English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 December 2012, 18:10   #21
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,017
rotate 180 degree the connector, i suppose the pin one on floppy are in the middle of drive not at dx
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 17 December 2012, 19:26   #22
SilverZguru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 11
Im not sure about the pin one on this drive. I have tried it both sides without luck. And yes, there isnt any kind of sign (red color, line, dot or anything) about pin one. I have other drive as well, but the cable is flex connector, so its harder to solder :P
When I watch your pic and compare it to my connection, it looks really same. Just connect 26 pin to 26pin :| but yeah, doesnt work
SilverZguru is offline  
Old 17 December 2012, 20:09   #23
SilverZguru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 11
Okay, because I am a computer freak, I found third laptop floppy drive xD So, I tested it and wow: DF1 isnt anymore "BAD" in workbench. The drive does get power correctly too because when I insert a disk it spins a little. But still, drive doesnt click nor reads disks. Is every floppy drive I have faulty or what??? This drive does indicate pins 26 and 1, so it cant go wrong side.

I'm sure the problem is the missing ready signal. But how can I mod a slimline drive? xD No any kind of idea...
SilverZguru is offline  
Old 17 December 2012, 21:30   #24
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
@SilverZguru and cpiac64,

Your external drive interface pcbs look identical in the pictures you have attached to your posts. Mine is somewhat different, and I will try to upload a picture of it tomorrow.

Pin 1 on both the pcb and floppy drive headers in my external drive is marked quite clearly, but the red stripe on the cable aligns with Pin 26! And the cable does not sit comfortably when it is inserted correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverZguru View Post
Okay, because I am a computer freak, I found third laptop floppy drive xD So, I tested it and wow: DF1 isnt anymore "BAD" in workbench. The drive does get power correctly too because when I insert a disk it spins a little. But still, drive doesnt click nor reads disks. Is every floppy drive I have faulty or what??? This drive does indicate pins 26 and 1, so it cant go wrong side.

I'm sure the problem is the missing ready signal. But how can I mod a slimline drive? xD No any kind of idea...
Well, at least you're making some progress. When I have tested my drive, whether it works or not, I'll try to investigate those issues.
prowler is offline  
Old 17 December 2012, 22:28   #25
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,017
new test with new drive teac fd-05hg (fru 36l8645), work fine
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 13:34   #26
SilverZguru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 11
Thanks for your interest to help me, Prowler

Say Cpiac64, have you done any kind of modifications to that laptop drive? Or do you just leave it unchanged and connect the wires of Roctec and laptop drive? Also have you modified the cable anyway?

Thanks!
SilverZguru is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 15:05   #27
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,017
i connected pin to pin the main Roctec to unmodified floppy, next test i use a normal 34 pin floppy
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 16:34   #28
SilverZguru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 11
Does the drive work perfectly? I mean, mine doesn't click when im on workbench, or it wont read disks
SilverZguru is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 22:45   #29
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,017
the slim drive work fine, click, read and write floppy

i can send one if you need

tomorrow i receive 3 cable for external drive (390501700580 ebay.de) i need verify and modify for 34 or 26 pin floppy drive

Last edited by cpiac64; 18 December 2012 at 23:01.
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 25 March 2014, 16:34   #30
chapas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lisbon/Portugal
Posts: 17
Hello,
this thread is a bit old, but someone might look into it, as it contains info regarding my problem, otherwise I'll just start a new one.
I have and Amiga external floppy drive, that has a 26 pin IDC plug from the controller to the floppy, the floppy drive has died.
So after reading this thread i still have a question, can i use a 34 pin floppy drive with a converter? Which schematic shall I use to built it?

Thanks,
chapas
chapas is offline  
Old 25 March 2014, 16:52   #31
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,017
problem of your drive?
do you have changed the belt?
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 25 March 2014, 17:14   #32
chapas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lisbon/Portugal
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpiac64 View Post
problem of your drive?
do you have changed the belt?
I really don't know the problem, never open it.
A belt change might fix it, just don't know, thinking only in replacing cos' I have a spare with 34 pin
chapas is offline  
Old 05 November 2016, 18:23   #33
macdanger
 
Posts: n/a
final (?) pinout setup

Hi guys,

this is my first post here and I want to contribute :-) Even this thread is very old it still helped me. but it didn't completely work for me so here is my final pinout translation for the ROCTEC 26 pin to normal 34 pin floppy. I also hat an external ROCTEC which failed but I wanted to use the external case for my HxC or other 34 pin floppy drives. This thread was extremly helpfull.

It is nearly the same as the one from prowler in Post 9 (http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=855138&postcount=9) but I additionally needed to connect pin 2 (/DCD) of the 34 connector to pin 6 of the 26 pin connector to make my floppies fully work with diskchange detection (clicking when no disk is inserted).
So it seems the final pin translation should look like this:

