English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 November 2019, 02:58   #3181
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Added the new "Alpha" version for Aros 68k to support icon dragging with transparency in Wanderer by using the alpha channel. This setting has to be enabled in the Wanderer preferences. Add "RemLib >NIL: icon.library" and IconsToFastMem to your startup-sequence (see Readme).
- "Alpha" version for Aros 68k does not use def_icons (see icon ram on screenshot, with icon.library Aros 68k Work)

- "RemLib >NIL:icon.library" generates error, see screenshot

- Loadmodule LIBS:Icon.library + "RemLib >NIL: icon.library" no error shown in the screenshot


Question: Which position should the RemLib and IconsToFastMem commands be placed in in the startup-sequence?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 16 December 2019 at 09:28.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 12:17   #3182
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
- "Alpha" version for Aros 68k does not use def_icons (see icon ram on screenshot, with icon.library Aros 68k Work)
Aros reads def_icons directly from ENVARC:Sys, but my Lib uses ENV:Sys like OS 3.1.4/3.5/3.9. The copying of the def_icons is disabled in the Aros startup-sequence, comment that "PAT" stuff out:
Code:
Copy >NIL: "ENVARC:" "ENV:" ALL NOPRO NOREQ ; PAT "~(def_#?.info)"
Quote:
- "RemLib >NIL:icon.library" generates error, see screenshot
Which icon uses "IconX" and what type of icon is that? Project or not?

Quote:
- Loadmodule LIBS:Icon.library + "RemLib >NIL: icon.library" no error shown in the screenshot
You shouldn't do that. It makes not much sense.

Quote:
Question: Which position should the RemLib and IconsToFastMem commands be placed in in the startup-sequence?
RemLib should be called at the top of the startup-sequence, at least above SetPatch. IconsToFastMem can be called somewhere below IPrefs, before Wanderer is started.
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 17:45   #3183
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Aros reads def_icons directly from ENVARC:Sys, but my Lib uses ENV:Sys like OS 3.1.4/3.5/3.9. The copying of the def_icons is disabled in the Aros startup-sequence, comment that "PAT" stuff out:
Code:
Copy >NIL: "ENVARC:" "ENV:" ALL NOPRO NOREQ ; PAT "~(def_#?.info)"
OK solved by adding a simple and fast command: "Assign Add ENV: ENVARC:"

Quote:
Which icon uses "IconX" and what type of icon is that? Project or not?
Ok Solved, your icon.library modified the tooltypes (from project to tools) of an application in my WBSTartup running a script.

The resolution was going up the toltypes on an OS 3.9, now the icon works well without being changed.

N.B. On AROS 68k there are no tools to edit Toltypes (project, tool, folder etc..) and also the CLI or WB option if it is not set you have to add manually in the Tooltypes, I hope to explain it otherwise I make a video.


Peter, do you like these new icons of mine?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 07 April 2020 at 20:36.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 19:26   #3184
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
OK solved by adding a simple and fast command: "Assign Add ENV: ENVARC:"
Not sure whether that is a good idea or not? And loading def_icons from ENV: is faster.

Quote:
Ok Solved, your icon.library modified the tooltypes (from project to tools) of an application in my WBSTartup running a script.
Usually, this should only happen if an icon has no "default tool" entry.

Quote:
N.B. On AROS 68k there are no tools to edit Tooltypes (project, tool, folder etc..) and also the CLI or WB option if it is not set you have to add manually in the Tooltypes ...
Since I don't use Wanderer, and DOpus5 has that feature already, I've never tried to install SwazInfo or similar tools on Aros yet:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ht=seticontype

Quote:
Peter, do you like these new icons of mine?
A very nice "black hole" or "dark mode". Cool!
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 21:40   #3185
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Not sure whether that is a good idea or not? And loading def_icons from ENV: is faster.
I think an Assign is faster since he doesn't have to copy anything, or is he wrong?

Quote:
Usually, this should only happen if an icon has no "default tool" entry.
On AROS 68k and x86 when you create an icon you can't change anything, in many cases on my distros I had to put them on OS3. Fortunately, a version of CopyIcon works on AROS 68k

Quote:
I've never tried to install SwazInfo or similar tools on Aros yet:
No tested programs work, SwazInfo and RAWBInfo just run block the icon information.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 22:27   #3186
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
The Wanderer interface for WBInfo plugins is probably different than that from WB.

