English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

Old 20 February 2013, 00:10   #1
strim
NetBSD developer

Connecting FTDI FT245R to clockport

Hello.

I'm trying to build a simple Amiga-PC interface using FT245R chip and CoolRunner II CPLD. Unfortunately, I'm still a VHDL noob and my interface is not working very well.

I wrote a VHDL module looking like this. Reading data from FT245R FIFO is implemented in naive way but works correctly.

Writing appears to work at first, but there are weird transmission errors, which occurs only when byte values are changing, for example:
Code:
Amiga -> PC
0x72 -> 0x72
0x72 -> 0x72
0x72 -> 0x72
0x71 -> 0x73
0x71 -> 0x71
0x71 -> 0x71
0x72 -> 0x73
0x73 -> 0x73
0x66 -> 0x66
0x66 -> 0x66
0x44 -> 0x46
0x42 -> 0x42
0x40 -> 0x78
0x38 -> 0x3e
0x36 -> 0x36
0x34 -> 0x34
If I'm trying to send the same byte all the time there are no errors. For some reason it occurs only when byte values are changing...

Any ideas?
Old 20 February 2013, 01:26   #2
Stedy

Hi,

You need to connect your VHDL signals to the I/O pins.
Adding iord, iowr and cs to the sensitivity lists of your processes will help wake them up.

What toolset are you using?

Xilinx ISE will not synthesize your code, ERROR:Xst:528 - Multi-source in Unit <clockportFifo> on signal <fifoRd>; this signal is connected to multiple drivers.

It's past my bedtime, will lok again when rested.

Ian
Old 20 February 2013, 02:38   #3
strim
NetBSD developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stedy View Post
Hi,

You need to connect your VHDL signals to the I/O pins.
Adding iord, iowr and cs to the sensitivity lists of your processes will help wake them up.
Since cpWrite signal is derived directly form CS and IOWR, do I really need to add these signals separately into sensitivity list?

Quote:
What toolset are you using?
Xilinx ISE WebPack 14.3 Linux64

Quote: