English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 March 2021, 18:46   #1
Enchanter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 6
3.1.4 version of diskdoctor

Hi there all,

Stupid question, how do you use the 3.1.4 version of diskdoctor to copy data from a failing floppy? I know its a CLI program, but I cannot find any details of the command line options to use and examples.

for instance, can I copy the data from a disk in df1: to a folder on my hard drive or ram drive, say ram:T/, if so, whats the command line for that?

thanks for any assistance.
I am sure I am missing something simple here!
Enchanter is offline  
Old 03 March 2021, 22:10   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,626
If that disk is important to you, don't use "diskdoctor". It will attempt to repair the disk you're using.

Use a modern multi-pass imaging tool. Dump the current readable contents. Analyse the results to see which side where approx the errors are and then perhaps physically clean that area of the disk.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 March 2021, 23:49   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If that disk is important to you, don't use "diskdoctor". It will attempt to repair the disk you're using.
That's not true. The 3.1.4 version is a complete rewrite. It's more like a modern version of DiskSalv, not comparable to the old DiskDoctor.
thomas is offline  
Old 04 March 2021, 10:56   #4
Olaf Barthel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lehrte, Germany
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enchanter View Post
Hi there all,

Stupid question, how do you use the 3.1.4 version of diskdoctor to copy data from a failing floppy? I know its a CLI program, but I cannot find any details of the command line options to use and examples.

for instance, can I copy the data from a disk in df1: to a folder on my hard drive or ram drive, say ram:T/, if so, whats the command line for that?
That would be:
Code:
diskdoctor copy df1: ram:T/
You might want to tell Disk Doctor to check what's up with the disk first, though, to get an idea of what to expect:
Code:
diskdoctor examine df1:
Please note that examining the disk/partition is the default operating mode for the new Disk Doctor.

If you have it, I strongly recommend using Disk Doctor 2.161 from the AmigaOS 3.1.4.1 update since it fixes a significant (and hard to find!) bug in the program which might otherwise impact the usefulness of the program...
Olaf Barthel is offline  
Old 04 March 2021, 14:04   #5
Enchanter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olaf Barthel View Post
That would be:
Code:
diskdoctor copy df1: ram:T/
You might want to tell Disk Doctor to check what's up with the disk first, though, to get an idea of what to expect:
Code:
diskdoctor examine df1:
Please note that examining the disk/partition is the default operating mode for the new Disk Doctor.

If you have it, I strongly recommend using Disk Doctor 2.161 from the AmigaOS 3.1.4.1 update since it fixes a significant (and hard to find!) bug in the program which might otherwise impact the usefulness of the program...
Thanks, I tried that command and got:
Code:
5.Ram Disk:> diskdoctor copy df1: ram:T/
DiskDoctor: wrong number of arguments
I had previously performed an analysis using examine. Does DoskDoctor use this analysis or is it cosmetic for my benefit?

Where would I get the 3.1.4.1 update?
I purchased 3.1.4 from a reseller not directly from Hyperion.

Thanks for your reply.
Enchanter is offline  
Old 04 March 2021, 14:49   #6
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,149
You can still register it with Hyperion using the serial number on the ROM chips and you can download the update from there.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 04 March 2021, 14:53   #7
Enchanter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 6
Hi again,
I also tried the command

Code:
diskdoctor copy from df1: to ram:T/
Which did run, however after the examination I received:

Code:
ERROR: Could not create destination directory "ram:T/" (object name invalid).
Best Regards,
Enchanter is offline  
Old 04 March 2021, 15:28   #8
gulliver
BoingBagged

gulliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 43
Posts: 2,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enchanter View Post
Hi again,
I also tried the command

Code:
diskdoctor copy from df1: to ram:T/
Which did run, however after the examination I received:

Code:
ERROR: Could not create destination directory "ram:T/" (object name invalid).
Best Regards,
A wise man (not me) once said:

It's probably the trailing "/", which ram-handler misinterprets as trying to create a nameless directory in "RAM:".
gulliver is offline  
Old 08 March 2021, 13:50   #9
Enchanter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
A wise man (not me) once said:

It's probably the trailing "/", which ram-handler misinterprets as trying to create a nameless directory in "RAM:".
That did it.
thanks @gulliver
Enchanter is offline  
Old 08 March 2021, 13:54   #10
gulliver
BoingBagged

gulliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 43
Posts: 2,248
Excellent.

Just thank Olaf who is the mastermind behind DiskDoctor.
gulliver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone have a working version of SWOS with JST loader 2mb version? earok support.Games 1 20 October 2015 21:15
Space harrier full version 2 disks version dlfrsilver request.Old Rare Games 32 27 June 2011 11:06
Version 1.50 does not recognise ROMS - Vista 32 sp1 4gig 8800 . Version 1.5beta21 ok Southie support.WinUAE 3 02 July 2008 15:49
Old version number? [GameBase version vs. GBA version + misc. questions] wanderer project.MAGE 5 23 August 2007 00:51
I need an official version of Cannon Fodder! The cracked version can't save! Sky_Shadow support.Games 6 23 August 2005 18:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09883 seconds with 15 queries