English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 February 2013, 11:46   #1
vext01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 137
Converting between directory and .hdf emulated hard disks.

Hi,

In the future I plan to build a hard disk image which I plan to dd onto a CF card for a real Amiga.

It is pretty convenient to use a directory on the host system and mount it as a hard disk under fs-uae. This way I can use my system's native lha packages to extract stuff and much faster.

However, one can not dd a directory to a compact flash, so is there a way to convert between these two representations? One idea I had was to use (within AmigaDOS) 'copy hd0: hd1: all' where hd0 is a directory mounted disk and hd1 is a .hdf mounted disk. Something tells me this will be slow(?).

Any ideas?

Cheers

PS.

Is there a way to create .info files (required to make icons visible under workbench) from the host system?

Looking forward to the 2.0 release. Keep up the good work.
vext01 is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 13:10   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by vext01 View Post
One idea I had was to use (within AmigaDOS) 'copy hd0: hd1: all' where hd0 is a directory mounted disk and hd1 is a .hdf mounted disk.
This is the preferred way.



Quote:
Something tells me this will be slow(?).
I never saw FS-UAE in action, but WinUAE is lightning fast. Copying files (only used parts of a partition) is much faster than dd (copying unused parts, too).



Quote:
Is there a way to create .info files (required to make icons visible under workbench) from the host system?
Just copy another .info file of the required type
thomas is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 18:16   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by vext01 View Post
One idea I had was to use (within AmigaDOS) 'copy hd0: hd1: all' where hd0 is a directory mounted disk and hd1 is a .hdf mounted disk. Something tells me this will be slow(?).
It will probably be fast enough for you I also think the question of performance is somewhat irrelevant, because this is really the only practical way for you to do this!
FrodeSolheim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display problem in emulated A1200 with Hard Disk Zagrebista support.WinUAE 4 15 February 2012 21:41
Directory drive and hdf compatibility yaromir support.WinUAE 2 23 September 2011 11:34
Converting disks to ADFs Excelle support.WinUAE 12 28 August 2002 12:59
How do I transfer my ADF files to my (emulated) hard disk? Backyard_Rob New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 07 June 2002 14:18
converting Amiga disks to PC rOuGh New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 15 November 2001 22:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06532 seconds with 15 queries