English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 December 2009, 23:49   #1
desantii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 125
Overclocking A2630

Can a 2630 be overclocked by using a faster 030 plus a new crystal? Any thoughts

thanks
desantii is offline  
Old 03 December 2009, 03:51   #2
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 55
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Try it.

Worst thing it will not work. No need to replace the CPU.
rkauer is offline  
Old 03 December 2009, 08:26   #3
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 236
http://members.iinet.net.au/~davem2/...ock/a2620.html
MagerValp is offline  
Old 05 December 2009, 15:38   #4
desantii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 125
Very similar results to the article, just in case put in a 33mhz cpu. Tried a 33mhz crystal, no go.

Tried a 28mhz one, boot but unstable

Went back to 25mhz...
desantii is offline  
Old 12 February 2010, 13:05   #5
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Try this : http://a1k.org/a1000/

in "hardware Hacks / Eine A-2630 auf 30 MHZ Übertackten"
Cosmos is offline  
Old 14 February 2010, 20:14   #6
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Thanks !

I know a guy who have a 2630, but it's hard to persuade him to overclock... Don't know why... My 68030@16 is working perfectly at 40 Mhz, and absolutly not hot...

With this new GAL, 50 Mhz will be ok ?


For anyone, I'll flash for free any GAL, you only pay shipping !
Cosmos is offline  
Old 12 March 2010, 14:24   #7
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
I try today to put the new U505 with a 330 ohm resistor on U300 (10-14) but still not working at 33 Mhz !
Infinite reset !

Ok at 28, but it's not enough...


Anyone have an idea for 33 or more ?
Cosmos is offline  
Old 12 March 2010, 14:26   #8
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
>Try this : http://a1k.org/a1000/
>in "hardware Hacks / Eine A-2630 auf 30 MHZ Übertackten"

Not working too at 33 Mhz !


Cosmos is offline  
Old 12 March 2010, 14:29   #9
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Rom v7.0 on it... The last one ?
Cosmos is offline  
Old 12 March 2010, 14:46   #10
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
arg... The U505.pld if for PCB rev 3

My A2630 is rev 9 !


How to fix for this rev 9 ?
Cosmos is offline  
Old 26 April 2011, 00:43   #11
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 57
Posts: 567
A2630 @ 54.2 MHz mod!

Hello my fellow EABer's, I finally decided to upload images of my first accelerator speed up project. This is NOT a DIY thread! But it's the perfect thread for window shoppers.

This mod or hack if you prefer is 10x more complicated than my A3640 speedup hacks... and you would have to be crazier than me just to try it! But I haven't forgotten about the window shoppers so here is a brief summary of what very many hours of hard work and stupidity can accomplish:

- 68030 + 68882 @ 54.2 MHz
- Memory timing optimized for 70 ns DRAM
- Refresh cycle time reduced 2 clocks
- 68000 state machine optimized
- DKB2632 memory timing optimized with burst support @ 54.2 MHz
- DKB2362 memory modified for NOWRAP burst support
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A2630_54.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	449.7 KB
ID:	69287   Click image for larger version

Name:	DKB2632_54.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	439.1 KB
ID:	69288   Click image for larger version

Name:	A2630_AIBB54A.PNG
Views:	99
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	69289   Click image for larger version

Name:	A2630_AIBB54B.PNG
Views:	87
Size:	11.3 KB
ID:	69290   Click image for larger version

Name:	DKB2632_AIBB54A.PNG
Views:	92
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	69291  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DKB2632_AIBB54B.PNG
Views:	86
Size:	11.2 KB
ID:	69292  

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 13 October 2020 at 22:19.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 13 October 2020, 22:40   #12
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 57
Posts: 567
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Hell
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedGeek
@chiark:
I do have some pointers for this project but in order to make use of them you need a very strong technical background with logic design and excellent problem solving skills. (I'm talking about re-engineering the freakin board mate!... i.e. 100+ circuit changes)

You also need soldering and desoldering equipment, a DMM, a universal programmer for PAL modifications, schematics for the A2630 and a good parts supplier. You may also need to upgrade the A2000 motherboard to Rev 6+ and make adjustments to the A2000 power supply.

