English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2017, 13:17   #41
Pat the Cat
Banned

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
Its never early for Alcoholism, how do you think we get through the winter here?
In Finland, other bits of Scandanavia, I hear you hit each other with birch twigs, dance naked through the snow, have sex, and Sauna.

Not necessarily in that order, and now you tell me you only do the above while under the influence of alcohol anyway.

Sounds like you'd fit right in here, to be honest. Less of the subzero temperatures, of course.
Pat the Cat is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 January 2017, 13:34   #42
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 753
Sounds all accurate enough.
Locutus is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 13:47   #43
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,478
A little more speed for the same clock rate






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 14:25   #44
PeteAU
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
A little more speed for the same clock rate
That's a fair jump, optimized ram timings? What if you soft-kicked another kickstart, would you gain a little with all the libs in 32-bit fastram?
PeteAU is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 14:26   #45
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 717
@plasmab, just saw your Dave of EEvlog imitation and it did make me laff, your funny dude ....and clever ,would love a CD32 accelerator
supaduper is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 14:27   #46
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteAU View Post
That's a fair jump, optimized ram timings? What if you soft-kicked another kickstart, would you gain a little with all the libs in 32-bit fastram?
Maybe. But for now i'm just looking at the CPLD stuff. I shaved a dumb clock cycle delay i had in there. 4x is about right now at 2 times the clock speed and 2 times the bus width.
plasmab is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 14:30   #47
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
@plasmab, just saw your Dave of EEvlog imitation and it did make me laff, your funny dude ....and clever ,would love a CD32 accelerator
Heh. Yeah i need to do a Louis Rossman impression video. How to do it without upsetting Louis. Maybe when i move into the new lab...
plasmab is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 14:49   #48
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
your Dave of EEvlog imitation
Will that also make my ears bleed?
Locutus is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 14:53   #49
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
Will that also make my ears bleed?
Its as authentic EEVBlog as i could make it.
plasmab is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 17:39   #50
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,478
I need to figure out what to do about autoconfig ids.
plasmab is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 19:36   #51
Pat the Cat
Banned

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteAU View Post
That's a fair jump, optimized ram timings? What if you soft-kicked another kickstart, would you gain a little with all the libs in 32-bit fastram?
Short explanation - partly.

Long explanation - some libraries live in kickstart. Some don't. In theory you can pick and choose which you want preloaded into fast RAM. LoadResource command lets you preload individuall libs, devs, fonts and catalogs to RAM, from disk. Relokick or similar utility lets you sideways map a different ROM. I think LoadResource was introduced in OS2, not sure about about that.

Actually getting a startup-sequence right for a given set of applications is quite a struggle, but you can do that or more with most any kind of fast RAM, not just accelerator cards with fast RAM like this project. It's very handy to have ROM shadow on a jumper, saves you (the user) writing the code, true. But maybe not necessary to get to work.
Pat the Cat is offline  
Old 02 January 2017, 23:33   #52
Pat the Cat
Banned

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
The 030 board is almost done. Just the IDE left to do. Then its just performance tweaks.

IDE = It's Done Eventually.

Actually it's not that straightforward for an A500 - I guess you are going to have to pick a minimum Kickstart to be compatible with. 1.3 was the first with autoboot. Not many 1.3 Amigas had hard drives at the time, and limiting it to a 2 or higher might save you some headaches.

I guess after that, it's a question of using Autoconfig so that the A500 has some idea of how to access the drive, from the minimum KS selected, using the libararies and device drivers available (typically SCSI.device, also ATAPI.device).

Most inbuilt Amiga IDE support is crap, and depends on an A1200 or A4000 design. Both 3.0 and later. But, the firmware for the controllers isn't operable in A500 V3 and higher ROMs, because the A500 does not have such a port built in.

The commercial IDEFIX has quite a bit of driver support, but it's commercial. Available in IDE97 and IDE99 flavours, trying to get support for 64-bit and also boosting transfer speed (the A1200 controller was only designed for one drive). I'm not saying make it dependent on the driver (not a good move) but studying those might give you some insights into what you need to do to make your IDE port work well on an A500.

HDToolbox is of course the standard CBM utility to prepare, wipe, and partition drives. Usually with "Quick" formatting, as the standard format command is hardware limited to partition size. That's about as much as I can say with confidence - and is probably far less than you already know.

Last edited by Pat the Cat; 02 January 2017 at 23:40.
Pat the Cat is offline  
Old 03 January 2017, 00:10   #53
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 753
even with all the downsides, Gayle style IDE is probably the easiest solution.
Locutus is offline  
Old 03 January 2017, 00:13   #54
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I need to figure out what to do about autoconfig ids.
If memory serves there are two people who can allocate you an autoconfig ID. One of them is Olaf Barthel, who allocated one to me a couple of years ago for Minimig tinkering. I can't remember who the other is, but I think whoever it is allocated Majsta's ID for the Vampire project.
robinsonb5 is online now  
Old 03 January 2017, 01:00   #55
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 753
I think Thomas Richter might be the other person to ask, atleast he will know.

In essence you want a ID that the guy who updates boards.library will accept :-)
Locutus is offline  
Old 03 January 2017, 01:49   #56
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,478
Thanks guys.

I recognise that name. Is Thomas involved with MiST?

In other news I fixed the mouse flicker and she is up to A3000 speeds.



Frontier runs sweet as anything.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 03 January 2017, 02:15   #57
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,045
http://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/Amiga_H...er_ID_Registry

Great jump in performance, BTW. Now it's on par with the Furia.
idrougge is offline  
Old 03 January 2017, 02:22   #58
Pat the Cat
Banned

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
In other news I fixed the mouse flicker and she is up to A3000 speeds.

Frontier runs sweet as anything.
Yup, that's the combo. I take it you switched on Burst mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
http://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/Amiga_Hardware_Manufacturer_ID_Registry
Thank you SO much. Clearest, most straightforward description I have ever read on the subject of Autoconfig and manufacturing hardware IDs. From anyone, anytime. And it's Hyperion, makes sense they're the people with their finger on the trigger.

Last edited by Pat the Cat; 03 January 2017 at 02:39.
Pat the Cat is offline  
Old 03 January 2017, 02:23   #59
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
http://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/Amiga_H...er_ID_Registry

Great jump in performance, BTW. Now it's on par with the Furia.
Surely it goes faster? I saw them getting it up to 40Mhz or so.
plasmab is offline  
Old 03 January 2017, 02:25   #60
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat the Cat View Post
Yup, that's the combo. I take it you switched on Burst mode?
Well.. All RAM access is 2 clock cycles. I think i could get a tiny bit more out of it.
plasmab is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (1 members and 3 guests)
spidi
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 07:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 10:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 02:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 21:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 09:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24694 seconds with 13 queries