English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 August 2016, 13:22   #1
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 199
Using Video Toaster with PAL Amiga?

Hi All,

Want to install a video toaster card, but will a card made only for the NTSC market work in my PAL A2000? Or will it do damage (due to differing frequencies/voltages?)

Any advice really appreciated. You could save my Amiga...
Marchie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 August 2016, 14:42   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,830
No damage, but many functions will probably not work as intended due to the deviating oscillator frequencies.
idrougge is offline  
Old 06 August 2016, 18:55   #3
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 140
I bought and installed a Toaster 4000 board in my A4000T. It didn't work (Toaster switcher couldn't find it) - I don't know if it was because of a PAL machine or if the board itself was a dud one (bought it as untested).

I still haven't tested all possible tricks (like jumpering the board to NTSC, or having a display connected to the RGB output, my display was on an RTG board's VGA output) so I am also interested in if it should work in a PAL machine.
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 07 August 2016, 02:10   #4
Ami_GFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA North America
Posts: 179
I don't think it will work at all in a PAL Amiga. I order to work, the Toaster has to sync to the Amiga's video signal. A common problem with the Toaster is a sync error which will result in an error message when the Toaster software is launched. There is a potentiometer on the Toaster that needs to be adjusted to fix this but 50hz is way out of the range of the Toaster's circuits. The only way to use it is to set the motherboard jumper to NTSC if it is set to PAL.
Ami_GFX is offline  
Old 07 August 2016, 04:41   #5
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,830
Well, of course you have to set your Amiga to NTSC mode.
idrougge is offline  
Old 07 August 2016, 11:39   #6
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 140
I did try to boot in NTSC mode (from Early Startup Menu), I had the machine's case already closed after installing the board (which wasn't an easy fit!) but I guess selecting it by the jumper does something more. I did read about the pot on the board, probably due to the PAL mode the voltage that the nearby test points were supposed to be adjusted to, was way out and there was not enough range.

Do I need to have the RGB output connected to a monitor for the Toaster to work?

There is no TICK pin on the A4000's PSU connector so will there be problems reagarding the mains frequency?
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 07 August 2016, 14:29   #7
Ami_GFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA North America
Posts: 179
The Amiga 4000 PS outputs DC voltages and the mains frequency should make no difference. Both the Amiga and the Toaster have their own internal frequency references and the Toaster's has to be synced to the Amigas. The Toaster also syncs to external video sources connected to input port 1 and it isn't uncommon to have the Toaster work fine with no external video input but to give a sync error with an external video source connected.
Ami_GFX is offline  
Old 07 August 2016, 16:01   #8
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,784
The motherboard has to be jumper set to NTSC for the Video Toaster 4000 to work. Also, depending on which monitor you use you may also need a sync strainer adapter.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 07 August 2016, 16:51   #9
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,353
some revisions of the A2000 motherboards came with a NTSC/PAL jumper j102 - below the xtal.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	j102-a2000rev62.png
Views:	92
Size:	55.7 KB
ID:	49322  

Last edited by emufan; 07 August 2016 at 16:57.
emufan is offline  
Old 07 August 2016, 17:14   #10
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,784
I'm pretty sure the Amiga 4000T has a motherboard jumper for NTSC/PAL as well.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 02:26   #11
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 199
Thanks everyone for the helpful replies,

emufan - I happen to have that motherboard revision (6.2) so that's really useful advice, thanks.

To be honest the toaster card is just a bonus. I'm really after Lightwave, and stand-alone copies seem to be non-existent on Ebay, whereas toaster cards with software pop-up at least occasionally. If anyone knows a better way to get LW please let me know.
Marchie is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 02:43   #12
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,830
Can't you get a pirate copy?
idrougge is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 02:48   #13
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,353
just take a look in the Lightwave Plugin thread. alot has been found already. download link at the end of 1st posting.
just to agree with idrougge
emufan is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 03:38   #14
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 199
That is the obvious question, and a crack is fine for playing around.

As an animation professional however, I was rather excited at the idea (especially with the new A500/2000 Vampire accelerators around the corner) of doing some retro-style animation on classic hardwre, maybe some Amiga-game themed short films. But it's a bit of a risky proposition starting a Kickstarter project on pirate software.
Marchie is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 14:49   #15
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,353
try to get in touch with Newtek - tell them you have a VideoToaster and you need to get the latest VideoToaster Software.
It's been a while since someone confirmed this, but until then, they were still selling the software for $US 50.
on the videotoaster cdrom you get the toaster software (version 4.3 and 3.5) including latest Lightwave3D.
if they still do so, you will get this on a cdrom (incl. install-floppy !? ).
they did (do) also repairs of the toaster cards.

