English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 January 2017, 12:19   #1
rikbliz
Registered User
rikbliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 113
Is it OK to use these patches with CWB39? (MCP, PatchControl, Blizkick, Executive)

Howdy peeps. I'm getting ready to do a new CWB3x (3.9) install on the system in my sig.

When I do normal DIY 3.9 installs I use the following patches and would really appreciate if anyone can chime in with knowledge about whether these will 'break' CWB in any way?

What I usually put in my SS (CWB uses a custom SS format, so not entirely clear which file to put these in):
  • C:PatchControl >Nil:
  • C:MCP
  • C:MCPRAMLIBPATCH
  • C:BlizKick * EXTRESBUF=32768 SPEEDROM LOCALFAST HOGWAITBLIT MODULE RemCards NewAlert SoftSCSI QUIET

(I haven't actually tested that blizkick setup yet, still need to RTFM)

I also want to try out using Executive from AmiNet which is a task scheduler/BSD port widget thing that is supposed to speed things up nicely.

So.. if anyone has any guidance for a noob on using the above with CWB39 I would be in your debt.

Thanks!
rikbliz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 February 2017, 22:58   #2
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
As far as I know, there is no other patch that replaces mcpramlibpatch.

MCP is perfectly safe to use but some options cause problems. It is one of my essential patches. patchcontrol is a need but there is also another similar patch whose name I forgot. I think I use it together with patchcontrol. I will check later.

blizkick rom modules are trial and error. I do not use any of them and use it only to softkick patched rom modules.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 08 February 2017, 23:03   #3
rikbliz
Registered User
rikbliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 113
Hi ancalimon. A timely response indeed... so I had no problems getting MCP and Patchcontrol working. I had everything beautifully set up.. then today I tried getting blizkick working, it didn't seem to play nicely, wouldn't boot, got the purple insert disk screen. So I commented out the blizkick line and the NOROMUPDATES line that goes after it, but now my miggy just gurus at cold boot !! Booting from an A911 boot floppy the partitions aren't found. Now I get C:getmouseinput: unknown command when booting.. arrrrrghhh!!!!!
rikbliz is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 00:59   #4
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,473
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Well, have you got getmouseinput in C?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 09:13   #5
rikbliz
Registered User
rikbliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Well, have you got getmouseinput in C?
Yes.

If I boot my CF on my PC with WinUAE, it boots up completely normally, no problem at all.

I ran pfsdoctor and fixed some disk errors via WinUAE and also ran 'protect #? +rwed all quiet' (or similar) which I read about in another thread.

Now booting on my Amiga I get an alert that says 'setpatch: program error' with code 80000004.

My only guess at the moment is some kind of disk corruption is going on, but I have no idea.

I checked my SS against a clean CWB39 install to make sure they are the same, which they are, except for my ATA3.driver lines at the start for my FastATA.

All very confusing really. Tonight I will put my CWB39 System.zip on to another CF just to confirm it isn't some kind of hardware problem. I guess if that works I'm probably going to have to start a new install which is a real PITA...
rikbliz is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 09:18   #6
idrougge
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,263
Do you have the correct MaxTransfer setting?
idrougge is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 09:20   #7
rikbliz
Registered User
rikbliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Do you have the correct MaxTransfer setting?
Yep. FastATA doesn't have MaxTransfer value issues but I still always use the 0x1FE00 everyone reccomends. My miggy had been running sweet as a nut until I started experimenting with BlizKick the other day
rikbliz is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 15:13   #8
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,579
Does it mean you use an old version of MCP? I`m not sure but mcpramlibpatch might be obsolete if you use MCP 1.48. What does mcpramlibpatch?
PatchControl is safe to use. An equivalent is SaferPatches.

If you use FastATA with ata3.driver (or similar named) then make sure that is used and not "killed" by SetPatch or BlizKick. Else data can be destroyed.
daxb is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 15:15   #9
rikbliz
Registered User
rikbliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 113
Hi Dax - Yes I think I got MCBRAMLIBPATCH from some old docs, I never actually used it. Using latest MCP from Aminet.

I start BlizKick then call ATA3.driver shortly after. Perhaps my BK config was bad and something went wrong and corrupted my OS files ??
rikbliz is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 16:56   #10
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,579
I have not experiences with OS3.9 but maybe its SetPatch loads scsi.device "over" ata3.driver patch. I would at least check that to be sure nothing goes wrong.
daxb is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 16:57   #11
rikbliz
Registered User
rikbliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 113
But my SS has now been returned to the same original non-Blizkick version, which was working just fine previously... ATA3.driver is loaded at the start as per the docs/installer for FastATA. Never seen this SetPatch error on boot before
rikbliz is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 20:35   #12
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Rule number 1: Always have at least one spare boot partition which you can fall back to.

