English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2011, 16:19   #1
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Monitors dying :(

Black 1084S went a couple of years ago. switched off, never came on again
1084 on my c128 died a few weeks back (no sign of life when switched on)
CM8833-II - screen went mental a couple of days ago, and it makes a real high pitched sound inside when switched on now - black screen).

Got one working CM8833-II left.. ..

What do you suggest ?

Probably not worth repairing, as you can pick up em pretty cheap, but annoying. Pretty worthless broken anyway.

not really after support, but just wanted to post my frustrations here. annoying to lose so many monitors recently.

my 27" NEC multisync 4PG needs recapping and maintenance too. Wonder how much that will cost.

I guess I should go and get some lcdtvs, but the one I have already doesnt give the best picture. do you think I can take my a1200 into pcworld or something and try some out?
BuZz is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 16:28   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 6,599
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
The LCD TV (Non HD) that I've been using for the last 2 years for my Amiga's via RGB Scart just died yesterday

It was a great screen too, no flicker via RGB Scart with Interlaced modes & great for my consoles too.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 16:32   #3
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
RIP damn hardware! sounds like a good picture. my lcdtv has a interlace "shimmer" to it, that i think perhaps makes tv look better, but looks crappy for amiga (its ok for games but). looks a bit like if you use a 1084 monitor, and switched the interlace flag on without having interlaced bitplanes. I guess caused by whatever video processing chip it has - as the lcdtvs overlay menus are rock solid.
BuZz is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 17:20   #4
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 27
Posts: 657
I have a 22" LCD HDTV Goodmans that works with my 500+ and 600 fine.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 17:50   #5
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
which model # ?

one of the problems is, someone finds say a good LG screen, you go to buy it and its no longer available, replaced with a newer model number (but similar looking), and then you find the new monitor isn't as good. I'll take an a600 into a few shops or something ;-)

despite my issues with my current lcdtv it's still usable, but id like one with a more stable display, especially if im going to buy a couple of them for c64/amiga etc.
BuZz is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 17:52   #6
willbloke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Poole , Dorset
Posts: 134
I've been using an LG M227WDP with Stedys SCART cable , pretty good picture and it's a TV, and if you're really desperate you can plug a Mac or a PC in as well !
willbloke is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 18:11   #7
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
has anyone seen any lcd above 19" with a 4:3 ratio? Who decided widescreen was better for computers. for films maybe, but for coding, i need height not width!
BuZz is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 18:58   #8
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 40
Posts: 17,789
Now even netbooks have widescreen...
s2325 is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 18:58   #9
willbloke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Poole , Dorset
Posts: 134
Not for a few years I'm afraid .
It's all widescreen now .

I'll have a look on Monday , but I'm pretty sure you can run the LG in "narrow screen" if you want , so code in 4:3 and watch Freeview in 16:9 .
willbloke is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 19:10   #10
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 27
Posts: 657
I think my Goodmans is an LD22#### can't remember all of it.

I just use an RCA cable for mine, just the usual you would use with any electronic appliance.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 19:19   #11
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 45
Posts: 1,374
sad but true. most CRTs die because of plastic. the voltage converters inside usually are cast in plastic, which is meant as an insulator to prevent shortening the coil. if these would be ceramic, they would last "forever". but heat makes the plastic porous, because the plasticisers evaporate.

there is not much one can do, and getting these parts replaced is very costly and usually more expensive than buying a new CRT. looking at CRTs and LCDs at work... there's a reason CRT was invented. still much more responsive, more vibrant colors... but flat is modern.

you should find somebody that does repairs. maybe two or more can be frankensteined into one working model.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 20:05   #12
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,788
Some years my 1084S died so I bought one from a friend. Some time later it died too. Luckily I could repair one with the parts of the other. Problem for the future is to get a working 1084S. Otherwise a LCD-TV must be bought.
daxb is online now  
Old 23 July 2011, 23:05   #13
orange
Registered User
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 567
@BuZz

many LCDs have an option to rotate by 90 deg, but I guess you know that already..
orange is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 23:10   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,173
Sony Triniton FD/Wega Line CRTs, e.g. KV21xxxx. The last great picture tube from Sony. Sure, application user/programmer probably wants a monitor, but there is nearly nothing better for lores games.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 23 July 2011, 23:41   #15
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,948
My #1 tip for someone with a dying monitor will always be to check the switches before throwing them in the bin!

