English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 April 2017, 07:20   #1
whaka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: France
Posts: 12
Cyberclock

Hi,

i'm looking for cyberclock keyfile, it was "emailware" and of course, the mail adrress is no more valid.

so, if someone have this in stock...
thanks
whaka is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 April 2017, 16:25   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,669
Did you tried both email addresses mentioned in the guide? There is also a WWW link and post address you may want use/try. The registration is in the prefs file including name. So that might not what you want but I haven`t tried to hex edit prefs file to see it that works.
daxb is offline  
Old 17 April 2017, 19:17   #3
whaka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: France
Posts: 12
yes, i tried the 2 addresses in the readme file.
my mail client say he can't find the domain name.

but i never seen a www link or a post address in the readme.
is your cyberclock archive come from aminet ?
whaka is offline  
Old 18 April 2017, 13:50   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,669
Yes I think I got it from Aminet. Have a look at CyberClock.guide - Author. Unfortunately http://solair.eunet.yu/~smolensk/index_eng.html is also off. There is a list of ATO members that should have contact with the author. Maybe it is nice to write a postcard to Nikola Smolenski.
daxb is offline  
Old 18 April 2017, 21:53   #5
whaka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: France
Posts: 12
ah, yes, i got the guide !
yeah, i'm not against the idea to send him a floppy
but if he moved...

what is ATO ?

i'll try to contact the authors of the french catalog, maybe they're still in touch with him too.

Last edited by whaka; 18 April 2017 at 21:59.
whaka is offline  
Old 18 April 2017, 23:24   #6
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 566
ATO stands for Amiga Translation Organization.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 19 April 2017, 15:26   #7
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,669
Don`t send a floppy, just a post-card with your suit and email address. Or do a internet research to get valid (email) address. With some luck it only changed to a new one.
daxb is offline  
Old 20 April 2017, 20:16   #8
whaka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: France
Posts: 12
i found a Nikola Smolenski on facebook, i send a message.
hope it's the good one
whaka is offline  
Old 26 April 2017, 21:23   #9
honx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 650
any news?
honx is offline  
Old 26 April 2017, 22:32   #10
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,499
Inspired by this thread I made a similar program, maybe you like it:

http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.../digiclock.lha

- uses datatypes to load the images
- properly retains colors stored in the image files (done by picture.datatype)
- properly supports transparency (only mask or transparent color, no alpha channel)
- localised (German language included)
thomas is offline  
Old 26 April 2017, 23:04   #11
honx
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 650
looks nice! i think it might replace dclock16 which i'm using since 1999!
suggestion: a feature for changing color of digital image would be nice!
colors like red/green/yellow/blue, as they are on real 7-segment display.
honx is offline  
Old 26 April 2017, 23:15   #12
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Inspired by this thread I made a similar program, maybe you like it:

http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.../digiclock.lha

- uses datatypes to load the images
- properly retains colors stored in the image files (done by picture.datatype)
- properly supports transparency (only mask or transparent color, no alpha channel)
- localised (German language included)
Thank you thomas
gulliver is offline  
Old 27 April 2017, 08:28   #13
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
suggestion: a feature for changing color of digital image would be nice!
Seems like you asked for CyberClock without even knowing what it does, right?

Changing colors from the program is not possible, it uses the colors from the brush. Load the brush into a paint program, change the colors as you like and save it back or with a different name. Use the clock's menu to select another brush.

Not even this is possible in CyberClock. CyberClock uses the colors of the Workbench screen / Palette prefs and applies them to the brush, no matter if they match or not.
thomas is offline  
Old 27 April 2017, 16:07   #14
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,669
I did a small test with DigiClock that works fine so far. Good work! I loaded some of the CyberClock brushes in DigiClock and some looked ok, some not. I`ve not checked why. DigiClock don`t use screennotify.library unlike CyberClock what might be an advantage? The background (transparency) is refreshed at startup and when clock ist moved. Maybe someone likes to have an automatic refresh option (every n seconds)?

For cpu usage compare I use the same 88x11x4 brush (2 colors used) in both clocks and same settings. On my A1200 040/40 3.1 the cpu usage is (taken from Scout Task window): CyperClock = ~0.06% and DigiClock = ~0.6%. How it is on slower systems like 68020 or 68000?
daxb is offline  
Old 28 April 2017, 22:53   #15
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
I loaded some of the CyberClock brushes in DigiClock and some looked ok, some not. I`ve not checked why.
It's not intended to be compatible with CyberClock brushes. Actually it is intended to *not* be compatible with CyberClock. I tried CyberClock once and it looked so ugly on my setup with wallpaper and custom palette. That's when I decided to make it better. CyberClock does not respect colors and transparency. In fact most of the brushes delivered with CyberClock have wrong transparency, for example the letters are transparent and the background is opaque. Not to mention the strange colors.


Quote:
DigiClock don`t use screennotify.library unlike CyberClock what might be an advantage?
Notification needs too much effort for too few benefit. Screennotify.library only supports CloseWB/OpenWB. For proper transparency I also need wallpaper changes and similar. This needs more development than I have time.


Quote:
The background (transparency) is refreshed at startup and when clock ist moved. Maybe someone likes to have an automatic refresh option (every n seconds)?
Regular refresh would introduce flicker (close window, open window, get new background, redraw clock). It's better to recognise background changes. But this doesn't happen anytime soon for the same reason as above.


Quote:
For cpu usage compare I use the same 88x11x4 brush (2 colors used) in both clocks and same settings. On my A1200 040/40 3.1 the cpu usage is (taken from Scout Task window): CyperClock = ~0.06% and DigiClock = ~0.6%. How it is on slower systems like 68020 or 68000?
I don't care about such things. I made it because it was fun making it. Take it as it is or leave it.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 April 2017, 18:27   #16
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,669
Thanks for explanation!
daxb is offline  
Old 30 April 2017, 15:57   #17
whaka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: France
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
any news?
nope, still no answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Inspired by this thread I made a similar program, maybe you like it
many many thanks thomas
really love it, and perfectly replace cyberclock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Regular refresh would introduce flicker (close window, open window, get new background, redraw clock). It's better to recognise background changes. But this doesn't happen anytime soon for the same reason as above.
i think this explain the issue i have at startup, if i understand.
i put digiclock in wbstartup, but digiclock start faster than my wallpaper appear, so the background of digiclock stay grey until i move it.
there's a way to put a little delay at launch ?

Last edited by whaka; 30 April 2017 at 16:32.
whaka is offline  
Old 30 April 2017, 16:59   #18
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,499
updated to version 1.2:

- the window is activated on startup so that you see the menu more easily.
- it no longer silently quits if the digits image cannot be loaded. Instead it opens the file requester again.
- it now supports showing am/pm in 12 hour mode. Pictures containing am/pm images have to have _am_pm in their file name.
- _am_pm files also have a "blank" digit which is drawn instead of just leaving the space empty.
- it can now suppress the leading 0 for hours < 10.
thomas is offline  
Old 16 May 2017, 17:45   #19
whaka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: France
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
any news?
i got an answer, it was the good Nikola.
and i got my registration too. so, you can find him on facebook
whaka is offline  
Old 16 May 2017, 21:16   #20
rygar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: poland
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by whaka View Post
i got an answer, it was the good Nikola.
and i got my registration too. so, you can find him on facebook
Please share your registered version on the zone
rygar is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36863 seconds with 13 queries