English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2005, 09:29   #1
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 47
Posts: 845
Workbench 3.0 - Freeing up more memory

Can anyone help me configure my Startup-sequence to remove any unnecessary commands, etc as I want to try and get as much spare memory as possible (too tight to upgrade memory yet!). My Startup-Seuquence is listed below and I only want enough bits and bobs loaded to run WHD/JST, etc.

THANKS!

; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 40.2 (25.2.93)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems
C:SetPatch QUIET
C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21
C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ
Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign L3: dh1:puzzle/l3
Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER
Assign F15II(GAME): DH1:Simulation/F15II
Assign F15II(SCENARIO): DH1:Simulation/F15II
Assign "Birds of Prey:" dh1:simulation/BOP
Assign SILENTA: DH1:SSII
Assign SILENTB: DH1:SSII
assign KOTS1: dh1:simulation/kots ;KOTS, (c) MPS 1991
assign KOTS2: dh1:simulation/kots
BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info)
IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
EndIF
C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s"
Execute T:M
C:Delete >NIL: T:M
EndIF
SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart
C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
C:IPrefs
C:ConClip
Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities
IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF
Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE
C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:


edited to emove "smile options"

Last edited by woody57; 08 November 2005 at 10:52.
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 08 November 2005, 09:31   #2
vroom6sri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Age: 47
Posts: 845
Um... sorry about those silly faces. I didn't think about the smiley shortcuts/key strokes!
vroom6sri is offline  
Old 08 November 2005, 10:38   #3
thomas
Registered User
 
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroom6sri
Um... sorry about those silly faces. I didn't think about the smiley shortcuts/key strokes!
Don't post excuses. Just use the edit button to enable the "disable smilies" option.


As for the startup-sequence, all of the user assigns you have added there belong into user-startup instead. Startup-sequence is a black box which must not be changed.

To free up as much memory as possible I'd use this script:

Code:
FailAt 21
C:SetPatch QUIET
assign RAM: dismount
delete >nil: "Work:Ram Disk" all quiet force
makedir "Work:Ram Disk"
assign RAM: "Work:Ram Disk"
C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ
Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
  Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF
C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:
To get the Ram Disk icon back, create a drawer icon and save it as Work:Ram Disk.info, then leave it out to the desktop.

Note that this startup script is for games only. You can no longer change the prefs, have advanced screenmodes (like Picasso96), view pictures and listen to sounds using datatypes and have mountable devices like the CD-ROM drive.
thomas is online now  
Old 08 November 2005, 21:54   #4
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 965
@Thomas: Nonsense. You can change the startup-sequence as much as you like. Granted, it makes more sense to have the assigns in the user-startup (or even better, in a script file that's executed when you load the game, so they're only used when necessary), but it's often absolutely necessary to change the startup-sequence (when installing programs that have to run before IPrefs or SetPatch, for example). I've tweaked my startup-script like crazy to get the computer to boot those few seconds faster.

@Vroom: One way you can save a tiny bit of memory using your startup-sequence is to remove the monitors section (assuming you only use a TV). These are completely unnecessary:

IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
EndIF
C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s"
Execute T:M
C:Delete >NIL: T:M
EndIF

As for creating a script that will run just WHDLoad or JST, you're better off stripping it down completely. Start off by booting with no startup-sequence, use the shell to navigate to the correct dir, then run WHDLoad from the commandline (something like WHDLoad -slave MyGame.slave). As it's loading, you should be able to see what it expects to have already been set up (ENV: assigned to RAM: for example, or SetPatch already run). You could probably get away with a startup-sequence like this:

C:SetPatch QUIET
Assign ENV: RAM:
Assign T: RAM:
C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:

There's no point in running the user-startup just for WHDLoad or JST as they don't need any assigns (if I remember correctly).

Last edited by ant512; 08 November 2005 at 22:00.
ant512 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Memory or Memory Compactor Leandro Jardim support.Apps 2 29 May 2012 23:12
Blizzard Turbo Memory - SMD memory chips doesn't work sanjyuubi Hardware mods 5 26 May 2010 15:40
[68000 ASM] Move memory to memory AmigaBoy Coders. General 7 08 December 2009 08:16
Freeing up even more RAM? Muzer project.ClassicWB 2 13 September 2009 13:42
DMA memory to memory copy BlueAchenar Coders. General 14 22 January 2009 23:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:35.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09791 seconds with 15 queries