They simply fail mechanically inside, giving some in between state or never reaching the on state.

On 3 TVs/monitors last 20 years, all I had to do was swap or solder (permanently ON) the power switches to fix them - on RGB monitors there are often more switches though, to switch analog/digital RGB and input sources, which of course if the switch was bad could give the same symptoms as a bad on/off switch - no picture.

RGB circuitry can also go bad, so check with composite to get a good diagnose, and vice versa. With a composite enhancer it could be quite good even without RGB.

If you've done all that and it's up to measuring the kV (failed power supply), you might as well skip one step (and one risk of getting electrical shock) and throw it in the bin.

The best way when you have 0 real monitors left is to convince a store clerk to let you attach a PAL device (Amiga, PS1, PAL DVD player with PAL DVD Disc) to a number of screens to pick one out in a store. If they won't let you, have them promise to let you return it if it can't handle PAL.
Photon is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 17:16   #16
stevsurv
Beta 1.666
stevsurv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in 1985
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuZz View Post
Black 1084S went a couple of years ago. switched off, never came on again
1084 on my c128 died a few weeks back (no sign of life when switched on)
CM8833-II - screen went mental a couple of days ago, and it makes a real high pitched sound inside when switched on now - black screen).
Hi, I have got 2 1084s monitors here at home with the same problems. Both making high pitched noises and just a black screen. Check out the following links for some interesting info on this -

http://www.amiga.org/forums/archive/...hp/t-4087.html
http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=13372

This is interesting -

http://www.overclockers.com.au/wiki/...ault_Diagnosis

Found this on net. Try this link for CM8833-II repair manual.
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=RY7GJ782

This is 1084s monitor repair manual in pdf -
http://16-bits.org/amiga/1084s/1084s...ice_manual.pdf

Now, Please remember that there is DANGEROUS high voltage inside monitors!
stevsurv is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 17:58   #17
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 583
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange View Post
@BuZz

many LCDs have an option to rotate by 90 deg, but I guess you know that already..
my new lcd for my desktop machine can rotate (physically), it doesnt automatically rotate the picture though, which would need to be done from my gfxcard. Are you saying some lcdtvs have automatic picture rotation also ? still, I wouldnt want to constantly be rotating the monitor. I just like 4:3 ratio monitors on my older machines

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevsurv View Post
Now, Please remember that there is DANGEROUS high voltage inside monitors!
Thanks for the info. I certainly will have a read - although I'm not sure I want to mess with a monitor, im more of a software guy than hardware :-) I'll probably just try and give the broken monitors away and buy some replacements

Last edited by TCD; 24 July 2011 at 18:46.
BuZz is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 18:55   #18
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,627
Group buy.

I've got 3-4 monitors which need working on. Lets hire that local TV guy to fix all of them?
alexh is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 19:07   #19
willbloke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Poole , Dorset
Posts: 134
Heads up people .

Voltages in a CRT monitor will kill you to death , or worse .

Really , don't poke about unless you really know what you are doing !
willbloke is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 19:11   #20
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,627
I've heard that most of my life. It's not that bad.

Switch it off for a few hours and you'll be fine. Discharge with a ground wire if you're worried.

If you have to work on one live put one hand in your back pocket.
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old timers dying off Fred the Fop Nostalgia & memories 303 10 December 2020 14:21
Dying 1942 monitor? desantii support.Hardware 5 26 August 2010 17:10
A1200 dying alowe support.Hardware 19 03 May 2009 23:14
My A4000 is slowly dying? mfletcher support.Hardware 8 26 May 2008 08:54
Dead and dying! Mick_AKA support.Hardware 10 07 February 2003 07:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16329 seconds with 13 queries