are not present...
When i turn on,console seems to work fine,boot screen appears on tv.
When i try to insert audio cd,disc spin normally but i can't hear audio and on tv there is always boot screen....
To play audio cd it's necessary Joypad or cd rom are bad?
Tanks!!
davidino78 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 May 2017, 17:23   #2
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,924
Hi

AFAIR when you insert an audio disk, you get the CD-player screen and the CD starts to play.

BTW: CD-RWs (rewritable) don't work with CD32. CD-Rs work.
jotd is offline  
Old 13 May 2017, 19:07   #3
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 630
If you boot with an audio CD in the drive, the CD player screen
will appear, but you either have to press play on the controller
or Enter on a keyboard to start it playing.
It sounds like the CD isn't being recognised.
xArtx is offline  
Old 13 May 2017, 22:59   #4
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,924
If the CD is spinning, it's good. Try several CDs, pressed, preferably. if it doesn't work, don't bother with burning ISO images of games...
jotd is offline  
Old 13 May 2017, 22:59   #5
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by xArtx View Post
If you boot with an audio CD in the drive, the CD player screen
will appear, but you either have to press play on the controller
or Enter on a keyboard to start it playing.


It sounds like the CD isn't being recognised.
CD Player Below:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pink Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon_001.png
Views:	33
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	53080  
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 01:35   #6
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
i can change the laser, i am in Piacenza
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 06:08   #7
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 630
Ok, well you can control the CD player with any Amiga or Atari, or Sega MS joystick/controller.
xArtx is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 10:49   #8
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,924
there's no "play" on amiga/atari or even sega joysticks.
jotd is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 11:13   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidino78 View Post
To play audio cd it's necessary Joypad or cd rom are bad?
Tanks!!
Ciao Davide, se quando inserisci il CD appare il Player Audio significa che il CD Audio stato riconosciuto, per ascoltare le tracce e premere Play hai bisogno del JoyPad CD32, naturalmente per ascoltare la musica devi aver collegato anche i cavi Audio alla TV.

---------------------
If you insert the CD it appears the Audio Player, means that the Audio CD has been recognized, to hear the tracks and press Play You need the JoyPad CD32, naturally To listen to music You have to also connected to the audio cables to the TV
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 12:15   #10
davidino78
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Ciao Davide, se quando inserisci il CD appare il Player Audio significa che il CD Audio stato riconosciuto, per ascoltare le tracce e premere Play hai bisogno del JoyPad CD32, naturalmente per ascoltare la musica devi aver collegato anche i cavi Audio alla TV.

---------------------
If you insert the CD it appears the Audio Player, means that the Audio CD has been recognized, to hear the tracks and press Play You need the JoyPad CD32, naturally To listen to music You have to also connected to the audio cables to the TV
Tanks for answers!

But when i try to insert any audio disk,nothing appear on tv...
Cd spin but there aren't any screen....
Laser ko??
davidino78 is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 12:37   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,142
Appena collegato e acceso cosa vedi nello schermo?

-----------------------------

Just plugged in and what do you see on the screen?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 12:46   #12
davidino78
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Appena collegato e acceso cosa vedi nello schermo?

-----------------------------

Just plugged in and what do you see on the screen?
Quando accendo la console,dopo un paio di secondi appare questa schermata:

When i turn on console,after 2 seconds appear this screen:

davidino78 is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 12:59   #13
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 630
Ok, I was confused because someone showed a screenshot of the CD player screen and I thought it was yours.
It seems the CD isn’t recognised after all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
there's no "play" on amiga/atari or even sega joysticks.
You only have to move the cursor to the desired button with the direction controls of any old joystick and then press fire when the play button is highlighted.
You can do the same with the arrow keys on a keyboard, and then press enter when the correct button is highlighted.
Pressing the dedicated “play/pause” button on the real CD32 controller is just another alternative, it’s not needed.
Even if you have the real CD32 gamepad, you can still use it the same way, without ever pressing “play”.
xArtx is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 13:04   #14
davidino78
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 10
ok but "Cd player screen" don't appear in my console...
davidino78 is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 13:46   #15
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 630
For some console CD drives it helps to start it with the whole console sideways,
and then trying again tilting it all the way till it’s upside down.
You might want to stop if you hear the laser touching the CD.
Since the CD32 only tries to read the CD one or two times you’d have to reset it a lot.
xArtx is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 13:57   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidino78 View Post
ok but "Cd player screen" don't appear in my console...
Il lettore CD appare quando viene riconosciuto il CD Audio. Il CD32 ha un lettore 1x e non legge CD rescrivibili, prova a mettere un CD Audio Originale o altri CD Audio che siano in buono stato, pu essere che non supporti incisione fatte da masterizzatori/supporti moderni.

---------------------------

The CD player appears when the Audio CD is recognized. The CD32 has a 1x reader and does not readable CDs, try to put an Original Audio CD or other audio CDs that are in good condition, it may be that it does not support engraving made by modern recorders/support
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 14:55   #17
chusete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Madrid - Spain
Age: 42
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidino78 View Post
Tanks for answers!

But when i try to insert any audio disk,nothing appear on tv...
Cd spin but there aren't any screen....
Laser ko??
I had the same problem. The solution : replace the lens.
Now works perfect with all kind of cd, CD-R ...
chusete is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 14:56   #18
davidino78
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 10
It's very difficult replace the lens?
davidino78 is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 15:36   #19
chusete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Madrid - Spain
Age: 42
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidino78 View Post
Tanks for answers!

But when i try to insert any audio disk,nothing appear on tv...
Cd spin but there aren't any screen....
Laser ko??
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidino78 View Post
It's very difficult replace the lens?
It's easy:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=84408
chusete is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 16:29   #20
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
The CD32 has a 1x reader and does not readable CDs
2x actually.
idrougge is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help with Info for my CD32 Gilbert Amiga scene 21 29 January 2010 09:32
def_disk.info, def_Kick.info and def_CF0 fc.studio support.Apps 4 10 January 2010 00:49
info on creating info files icons ? Dimlow New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 16 July 2008 20:28
CD32 power supply / compilations info chaoticjelly support.Hardware 11 12 May 2007 15:11
Simon the Sorcerer CD32 info. needed Kirben support.Games 0 12 January 2003 06:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.46528 seconds with 13 queries