English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 June 2011, 17:08   #1
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 35
Posts: 600
Wingman Gamepad

Have anyone tried this gamepad for Amiga:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1034

It seems to be some kind of rip-off from Logitech's same name PC pad. Does anyone know is it any good? It looks quite interesting...
Old Fool is offline  
Old 13 June 2011, 17:23   #2
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,737
These are brand new stock that we have converted for use with the Classic Amiga models (no longer can be used on USB).
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 13 June 2011, 18:06   #3
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 35
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
These are brand new stock that we have converted for use with the Classic Amiga models (no longer can be used on USB).
So these are the same ones that are once sold for PC and now circuits and cables are modified to fit Amigas?

Do these controllers support second fire button (so called Mega Drive pad feature) so it could be used games like Project-X to change weaponry via pressing joypad button? There seems to be 6 fire buttons. Is there switch to choose autofire or is there any button modified to use it as an auto fire option?
Old Fool is offline  
Old 13 June 2011, 18:36   #4
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,737
Yes, the six buttons we have divided into two sets A and B fire, ideal for games such as Project-X
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 15 June 2011, 01:52   #5
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,467
I've just ordered one, I'll let you know what I think of it
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 June 2011, 16:18   #6
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 35
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I've just ordered one, I'll let you know what I think of it
Thanks mate! Let me know. If they are good I'll probably need two or three of them. My favourite is gamepad called Tecno Plus made for Amiga and Commodore products. I don't like joysticks at all so I'm looking for the best possible joypad to use with Amy.
Old Fool is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 02:23   #7
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,467
Well it looks nice, feels great in the hands (much better than the nasty CD32 controller).

The wire looks like a good conversion, so to sum it up it's great.

Only question is how the button mapping works, so far I've only been able to get one button to do anything, anyone know of any Amiga games that support more than one button?

CD32 games don't seem to be able to use the extra buttons either and as it doesn't come with any kind of a manual I've got no clue what buttons are supposed to be supported?

Any ideas AmigaKit?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 02:50   #8
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
i have 3 wingmans game pads here, is it easy to convert them? Actually they are wingman rumble pads. Not that i don't want to give the business but if i have them might as well use them on the miggy right .. or a usb converter?

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 04:42   #9
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 2,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
These are brand new stock that we have converted for use with the Classic Amiga models (no longer can be used on USB).
Whatever happened to the Micro Switched Python Joysticks, do you still supply them?
blade002 is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 10:14   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,625
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Well it looks nice, feels great in the hands (much better than the nasty CD32 controller).

The wire looks like a good conversion, so to sum it up it's great.

Only question is how the button mapping works, so far I've only been able to get one button to do anything, anyone know of any Amiga games that support more than one button?

CD32 games don't seem to be able to use the extra buttons either and as it doesn't come with any kind of a manual I've got no clue what buttons are supposed to be supported?

Any ideas AmigaKit?
You cant use all buttons on CD32, only Fire 1 and 2 are supported.

A, X, and both shoulders = Fire 1.
B and Y = Fire 2.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 10:45   #11
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Its a real shame you couldn't have made them CD32 compatible, we need some more choice for our 32's

Otherwise its overpriced HoneyBea's on eBay.

Also, I just bought a couple of the original USB version to use on mu uA1 and they work great, obviously I can't speak for the conversion but the pads them selves are solid and accurate.

I've always been a fan of Logitech products as they're well made.

Steve.

@Novacoder:

PrjectX SE is 2 button as are Super Street Fighter II, Gloom and Skelton Krew. Must be loads more I can't think of right now!

Some games you need to go to the options and chooseb '2 Button' Gloom has this option for example as do SFII and Skelton Krew.

Oh and Emulators like AmiMAsterGear support 2 Buttons (Choose standard Pad, looks like Megadrive in the pic)

Also ADoom supports 2 Buttons by defauilt, 2nd button opens doors.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 15 July 2011 at 10:51.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 11:32   #12
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 39
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Its a real shame you couldn't have made them CD32 compatible, we need some more choice for our 32's
+1 for this. Going to Ebay and paying £25+ for an old pad that can break the next day is a no no for me.
Jimbo is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 12:05   #13
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,625
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Its a real shame you couldn't have made them CD32 compatible, we need some more choice for our 32's

Otherwise its overpriced HoneyBea's on eBay.

Also, I just bought a couple of the original USB version to use on mu uA1 and they work great, obviously I can't speak for the conversion but the pads them selves are solid and accurate.

I've always been a fan of Logitech products as they're well made.

Steve.

@Novacoder:

PrjectX SE is 2 button as are Super Street Fighter II, Gloom and Skelton Krew. Must be loads more I can't think of right now!

Some games you need to go to the options and chooseb '2 Button' Gloom has this option for example as do SFII and Skelton Krew.

Oh and Emulators like AmiMAsterGear support 2 Buttons (Choose standard Pad, looks like Megadrive in the pic)

Also ADoom supports 2 Buttons by defauilt, 2nd button opens doors.
Apidya, .

Dont forget the WHDLoad slaves, that the authors have added 2nd button support to.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 July 2011, 12:09   #14
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Apidya, .

Dont forget the WHDLoad slaves, that the authors have added 2nd button support to.
Yep PrjectX SE, Super Street Fighter II and Skelton Krew I'm playing though WHDLoad. The latter two also support CD32 Pads as well in the options manu's
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 February 2012, 15:24   #15
Old Fool
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampere
Age: 35
Posts: 600
OK, thanks for the info NovaCoder! Hmm, no autofire option then. That's a shame and waste of buttons then. Well, have to think about it! I like Logitech products nevertheless...
Old Fool is offline  
Old 12 February 2012, 02:22   #16
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,737
We have thd Boomerang CD32 joypad new in stock which caters for the CD32 users
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 13 February 2012, 15:41   #17
PopoCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 332
Few games with two-button pad support:
- XP8
- Turrican I, II and 3
- Banshee
PopoCop is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone ever fixed a gamepad? mancity support.Hardware 5 26 May 2012 14:13
Gravis Gamepad? Cooljerk Retrogaming General Discussion 0 30 January 2012 04:30
Better gamepad detection Maren request.UAE Wishlist 8 25 November 2009 18:03
WinUAE and Wingman RumblePad ltp support.WinUAE 2 08 September 2009 22:32
Gamepad problem kemppe New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 09 November 2002 11:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08140 seconds with 15 queries