English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 January 2016, 20:02   #1
deadwood
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 45
Odyssey Web Browser Public Source Code Repository

I would like to invite interested developers from all platforms to join the Odyssey Web Browser development.

The repository is public, available to everyone and located on GitHub:

https://github.com/deadwood-pl/OdysseyWebBrowser

The repository contains the latest version of Odyssey (1.25) which:

- is a continuation of Fab's 1.24 code base
- is rebased directly on WebKit engine (no longer uses Orygin proxy layer that 1.24 used) for easier integration of new engine versions
- uses WebKit revision 187682 (end of July version)
- is rebuild to support multi-platform development in build configuration and source code

If you are interested in developing a feature in Odyssey, no matter how small, or fixing a bug, no matter how trivial, contact me via email at deadwood@wp.pl. Don't worry - everybody had to start somewhere! I will help you understand the code base, build process and development approach.

Please spread the news!
deadwood is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 January 2016, 14:46   #2
radzik
Registered User
radzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Braunschwieg/DE and Poznan/PL
Posts: 98
Send a message via Skype™ to radzik
Deadwood is great developer. And now AROS has the most updated and current Odyssey in the world of Amiga.
In my opinion all NG systems must have a new OWB, modern OS without good browser is nothing. Can we do it beyond divisions between camps? We need it!
radzik is offline  
Old 08 January 2016, 23:00   #3
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,412
What kind of hardware is needed for AROS to run Odyssey smoothly?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 08:04   #4
deadwood
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 45
I never did such tests TBH. I know people are using it on Acer Aspire (ATOM processor) and say that web browsing is ok, but playing HTML5 video is slow.
deadwood is offline  
Old 13 January 2016, 06:51   #5
radzik
Registered User
radzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Braunschwieg/DE and Poznan/PL
Posts: 98
Send a message via Skype™ to radzik
I have asked WebKit developers on the Twitter @webkit and they abandoned and will not support PPC any more.
So it looks like or we fix it in our community or in this situation I think is better to jump into new engine? Because it could possibly that after one fix WebKit , then in some time we must make other one etc.
radzik is offline  
Old 13 January 2016, 18:29   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
What kind of hardware is needed for AROS to run Odyssey smoothly?
https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/P...ete_System_HCL

https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/P...etwork_support

[ Show youtube player ]

OWB on IcarOS


This is my AspireOS


This is my IcarOS


Connection WiFi on my small ACER Aspire One ZG5
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 January 2016, 02:54   #7
Knoeki
Princess Knoeki

Knoeki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Amsterdam
Age: 27
Posts: 38
Send a message via Skype™ to Knoeki
So.. is this for AROS only, or is there any potential this will run on regular OS3.1?
Knoeki is offline  
Old 14 January 2016, 08:27   #8
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 684
No Knoeki, just no :-)
Locutus is offline  
Old 16 January 2016, 12:43   #9
OlafSch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nuernberg
Posts: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knoeki View Post
So.. is this for AROS only, or is there any potential this will run on regular OS3.1?
the chance is not very good... port to 68k will not happen for same reasons as there is no port to PPC... endianess problems

Also OWB needs much more memory than what is now available except on UAE. And even if in best case there would be a Aros 68k version, never a port to 3.X
OlafSch is offline  
Old 16 January 2016, 15:12   #10
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 784
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlafSch View Post
the chance is not very good... port to 68k will not happen for same reasons as there is no port to PPC... endianess problems
only in the javascript engine so far i understand.