Translate from 26 pin to 34 pin:
Code:
26-pin  Conne      34-pin               Signal
cable   cted?     interface     Name            Description
1        No                      VCC                +5V
2        Yes          8        /INDEX              Index
3        No                      VCC                +5V
4        Yes         10         /DS0           Drive Select 0
5        No                      VCC                +5V
6        Yes          2         /DSKCHG        Disk Change
7        Yes         12         /DS1           Drive Select 1
8        Yes         34         /RDY      Drive Ready/Disk Changed
9        No                                    Not Connected
10       Yes         16        /MTRON           Motor Enable
11       No                                    Not Connected
12       Yes         18         /DIR             Direction
13       Yes         13          GND               Ground
14       Yes         20         /STEP               Step
15       Yes         15          GND               Ground
16       Yes         22        /WDATA            Write Data
17       Yes         17          GND               Ground
18       Yes         24        /WGATE   Write Gate/Floppy Write Enable
19       Yes         19          GND               Ground
20       Yes         26         /TRK0             Track 0
21       Yes         21          GND               Ground
22       Yes         28         /WPT            Write Protect
23       Yes         23          GND               Ground
24       Yes         30        /RDATA            Read Data
25       Yes   25,27,29,31,33    GND               Ground
26       Yes         32        /SIDE1            Head Select
and by the way: it is not necessary to connect all the grounds as long as the 34 pin drive gets ground from the 5v power connector.

I hope this helps others as it helped me :-)

Cheers
Markus
 
Old 05 November 2016, 22:26   #34
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Thanks for your input, Markus!
prowler is offline  
Old 29 December 2017, 00:19   #35
Alectronic
 
Posts: n/a
Citizen osda 53b FDD 26pin to 34 pin interface

I recently build an Xcopy Amiga floppydisk to SD card copier into an old defect Compaq SLT/286 laptop. I removed the 26 pins Citizen OSDA 53b FDD and started to find out how to use it on a 34 pin interface.

Strangely I noticed that none of the presented 26 pin to 34 pin adapter changes suggested provide the old Compaq Citizen FDD of 5V over its 26 pin connector. Which seems unlogical tot say the least!
Besides the conversion presented seems wrong too because I have tracked all 26 pins on the FDD down by measuring what P112 pins of the 26 pins were connected on the Compaq mainboard going to a DP8473V FDD controller chip (4 x 13 pins).

This was what I found: pins 1 to 15 are gnd, pin 17 is RPM/LC, pin 19 is ?, pin 21 + 18 likely are +5V, pins 23 to 26 are connected with a Fujitsu Compaq 9014 114390-001 chip (4 x 30 pins) respectively to 13,2,3 and pin 12 of that chip. Data of that chip couldn't be found sadly.

Furthermore pin 2 is STEP, pin 4 is WDATA, pin 6 is WGATE, pin 8 is TRK0, pin 10 is WRT PROT, pin 12 is RDATA, pin 14 is HDSEL, pin 16 is DISKCHNG, pin 20 is INDEX, Pin 22 is DIR.

So that must explain why the drive in your tests won't work on Amiga.
 
Old 19 November 2020, 10:57   #36
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,439
I have successfully tested the following pinouts for a RF382C-A board:



I made an adapter board and mapped the 26-pin signals to the Amiga 34-pin floppy drive interface signals, and tested a 5V (PC converted) Amiga floppy drive and that has tested and worked OK.

Note: I didn't map pin 9 and 11 signals from the 26-pin interface. And I joined /MTRON and /INUSE pins on the 34-pin interface.

EDIT: Here are the pinouts 26-pin pinouts in text form:

Code:
VCC	1	2	/INDEX
VCC	3	4	/SEL0
VCC	5	6	/CHNG
VCC	7	8	/RDY
(NC?)	9	10	/MTRON
(Always High?)	11	12	DIR
GND	13	14	/STEP
GND	15	16	/DKWDB
GND	17	18	/DKWE
GND	19	20	/TRK0
GND	21	22	/WRPROT
GND	23	24	/RDATA
GND	25	26	/SIDE

Last edited by solarmon; 20 November 2020 at 09:39.
solarmon is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 13:05   #37
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,452
Attached for posterity, because EAB will naturally continue to exist forever and external links will just randomly disappear because of whatever reason.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	roctecpinout.png
Views:	72
Size:	78.8 KB
ID:	69764  
Jope is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 14:27   #38
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Attached for posterity, because EAB will naturally continue to exist forever and external links will just randomly disappear because of whatever reason.
Thanks.

I had stopped using picture attachments because I don't seem to have much storage space for my account for attachments. I only seem to have a 20MB limit?
solarmon is offline  
Old 19 November 2020, 15:15   #39
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,452
Mine's not very big either and the attachment handling is a mystery to me. This one was 80kB so I can have it hanging around in my quota. :-D
Jope is offline  
Old 21 November 2020, 22:35   #40
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,439
I've created the adapter board in KiCAD based on my mappings.

This is my first KiCAD project. I'm still learning so there may be a few issues with it.

You can find the KiCAD files at:

https://github.com/solarmon/PCB-Proj...oppy%20Adapter

I'd welcome any critique about the KiCAD design so that I can improve it.

This has NOT been printed and tested yet, so it is not the final release! So be warned.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	26-pin to 34-pin Amiga Floppy Adapter.png
Views:	83
Size:	178.8 KB
ID:	69778  
solarmon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: SCSI-1 50 Pin Hard drive christopherpm MarketPlace 2 08 July 2013 05:05
Wanted: SCSI hard drive (50-pin) 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 9 18 May 2011 22:01
23-pin to 9-pin video cable pinout MagerValp support.Hardware 9 22 August 2008 15:00
Amiga 2000 Floppy header keyed? (Broken pin #4) TjLaZer support.Hardware 1 13 June 2007 07:50
VGA Adapter 23 pin -> 15 pin High Density @UAE support.Hardware 11 16 October 2006 13:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.18252 seconds with 14 queries