Possible problem:

pio setting could be too much for your cfcard to handle. You may need to cold boot without startup-sequence and reduce the pio setting by running ata3prefs inside SYS:Prefs

Use the command that comes with blizkick (romupdatesplit or splitromupdates) to extract all the rom modules from AmigaOS ROM Update file that comes with boingbag2 and use them with blizkick. Don't forget to patch them further.

On my system the second port of FastATA MKIV for some reason sees my cfcards as 2gb and my harddrives as 2tb. Might be a bad cable...
ancalimon is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 20:39   #13
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: @TulsiGabbard
Posts: 2,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikbliz View Post
Using latest MCP from Aminet.
MCP 1.48
emufan is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 20:42   #14
rikbliz
Registered User
rikbliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 113
Perhaps. I have both channels on PIO4 with Sandisk Extreme CFs. I use precision rom sockets (the round ones) which are supposed to work better. Would be a bit strange if it was this though as it has been fine for weeks of daily use.

I used splitromupdates as per the blizkick guide.

I don't have that problem with my FATA, MkV, I have a 32GB secondary CF with PFS.
rikbliz is offline  
Old 09 February 2017, 20:45   #15
rikbliz
Registered User
rikbliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post

Thanks, didn't know about that. To be fair though 1.30 was playing just fine with CWB39 (quick draw disabled).
rikbliz is offline  
Old 11 February 2017, 13:50   #16
rikbliz
Registered User
rikbliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 113
So interesting development on the disk problems... I reseated the Gayle chip adapter of the FastATA (just on a whim) and now everything is back to normal. That would explain why it was working in WinUAE OK. Bit concerning though as the Amiga hasn't been moved for a long time!
rikbliz is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 17:44   #17
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Does it mean you use an old version of MCP? I`m not sure but mcpramlibpatch might be obsolete if you use MCP 1.48. What does mcpramlibpatch?
PatchControl is safe to use. An equivalent is SaferPatches.

If you use FastATA with ata3.driver (or similar named) then make sure that is used and not "killed" by SetPatch or BlizKick. Else data can be destroyed.
Quote:
Q: Is MCP safe to use with 3.9, and do I still need mcpramlibpatch in my startup?
A:
Yes, but there are two things you should be aware of with MCP:

First, make sure that you don't have any options in MCP that patch diskfont.library, as this will prevent 3.9's font cache from working correctly. You still need mcpramlibpatch in your startup as the ramlib problem is caused by third-party libraries performing too complicated/stack-hungry tasks (opening other diskresident libs) within their init function. These libraries are therefore breaking certain programming rules; and it's not a bug in ramlib itself. [Stephan Rupprecht]
Lastly, activating the "Processor" feature of MCP removes the ability of the RAD: device to be resident, so switching this off in MCP will restore it.
[Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci]
http://www.gregdonner.org/os39faq/compatibility.html
It is essential for everyone. So we will always need mcpramlibpatch because there are many old libraries still being used that do not play by the rules. I think I have the one from rtgmaster archive and run it in my startup*sequence just before the first stackattack command.

The one I have is MCPRamLibPatch V1.1 (24.04.98)
ancalimon is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 17:52   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 16,459
Try MultiCX instead of MCP:
http://aminet.net/package/util/cdity/mcx256

Bit of a cleaner patch.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 19:17   #19
Zeph
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikbliz View Post
So interesting development on the disk problems... I reseated the Gayle chip adapter of the FastATA (just on a whim) and now everything is back to normal. That would explain why it was working in WinUAE OK. Bit concerning though as the Amiga hasn't been moved for a long time!
Heat/vibration/a combination c÷uld l÷sen that
Zeph is offline  
Old 16 February 2017, 20:36   #20
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,579
@ancalimon:
The RtgMaster Library guide from 1998 says:
Quote:
Note: If you use MCP, i recommend using at least Version MCP131B8. Earlier
versions might use up too much ramlib stack. According to a user, this was
fixed with Version MCP131B8. So i recommend at least this version. If problems
still appear, i recommend installing MCPramlibpatch. This might also apply
to MCP-Clones like MCX.
I would say this patch is outdated and obsolete now if it comes to use a newer MCP version. I`m sure what mcpramlibpatch does but guessing it just increases stack size of ramlib. I use romfixes patch what already increase ramlib stack size from 2k to 8k.

You can use "Cachefont" from MCP or OS3.9 build in cachefont. At least the MCP docs say so.

Processor function from MCP has several options. If option "SSP to fastram" is used RAD isn`t reset proof.
daxb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Executive keyfile now free! Bamiga2002 News 11 10 June 2013 02:07
Help on how to install CWB39 to Existing 3.9 OS rikbliz project.ClassicWB 8 03 September 2012 10:11
Replacement Patches for MCP or MCX Leandro Jardim support.Apps 3 17 April 2011 12:41
Executive Leaderboard Golf tomcat666 request.Old Rare Games 0 13 July 2002 19:50
New executive update by Amiga Inc. minded Amiga scene 7 03 May 2002 05:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23076 seconds with 14 queries