English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 May 2017, 08:13   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 403
Ctrl with Insert+Home to reset Amiga

Is it a hard or soft reset? What about the "Reset" button in the F12 dialog?

Come to think of it, didn't the Amiga only ever have one kind of reset, done with the Ctrl and Amiga keys only?
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 May 2017, 08:54   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,147
Keyboard reset is "soft" reset. Amigas don't have hard reset but GUI reset button forces hard reset. Ctrl+winkey+winkey+alt (or ctrl+insert+home+alt) is also hard reset in WinUAE.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 09:59   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,478
How do you define "hard reset"? Keybord reset connects the reset line to ground for a short time. For me this is a hard reset.
thomas is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 10:08   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,147
Hard reset = memory is cleared and hardware state is also fully reset (Normally most hardware registers keep their previous values after reset)

Software vs keyboard reset are very similar, both activate hardware reset line. (Main difference being if CPU continues execution or if CPU is forced to start from initial PC)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 11:03   #5
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Ctrl+winkey+winkey+alt (or ctrl+insert+home+alt) is also hard reset in WinUAE.
Is that both Ctrl keys or either one? And can it be Alt Gr (right key) instead of Alt?
Foebane is offline  
Old 17 May 2017, 19:44   #6
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 403
Can you confirm the keys I need for hard reset, please? As I asked in the above post.
Foebane is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 20:27   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,147
Both control keys and both alt keys are accepted.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 May 2017, 21:54   #8
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Both control keys and both alt keys are accepted.
Thank you, Toni.
Foebane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 can't reset from Ctrl+A+A, keyboard problem? MrD support.Hardware 7 28 October 2016 17:16
A1200 ctrl+Amiga+Amiga reboot won't work (and low sound) mawrick support.Hardware 10 28 October 2015 19:28
Amiga 4000D Ctrl-A-A not working. Turran support.Hardware 10 28 January 2013 10:42
A600 will not do a warm reset - Ctrl-Amiga - Amiga kipper2k support.Hardware 24 29 September 2009 13:02
Where is Amiga CTRL+c (d, e, f)? hexaae support.WinUAE 7 03 June 2007 11:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13055 seconds with 14 queries