English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 April 2017, 17:19   #1
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 36
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
Floppy disk External floppy drive

Hi all

Ive been out if the Amiga game for quite a while now... can someone help with a strange issue...?

I have modified a Sony MPF920 floppy drive which works fine if fitted internally in an A600 or 1200.
As soon as I fit it as external it doesnt seem to work, it does the ready click but doesnt seem to be recognised as another drive.
At the back of the external housing, it has:

A0B on the left and 0 1 on the right.

Ive tried every combination I can think of, but I assume it should be set at A0 as in first external?

Also, it has prevented the internal drive from working, which I assume was a conflict?

Thanks in advance
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 26 April 2017, 17:43   #2
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 945
On the Sony I modified I moved the JC31 bridge to JC30 so the it boots at DF0 so perhaps you just put the bridge back to JC31 as a guess so it boot externally as DF1, someone here will clarify hopefully
supaduper is offline  
Old 26 April 2017, 18:22   #3
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 36
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
On the Sony I modified I moved the JC31 bridge to JC30 so the it boots at DF0 so perhaps you just put the bridge back to JC31 as a guess so it boot externally as DF1, someone here will clarify hopefully
Aahh that would make sense.

I can always try it and see what happens.
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 27 April 2017, 06:26   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,411
How did you fit it as external? If you are using it in place of an existing external drive, you should look at the old drive mechanism to see what select it is set to.
Jope is offline  
Old 27 April 2017, 08:41   #5
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 36
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
How did you fit it as external? If you are using it in place of an existing external drive, you should look at the old drive mechanism to see what select it is set to.
Hi

Yes it is replacing an existing that died.
Sorry but what do you mean by checking the mechanism?
AliasXZ is offline  
Old 27 April 2017, 09:07   #6
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 945
What he means on some Sony drives there is a jumper on the back of the drive which you use to select drive 0 or 1

Last edited by supaduper; 27 April 2017 at 11:51.
supaduper is offline  
Old 27 April 2017, 11:23   #7
AliasXZ
Guru meditator
AliasXZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Huddersfield
Age: 36
Posts: 166
Send a message via MSN to AliasXZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
What he means on some Sony drives there is a jumper on the back of the drive which you use to select drive 1 or 2
Ah sorry, it doesnt seem to have jumpers
AliasXZ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IBM Floppy drive -> External Amiga floppy drive? Rampage support.Hardware 9 14 January 2019 15:54
Wanted: Amiga External Floppy Drive Case/Housing with Interface (or dead drive) Starglider 2 MarketPlace 1 04 August 2015 15:53
Can I use external floppy drive as internal drive? Mrs Beanbag support.Hardware 6 12 December 2012 19:15
external floppy drive lambrettadave support.Hardware 27 21 October 2010 10:32
External Floppy Drive Washac support.Hardware 5 10 February 2010 20:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06928 seconds with 13 queries