English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2002, 07:02   #1
Pete
 
Posts: n/a
A2091 Help!

I've been trying to get a 2091 up and running with a 1gig scsi disk. So far I've tried it with 1.3 and 3.1 wb (w/ matching roms). It has two meg of ram and that shows up. Found and tried the drivers a2901hd (1.27 and 1.30). Tried without. Hdtoolbox never shows a drive. Made sure that tooltype had SCSI_DEVICE_NAME=scsi.device.

What am I doing wrong? The drive works on another machine.
Thanks in advance for any tips
 
Old 08 July 2002, 20:14   #2
Pete
 
Posts: n/a
I moved the drive over to my 590 and started a low level format (way too easy... using the 2091 install disk no less). I'm going to do an install of 1.3 on it. Since the 590 and 2091 are nearly identical twins (short of the bus) it should boot on the 2091. But I doubt it will... looks like I got a bum 2091. Only the memory works it looks like
 
Old 11 July 2002, 11:54   #3
brknck
Amiga Tinkerer
brknck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Zealand
Age: 44
Posts: 23
Check the termination on your A2091 board. If the SCSI drive is not terminated properly then it will not show up in HDToolbox etc.

This is the most common reason that the drive will work in your a590 and not the a2091.
brknck is offline  
Old 13 July 2002, 20:13   #4
Pete
 
Posts: n/a
Hello brknck, all terminators are on (both on the board and the drive). Even more of a problem is that using probescsi (the utility) errors out with scsi.device not found in device entries. Seems pretty fubar'ed.
 
Old 14 July 2002, 19:27   #5
shutter
Zone Friend
shutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: FR / Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 62
hi, what Version of the Eproms are on the 2091? remember u will need the latest Rev 7 Eproms for use with a A4000.

Seting Jumper 2 to AUTO will enable booting from the hd ,kickstart 1.3 and up

have a look with sysinfo if the scsi.device is present in the System.

Newer 68 Pin Harddrives (IBM) have no termination on the Drive ,u can use the only with an ACTIVE 68 to 50 Pin Converter.

cu
shutter is offline  
Old 15 July 2002, 02:00   #6
Pete
 
Posts: n/a
Hello Shutter. I'm using it in a 2000HD w/ 3.1. The roms are 6.6 (not a big problem for that combo I think). The drive I'm using is 1gb Seagate. However I've got a 40meg Quantum that's formatted (and loaded) to play with as well. Terminations doesn't seem to be the problem. scsi.device isn't found by hdtoolbox or probescsi.... that's bad.

Last edited by Pete; 15 July 2002 at 02:06.
 
Old 15 July 2002, 12:35   #7
brknck
Amiga Tinkerer
brknck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Zealand
Age: 44
Posts: 23
Hi Pete,

I have an A2091 in my A2000HD as well (sorry cant remember the ROM revision) along with Kickstart 3.1 and a A2630 25Mhz 030 Board and everything works fine - not what you want to hear i Know.

Another possible problem could be the Western Digital SCSI Controller chip itself, the early revisions (normally 4 on all a2091's and most a3000's) could be prone to fail and also had a number of bugs in them. Whether this is the problem or not I am not sure and do not know how to tell without getting another scsi controller chip from somewhere and trying it.

Two place that do stock the chips in the USA are:

www.centsible.com and www.softhut.com

Hope this is of some help.
brknck is offline  
Old 15 July 2002, 15:24   #8
Pete
 
Posts: n/a
Hello Brknck. I have a 590 w/ a Quantum 40S. I swapped the WD chip in from that (since it's working on scsi). No luck. Both are rev. 4's by the way. I made sure all chips are seated and reseated those I could. The board has been brought up to rev.4 specs (label "REV. 4.0 MODIFIED"). That might not mean much other than the WD chip though there is a wire from the 0k jumper pad to U5 pin10. Thanks for the response.
 
Old 16 July 2002, 05:47   #9
Pete
 
Posts: n/a
Some interesting details.... the board shows up as 2 entries in sysinfo:

mem brd mfg
$EA0000 64K ZORROII 3 ASDG
$600000 2048K ZORROII 10 ASDG

Anyone have one to compare with this? Thanks in advance
 
Old 17 July 2002, 08:36   #10
brknck
Amiga Tinkerer
brknck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Zealand
Age: 44
Posts: 23
Hi Pete

just fired up my a2000 and its a2091 in sysinfo comes up with the following:

$00E90000 64k Zorro II A2091/A590 Commodore 0

If your board is coming up saying it is from ASDG then you have problems. It should come up saying something similar to whats above except for the $00E90000 which will most likely be different.

The other problem which I completly forgot about is the roms on the board - these could be faulty or just not quite seated properly.

Although since it sounds like you know your way around the innards of the amiga and what you are talking about there is a good chance the card is as you feared dead.
brknck is offline  
Old 17 July 2002, 08:43   #11
brknck
Amiga Tinkerer
brknck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Zealand
Age: 44
Posts: 23
Two entries in sysinfo

Two entries in sysinfo is normal.

The 64k entry should be the SCSI part of the card and the other one since it is 2048k is your 2MB of memory.

You have two entries because the scsi device is configured as an i/o device and the memory is just added to the system memory pool.

Combining the two isnt possible due to os and hardware reasons I think (Dont quote me on it).


brknck is offline  
Old 17 July 2002, 15:15   #12
Pete
 
Posts: n/a
Hello Brknck. Thanks for the info! I was bothered by that sysinfo entry. Now that's confirmed. I've tried the roms from the 590 without any difference (v6.1). My guess is address decoding for the roms is bad or maybe there's a break somewhere (bad socket?). I guess it's just memory for now (seems to map ok) and an electronics trouble shooting project long term.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A2091 Roms desantii support.Hardware 7 01 July 2010 16:26
A2091 for sale again boing_1000 MarketPlace 2 27 October 2006 06:50
A2091 The Luney Bin support.Hardware 1 10 September 2002 00:17
a2091 hal support.Hardware 3 08 March 2002 21:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09321 seconds with 13 queries