Last edited by emufan; 08 August 2016 at 15:37.
emufan is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 17:58   #16
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 140
I thought I heard that somebody had tried and found out that NewTek wouldn't support these anymore? I know they used to support those for a long time, but stopped it just year or two ago?

Sorry to steal the thread, but I guess this might help the case at hand as well...

Today I jumpered my A4000T to NTSC. Now the toaster software starts (before it didn't and complained that the "Toaster is not responding"). It suggested to run AutoHue, but I skipped it (as I had no NTSC outputting device at hand).

However I get no output from either outputs (I used a CRT TV that I *supposed* to support NTSC). I tried to put a digital video camera's composite output into the first input of the Toaster. The camera didn't have an option to select NTSC so I believe it's outputting PAL. I know this was a bad test with all these guesses, still I would have expected to see some sort of scrolling or distorted output? Or without any inputs just some sort of output? At least I know now that my Toaster is not completely toasted!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
As an animation professional however, I was rather excited at the idea (especially with the new A500/2000 Vampire accelerators around the corner) of doing some retro-style animation on classic hardwre, maybe some Amiga-game themed short films. But it's a bit of a risky proposition starting a Kickstarter project on pirate software.
That sounds awesome! I am sure you'd get several supporters just for the fact of using a real Amiga and a Video Toaster . Also my respects for wanting to do it the right way with properly licensed software! Even when it's this old.

Last edited by Amiga_CDTV; 08 August 2016 at 18:01. Reason: added the quote
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 08 August 2016, 19:56   #17
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga_CDTV View Post
I know they used to support those for a long time, but stopped it just year or two ago?
too bad, maybe Pyromania can help Marchie, I think he may still have some original
packages he may sell. just send him a PM if he misses the postings here.

Quote:
At least I know now that my Toaster is not completely toasted!
finaly someone who gives a usefull feedback - now just make a video of what
you're doing, while running around the toaster

btw. read here about the AutoHue procedure - too bad the VideoToaster FAQ website is gone.
and archive.org failes again, didnt recorded all of the website :/

#1) where is the jumper on the A4000 board ?

Last edited by emufan; 08 August 2016 at 20:12.
emufan is offline  
Old 09 August 2016, 00:53   #18
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,784
You can download the software from Open Video Toaster. The source code version and the complied floppy and CD images.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 09 August 2016, 05:48   #19
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Posts: 199
Well, I have a toaster with V4.1 software on it's way to me now, so let's hope it works!

BTW - it says you need 9Mb RAM to use the card (which my machine doesn't presently have) - is this to use all the features or to get it to connect at all? Anyone running a video toaster on less than 9Mb? (I'm on the pre-order list list for a Vampire II so this is just a temporary concern).

emufan - thanks again for the advice, I did contact Newtek but they simply said they didn't support lightwave on Amiga anymore. Maybe I'll get more luck seeking support for a card I own vs just looking for the standalone product...

Pyromania - thanks also, I'll check out he open-source link, at a glance it looked like all the video toaster utilities were there but not necessarily all the software packages (I saw no mention of Lightwave, for example, but I haven't looked closely yet).

Amiga_CDTV - your advice will come in handy when I try to get the card working with my A2000. And thanks for the nod of encouragement, I figured there would be some good will out there to see production done on an Amiga platform!
Marchie is offline  
Old 09 August 2016, 07:00   #20
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,784
Lightwave 3D is not on the Open Video Toaster website. I don't think the Video Toaster software will run at all if you have less than 9 MB.
Pyromania is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Toaster ...PAL?? jimbobrocks92 support.Hardware 18 02 July 2010 08:41
Wanted: Everything for Amiga Video Toaster zerec@hotmail.d MarketPlace 0 17 December 2009 12:51
What! A EuroDemo On a Amiga Video Toaster? Pyromania Amiga scene 1 18 December 2007 19:31
DiscreetFX brings you another classic NewTek video about the Amiga Video Toaster 2.0. Pyromania Amiga scene 3 12 October 2007 23:42
Attn ASM Coders: NewTek promo video for Amiga Video Toaster Pyromania Coders. General 1 02 June 2007 01:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39254 seconds with 13 queries