English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 January 2014, 18:28   #41
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
Panasonic drive (different models) in both machines.
Most Panasonic Drives have SMD-capacitors, which tend to leak over time. This will lead to read errors, especially with custom formats. I have put such a drive in my A1000 a while ago and it's got trouble with trackloaders and - most unfortunately - the Kickstart-disk. :-)

Check your drive, clean it and replace the capacitors with ceramic ones. IIRC someone on EAB described exactly that procedure a few days ago.

A lot of drives were tested with Solid Gold and the best performer here was the Chinon FB354, which has no SMD caps at all. Never had any issues when running the game from UAE or HxC-Floppy, too.

Another option will be WHDLoad; I myself am eagerly awaiting Codetapper's upcoming slave.

Edit: Or Stingray's - whoever gets there first
bubbob42 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 January 2014, 19:04   #42
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leffmann View Post
I hope there will be a v1.1 which can be run from Workbench as well.
No, the game depends on the trackloader and kills the operating system completely. I wanted to do it this way for 100% retro feeling.
But there is always the chance for a WHDLoad version.
phx is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 19:08   #43
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
It hangs during the loading screen (with the white background).
And the white background doesn't turn yellow when it hangs? Yellow means that there was a read error.

The loader with the white owl logo still uses trackdisk.device to load the main program. So it could not even be a problem of the custom track loader.
phx is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 19:29   #44
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,593
And Stingray did it again.

http://www.whdload.de/games/SolidGold.html
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 01 January 2014, 19:31   #45
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
But there is always the chance for a WHDLoad version.
The WHDLoad version is now available. You've made a geat game, lots of fun to play.
StingRay is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 22:21   #46
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 8,535
Thread cleaned. Take it, and keep it in PM please.
BippyM is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 22:38   #47
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 566
Thank's for the WHDLoad installer StingRay. You work fast.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 23:10   #48
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
This is great news! I'm so happy to see new games released for classic Amiga, and especially well made games like this! It looks and plays great Awesome job guys! I hope you will make more games in the future!


I experience some problems with the trainer WHDLoad. If unlimited lives are enabled, then suddenly you can only jump by pressing down.. Anybody else?

Last edited by TroelsDK; 01 January 2014 at 23:22.
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 01 January 2014, 23:21   #49
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
And the white background doesn't turn yellow when it hangs? Yellow means that there was a read error.

The loader with the white owl logo still uses trackdisk.device to load the main program. So it could not even be a problem of the custom track loader.
Nope. I'll do further testing and report back.
duga is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 19:00   #50
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 977
Thank you very much for this awesome game phx!

I like everything with it. The gameplay, music and graphics is just awesome.

I really want to support you. But I read in the other thread that you don't want donations.

I also recorded a [ Show youtube player ]. (no spolier tag on EAB?)
hipoonios is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 19:49   #51
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Can't install from the ADF, or am I missing something?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 20:00   #52
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
oh, yes you can but have to select install from DF0: first! weird. But then it says I need some other program, except it seems you can just copy the ADF into the install dir and rename it "Disk.1".

Having some fun playing it now.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 01:20   #53
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
I also recorded a [ Show youtube player ]. (no spolier tag on EAB?)
Wow! After you finished all parts of Sqrxz, mastering Solid Gold must have been a piece of cake for you. Not bad, nevertheless.

I remember that I had a little more than 70000 after finishing the game.
phx is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 13:48   #54
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
It is a hard game, unforgiving collision detection (especially the spikes) and instant death.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 14:35   #55
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 973
I am happy to hear that it is not too easy. The testers impression, and also mine, was the opposite.

When you look for extra lives and collect many gems then you will always have enough lives left.
phx is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 16:05   #56
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
It is a hard game, unforgiving collision detection (especially the spikes) and instant death.
Agreed! bit rough is it? Haha.
I think my problem is that the character goes too far into the border to scroll the screen and as such you don't see what's coming. I ran into many baddies like that. And that's kinda the same criticism I always had of Sqrxz, the dude just goes too far front!

Anyway, I really love the game, the nice storyline, music and graphics. Job well done phx!!!!
Akira is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 16:06   #57
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Maybe it's harder using up to jump on a Sega joypad
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 17:22   #58
Phantom
Adventurer

Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colossal Cave, Valaii
Posts: 327
It was really a long-long time ago since I played such a great and enjoyable platform game. I'm already in Mexico and still playing. Thanks to Wille brothers and everyone for this game.

I don't think that you need WhdLoad for it. The loading routines are really so fast, that you will forget immediately that you're playing from a floppy disk.

But one slight problem that I have. The screen seems to be positioned far at top, thus resulting the first lines of text (like introduction text, lives etc) to be hidden and not visible during play. I'm using a Commodore 1084S-P2 monitor. I tried to change the pitch behind the monitor, fixed that, but when I load my Workbench my screen is low. Any ideas how to fix that? It seems that it doesn't happening to any other game I have played.
Phantom is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 17:57   #59
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom View Post
It was really a long-long time ago since I played such a great and enjoyable platform game. I'm already in Mexico and still playing. Thanks to Wille brothers and everyone for this game.

I don't think that you need WhdLoad for it. The loading routines are really so fast, that you will forget immediately that you're playing from a floppy disk.

But one slight problem that I have. The screen seems to be positioned far at top, thus resulting the first lines of text (like introduction text, lives etc) to be hidden and not visible during play. I'm using a Commodore 1084S-P2 monitor. I tried to change the pitch behind the monitor, fixed that, but when I load my Workbench my screen is low. Any ideas how to fix that? It seems that it doesn't happening to any other game I have played.
Yes, it's *almost* too high on my plasma tv.
duga is offline  
Old 03 January 2014, 17:58   #60
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbob42 View Post
Most Panasonic Drives have SMD-capacitors, which tend to leak over time. This will lead to read errors, especially with custom formats. I have put such a drive in my A1000 a while ago and it's got trouble with trackloaders and - most unfortunately - the Kickstart-disk. :-)

Check your drive, clean it and replace the capacitors with ceramic ones. IIRC someone on EAB described exactly that procedure a few days ago.

A lot of drives were tested with Solid Gold and the best performer here was the Chinon FB354, which has no SMD caps at all. Never had any issues when running the game from UAE or HxC-Floppy, too.

Another option will be WHDLoad; I myself am eagerly awaiting Codetapper's upcoming slave.

Edit: Or Stingray's - whoever gets there first
I've swapped the disk drives, it's working now on the ACA620 machine. Both from floppy and via WHDload.

I'll test later with the "bad" drive on the other A600 too see if the same problem happens on that machine.
duga is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solid Gold to be released December/January phx News 73 09 January 2014 21:37
Rock Solid Android Emulator - How Much Would you Pay? CDTV1991 Amiga scene 8 19 December 2013 03:25
Can you use solid state capacitors for cap replacement? JACK98 support.Hardware 13 25 August 2010 20:02
Solid Window dragging WB Retro1234 request.Apps 11 24 January 2010 11:09
Does anyone have United PD Gold / UPD Gold CD? ferrycorsten request.Old Rare Games 11 11 April 2005 20:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25975 seconds with 13 queries