Also, since my memory has faded on this project and I don't want to be married to your upgrade project for years to come you will be sailing into uncharted waters all by yourself!
@ Thread

SpeedGeek did state on his OP that this was NOT a DIY project.

@ SG

Fully appreciate where you are coming from chap. Still a very impressive feat to say the least.

Kin

@Kin Hell:
Thanks for your support and understanding. I have decided to release an archive with the hope that everyone will realize what I have said is true and I had good reasons for advising them against this project.

To the person or party who downloads or extracts or uses the files contained in said archive.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED REPEATEDLY ABOUT THE USE OR MISUSE OF THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN SAID ARCHIVE. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY OF ANY KIND EXPRESSED OR IMPLIED. ANY USE OF THE ARCHIVE OR INFORMATION FROM SAID ARCHIVE IS ENTIRELY AT YOUR OWN RISK.

NOTE: There is enough information in the attached archive to overclock an A2630 past 28 Mhz. Whats missing is schematics for the final 52 Mhz changes and DKB2632 optimizations.

In summary, "There are gaping holes in this stuff!"
Dave Haynie
Attached Files
File Type: lha A2630SPEEDFIX.LHA (12.8 KB, 56 views)

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 11 November 2020 at 02:21.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 18 October 2020, 22:07   #13
DigitalKeeper
Registered User
DigitalKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 49
Thumbs up

Hi SpeedGeek!


Thx for this awesome Info's about the A2630

I would need this, coz some lack with the A2630 & A2091 with an A2000 Rev 6.2 Board -> "BUS load Problem's"
DigitalKeeper is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 00:13   #14
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 57
Posts: 567
@DigitalKeeper

I'm glad you found it useful.

@Thread

The A2630SpeedFix archive has been updated with a new U601EXP.jed because the previous one could cause a refresh timing glitch under certain conditions. However, the documentation is unchanged.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 00:46   #15
DigitalKeeper
Registered User
DigitalKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 49
Lightbulb

Please - have a look at the Archive - it has a Failure - can't depack the .jed File:



btw - my A2630 run stable at 30 MHz; more not tested yet
DigitalKeeper is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 02:24   #16
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 57
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalKeeper View Post
Please - have a look at the Archive - it has a Failure - can't depack the .jed File:



btw - my A2630 run stable at 30 MHz; more not tested yet
Sorry, I've uploaded it again. Hopefully, the archive is error free now.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 23 January 2021, 14:04   #17
tiim
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 40
Thread not dead yet!!

Dammit, I am REALLY tempted to screw with mine now. Wonder if the Individual Computers BigRam will still work with this improved speed. My 2630 has 100ns RAM on board.
tiim is offline  
Old 23 January 2021, 15:06   #18
SpeedGeek
Moderator
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 57
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiim View Post
Thread not dead yet!!

Dammit, I am REALLY tempted to screw with mine now. Wonder if the Individual Computers BigRam will still work with this improved speed. My 2630 has 100ns RAM on board.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=83432&page=2

Last edited by SpeedGeek; 24 January 2021 at 14:30. Reason: Removed highlight from link
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 24 January 2021, 05:40   #19
tiim
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedGeek View Post

Thanks, SpeedGeek.


That was a nice long read, I'm thinking I'll just keep the old board and be happy with it.



Last edited by SpeedGeek; 24 January 2021 at 14:29. Reason: Removed highlight from link
tiim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A2630 Rom orange support.Hardware 3 27 February 2015 21:42
Looking for ROMs for A2630 r9.1 and A2090A 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 3 28 February 2011 12:11
A2630 amber2000 support.Hardware 1 13 April 2008 00:07
A2630 accelerator for the A2000 DoogUK MarketPlace 6 12 April 2008 23:03
FS: A2630 Accelerator with 7.0 Roms Highwayman MarketPlace 0 22 July 2007 20:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09574 seconds with 16 queries