But I found a working solution for Wanderer and Aros 68k:
http://aminet.net/package/util/dir/icontype

Copy the instruction IconType into C: and then call it from a shell or with IconX:
Code:
IconType `requestfile`

IconType ´requestfile´
IconType 'requestfile'
Use the french accent grave (then type on space), not the single quotation mark or apostrophe.

Last edited by PeterK; 01 December 2019 at 00:04.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 00:05   #3187
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
Thanks Peter, IconType works well, I installed it on Dopus4 so I think it's easier to change functions to icons (see screenshot).

AROS is strange though, if you copy a Tool icon, Project etc. as a folder icon, the icon despite having several functions behaves like a Drawer icon

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 16 December 2019 at 09:28.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 00:13   #3188
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
Yes, Wanderer is always a wonderer!

Ok, with a DOpus4 button or function IconType should also work nicely.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 00:19   #3189
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Yes, Wanderer is always a wonderer!
Yes, in fact, if with Icontype I change the function to a folder icon, this even if it changes function if I click opens the folder anyway
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 00:28   #3190
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
No, if there is an existing directory with the same name and the icon has no "default tool" entry then my library automatically converts the type to "drawer". I did that because all of Ken's icons are of type "project", even all the icons for drawers.

Last edited by PeterK; 01 December 2019 at 00:39.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 00:41   #3191
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
I don't know if I understand you correctly. I meant this, see video


https://drive.google.com/open?id=1hN...w7V0bHW0xtLxPl
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 00:49   #3192
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
Thank you, now I understand what you mean. Changing a "drawer" icon into a "project" icon should indeed result in a different behavior, asking you for the "default tool", or if it exists, execute it. Not doing that is a bug.

But is there really a "default tool"? No, there is no entry for a "default tool" in your icon!
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 00:54   #3193
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
Yes, but the strange thing is that this happens only if you set "project" other functions using IconType are not accepted and the icon remains Drawer
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 00:58   #3194
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
If you change only the icon (without the presence of the folder) icontype can set any function
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 01:07   #3195
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
I could change a drawer icon to type "project" and could also add a "default tool" like "Sys:utilities/Multiview" and it was saved in the icon, but Multiview was not called. Instead the drawer was opened again as you said, which is a bug.

Changing the type to "tool" makes no sense as long as there is a drawer with that name.

But changing it to "garbage" should work, but it does not.

Last edited by PeterK; 01 December 2019 at 01:36.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 01:42   #3196
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
But changing it to "garbage" should work, but it does not.
With IconType the conversion to "garbage" works, it is important that the drawer icon is single without the folder.

I am using your icon.library

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 16 December 2019 at 09:28.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 11:04   #3197
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
But a trashcan really needs a drawer where you can put your garbage in. Maybe Aros wants to manage that waste bin.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 11:37   #3198
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
No I meant that the only icon without folder, can be modified with any function. If instead it is present the folder accepts only the project works

On AROS x86 there is a utility called Processicon but it seems not to work, if I understand correctly also confirm HERE
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 11:56   #3199
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,252
Found another oddity on AROS x86, see video

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1YE...lXeJItdOnDhIAf

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 01 December 2019 at 12:03.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 11:58   #3200
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: digital hell, Germany, after 1984, but worse
Posts: 3,378
Sorry Carlo, I can't help you with Aros x86 since I'm a Windows user. On my Amiga system I'm using the 68k version of ProcessIcon together with PIconTools from time to time, mostly to display additional icon information like position, size, number of colors etc. via context menu. I've also tried to install Report+ on Aros 68k, but it doesn't work (asks for OS 3.9 BB2).

Open your original Test.info with a Hex-Editor and look at offset $30. If that byte is $2 then its type is "drawer", $4 is type "project", and that's what you will probably find there. Icon Information calls icon.library, which corrects the type to "drawer" in case that there exists a folder with that name but no "default tool" entry for a project.

Last edited by PeterK; 01 December 2019 at 12:11.
PeterK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
WB library conflict/versions Amiga1992 support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:18.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.29192 seconds with 16 queries