Quote:
Also OWB needs much more memory than what is now available except on UAE. And even if in best case there would be a Aros 68k version, never a port to 3.X
nevertheless a proof of concept even if just to compile it might be tempting.
wawa is offline  
Old 20 January 2016, 16:17   #11
traal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlafSch View Post
OWB needs much more memory than what is now available except on UAE.
OWB needs more than 128MB? IE10 needs only 40MB.
traal is offline  
Old 20 January 2016, 17:42   #12
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 42
Posts: 793
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by traal View Post
OWB needs more than 128MB? IE10 needs only 40MB.
You mean that IE10 only needs 40 megs more than is already hidden in the bloated Windows OS that it runs on. The browsers that come with an OS are usually not self-standing applications but depend on libraries that are specific to the OS and those libraries are considered part of the OS. Running Safari on the Mac is the same deal.
Samurai_Crow is online now  
Old 20 January 2016, 18:45   #13
traal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai_Crow View Post
You mean that IE10 only needs 40 megs more than is already hidden in the bloated Windows OS that it runs on. The browsers that come with an OS are usually not self-standing applications but depend on libraries that are specific to the OS and those libraries are considered part of the OS.
In Windows when a process loads a library, the memory used by the library counts against the process' memory consumption. Instead of "libraries," did you mean "servers"?
traal is offline  
Old 20 January 2016, 18:56   #14
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 42
Posts: 793
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by traal View Post
In Windows when a process loads a library, the memory used by the library counts against the process' memory consumption. Instead of "libraries," did you mean "servers"?
Possibly. I am not familiar with Windows. I have not owned a working Windows machine for a few years.

edit:
What about "assemblies" under .NET?
Samurai_Crow is online now  
Old 20 January 2016, 21:56   #15
matthey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by traal View Post
In Windows when a process loads a library, the memory used by the library counts against the process' memory consumption. Instead of "libraries," did you mean "servers"?
The Windows .dll libraries, up until a few years ago, were not always shareable between tasks/processes like Amiga dynamic libraries (sometimes resulting in multiple instances in memory). I don't know how this has changed with all the new versions of Windows and multi-core processing but it was a compatibility limitation.
matthey is offline  
Old 21 January 2016, 11:00   #16
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by radzik View Post
I have asked WebKit developers on the Twitter @webkit and they abandoned and will not support PPC any more.
surely, the WebKit code is not CPU-specific!!
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 21 January 2016, 23:46   #17
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
surely, the WebKit code is not CPU-specific!!
Surely you couldn't draw that conclusion from that quote alone? ;-)
Ok, someone mention the words "endian" and "problem"... Which would suggest that the extra effort to deal with the fact that Motorola CPUs traditionally traditionally used Big Endian format and Intel CPUs Small Endian (basically Intel = reverse order of how bytes are read into memory vs Motorola) but I doubt that is anywhere near the main problem. Most likely the devs don't think its worth the effort simply because number of active PPC users is so small compared to Intel users..
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 22 January 2016, 11:53   #18
OlafSch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Nuernberg
Posts: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by traal View Post
OWB needs more than 128MB? IE10 needs only 40MB.
Deadwood has said that it needs more than 400 MB when using it. That is not minimum requirement for starting it but real world needs when accessing webpages.
OlafSch is offline  
Old 23 January 2016, 00:59   #19
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlafSch View Post
Deadwood has said that it needs more than 400 MB when using it. That is not minimum requirement for starting it but real world needs when accessing webpages.
Obviously it depends what pages you are visiting and how many tabs you keep open.. but.. would you say that is a fair amount of RAM to use up for web browsing or is OWB using "questionable" caching techniques? You don't *have* to keep a fixed amount of crap in RAM at any given time ;-)

Makes me think, a VNC solution for Amigas is looking more and more appealing.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 27 March 2017, 11:46   #20
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 41
Posts: 736
Sorry if I resurrect this thread (to avoid reopening another similar topic), but is there a Odyssey WebBrowser 68K AOS3.9 version (up-to-date) available somewhere?
hexaae is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UADE for the web browser wothke Amiga websites reviews 8 16 September 2014 19:54
Odyssey 1.23 Web Browser available for AmigaOS 4.1 amigakit.com Amiga scene 0 17 March 2014 22:31
The Merlin Web Browser Shoonay News 65 06 November 2011 11:46
Voyager 3 web browser amigafan1200 request.Apps 0 05 November 2009 11:53
68000 Web Browser Hewitson support.Apps 23 24 January 2008 13:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25573 seconds with 12 queries