English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 May 2017, 04:39   #1
fstltna
Indie Game Dev

fstltna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South San Francisco, US
Age: 50
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to fstltna Send a message via Yahoo to fstltna Send a message via Skype™ to fstltna
HD-Installable games?

Is there a chart listing the games that can be installed on a hard drive? Most just show a blank window or a ndos icon...
fstltna is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 May 2017, 06:33   #2
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,583
http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?N_hd=yes
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 06:34   #3
fstltna
Indie Game Dev

fstltna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South San Francisco, US
Age: 50
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to fstltna Send a message via Yahoo to fstltna Send a message via Skype™ to fstltna
Thanks!
fstltna is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 07:41   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,050
With WHDLoad even games NODOS you can install it on Hardisk
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 09:18   #5
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fstltna View Post
Is there a chart listing the games that can be installed on a hard drive? Most just show a blank window or a ndos icon...
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Even more games can be HD installed with WHDLoad (d/l game packs off the FTP server HERE). The games are actually HD fixed and made to run on pretty much any Amiga configuration. Here's a list of games HD fixed/patched using WHDLoad:

http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?B_whd=yes
DrBong is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 10:50   #6
fstltna
Indie Game Dev

fstltna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South San Francisco, US
Age: 50
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to fstltna Send a message via Yahoo to fstltna Send a message via Skype™ to fstltna
Ok, so that lists the whdload files, but where do i get the whdload versions?
fstltna is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 11:33   #7
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,583
Like DrBong said they are all here:
ftp://grandis.nu/Commodore_Amiga/Retroplay/

Instructions on loggin on grandis here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=43633
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 12:47   #8
fstltna
Indie Game Dev

fstltna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South San Francisco, US
Age: 50
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to fstltna Send a message via Yahoo to fstltna Send a message via Skype™ to fstltna
I seem to need a package to install WHDLoad, but when I download the /lha version it says that I need a "installer" for it. Can someone point me to a version of WHDLoad that has the installer and does not need the .lzx extractor? I need help getting this running
fstltna is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 12:54   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,679
Grab Installer44.10 from here and copy it to the C: folder of your Workbench.

http://kg.whdownload.com/kgwhd/files.php
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 19 May 2017, 16:04   #10
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 349
Does that chart only include games that have "official" hard drive installers on the floppies, or games that could be HD installed with some clever scripting and strategic ASSIGNs?

For a lot of the games that I had on my Amiga back in the day, I'd written little AmigaDOS scripts to install some DOS-based games to hard drive and included on the disks.

If I've got some time to dive into those again, would people here have any interest in seeing those scripts?
brett71 is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 23:33   #11
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,892
whdload installs also support games with official HD installs, for various reasons

- remove password protection (and others, like encryption to prevent from copying/archiving the installed game somewhere else)
- quit to the OS
- kickstart agnostic
- extra features, trainers, bugfixes...

So even when the game has a HD install, always prefer a whdload installed game, unless you don't have enough memory for full HD loading.

Those "assign" scripts are interesting for some CD32 releases where whdload cannot help or with a lot of flashing (and CD32load hardly helps because performance is bad on kickemu games with lots of small files for instance). But I suppose that earok & amigajay got that covered.
jotd is offline  
Old 19 May 2017, 23:54   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
So even when the game has a HD install, always prefer a whdload installed game, unless you don't have enough memory for full HD loading.
Or the WHDLoad install actually runs slower than the regular HD install or running it from disk , when that thing with blitter waits or whatever happens.
Akira is offline  
Old 20 May 2017, 00:28   #13
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
when that thing with blitter waits or whatever happens.
A lot of these problems have been fixed, i.e. patches were updated to allow disabling blitter wait patches. And those that aren't updated should be reported on the Mantis tracker so they can be updated too.
StingRay is offline  
Old 20 May 2017, 09:38   #14
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,892
Adding the blitwaits is hard work. But there's nothing easier than adding a switch to turn off the blitwaits (or detect 68000 CPU and not do it)... that of course, is done if people request it using Mantis, not if they moan in an obscure thread of EAB.
jotd is offline  
Old 20 May 2017, 12:13   #15
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,725
It is always that "easy" to speedup with disabling blitter wait patches? I thought it is more or less hard doing it. Dune2 seems to be a problematic game. C-Fou! tried to speedup the game but original install is still faster what is ok. IMO it doesn`t need to be changed. With Civilization it is similar. Further, games that need mouse input to be played have slow mouse speed under WHDLoad what seems to be can`t be changed. I guess it only effects on games that work in multitasking.
daxb is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 09:11   #16
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fstltna View Post
I seem to need a package to install WHDLoad, but when I download the /lha version it says that I need a "installer" for it. Can someone point me to a version of WHDLoad that has the installer and does not need the .lzx extractor? I need help getting this running
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Grab Installer44.10 from here and copy it to the C: folder of your Workbench.

http://kg.whdownload.com/kgwhd/files.php
Hopefully you've come to grips with the WHDLoad basics already, but if you haven't there's an old WHDLoad FAQ that might still be helpful:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=5267

Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Like DrBong said they are all here:
ftp://grandis.nu/Commodore_Amiga/Retroplay/

Instructions on loggin on grandis here:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=43633
Yep! Alternatively, try the link below if you're getting a browser prompt for log/pass and prefer not to to use a FTP client.

https://is.gd/Lm2PWj
DrBong is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 18:09   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
And those that aren't updated should be reported on the Mantis tracker so they can be updated too.
Yeah I wish people would use Mantis more.
The other problem I see is that sometimes someone gets a hold of the report, but never does anything for it and you kind of lose track of what you reported or not (this happens to me).
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
But there's nothing easier than adding a switch to turn off the blitwaits (or detect 68000 CPU and not do it)
What about games that have slowdowns on higher than 68030 machines? Stuff like Zool 2 AGA which is still slower than the floppy release. Can that be fixed? I never understood if it is possible. Would this work?
Akira is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 21:01   #18
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,892
The slowdowns on 68030+ machines are another issue I never fully understood. One of those issues is related to running the code from chip memory AFAIK. So the fix is relocating the code in fast memory, but it's not always easy because some games are hardcoded to use chipmem only / have chip-only segments.

I relocated a few CD32 games to fastmem with great results: Body Blows CD32 and Chaos Engine CD32 but that was a lot of work because you must avoid relocating gfx/sound related data to fastmem or the game crashes/you have no video/no sound.

I think SWOS also suffers from this issue, and it depends on the CPU boards.

@daxb it is probably NOT blitterwaits. Yes, some games are reported slower on whdload/kickfs than on original DOS HD, even when running from fastmem...

So different causes, same effect.
jotd is offline  
Old 22 May 2017, 23:30   #19
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
So even when the game has a HD install, always prefer a whdload installed game, unless you don't have enough memory for full HD loading.
Not always.

WHDload takes over the machine, which is fine with DOS-killing games, but with system-friendly games, it's sometimes nice to be able to run them and switch to the Workbench for something else.
idrougge is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD installable Pinball Dreams xArtx request.Old Rare Games 4 29 January 2015 09:45
Good HD Installable games for 1mb Amiga fitzsteve Retrogaming General Discussion 19 16 April 2011 09:43
Gearworks is HD installable haynor666 HOL data problems 3 11 December 2010 13:22
Apidya HD installable rare_j support.Games 20 15 October 2009 10:54
A600 HD installable Workbench 2.1 Peter Leyland Amiga scene 6 15 February 2003 15:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26516 seconds with 14 queries