English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 December 2016, 13:11   #1
mvickers03
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stockport
Posts: 9
PCMCIA - CF in Classic WB

Hi,

Are the drivers already in place for PCMCIA to CF reader?

I have a card in there but its not detected and wanted to check before I start messing around, it could well be the card is not supported in HDD mode
mvickers03 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 December 2016, 13:16   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,596
Check DEVS/DOSDrivers for the CF0: driver. If it's not there it's problably in the "Storage" folder of ClassicWB.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 08 December 2016, 21:22   #3
mvickers03
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stockport
Posts: 9
Thank you very much! The Storage folder Storage/CF0: then it appears on my desktop.

When I reboot I have to do this again, how can I add this to my startup please?

Also, it detected a file system on its own? I bought the card online so I would expect Fat file system so not sure how it is working without being formatted first.
mvickers03 is offline  
Old 08 December 2016, 21:26   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,596
FAT16/32 should work fine. ClassicWB is already prepared for PCMICA CF card use. All you had to do was copying the CF0 driver+info file to DEVS/DOSDRIVERS. It should work after a reset again.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 08 December 2016, 21:51   #5
mvickers03
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stockport
Posts: 9
Thanks man, That worked perfectly. I ran out of space on my 4GB CF for WHDload games, so I added an extra 4GB on the PCMCIA, do you recommend I reformat the card with a different file system? I will be using it for WHDload
mvickers03 is offline  
Old 08 December 2016, 21:57   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,596
A quick format in FAT32 if not yet done. Never had problems with it.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 08 December 2016, 22:05   #7
mvickers03
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stockport
Posts: 9
Excellent, Classic WB is incredible, I am so thankful for the the effort that went into creating it and to the makers! I can see a huge amount of effort has gone into making it so good. And of course the great software developers who created all the programs contained within too, iGame is fantastic with the screenshots added. best gaming rig I have ever used and is useful for much more than that.

My specs are Apollo 1230 @40 with FPU and 64MB memory and this system works perfect.
mvickers03 is offline  
Old 08 December 2016, 22:37   #8
mvickers03
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stockport
Posts: 9
There was one .lha game I was extracting via windows onto the fat32 CFcard and it had errors so I am not sure it will work this way. I think I will still need to use WinUAE to extract the files.

Last edited by mvickers03; 08 December 2016 at 22:54.
mvickers03 is offline  
Old 08 December 2016, 22:44   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,596
Yes, some games have to be extracted in emulation or on a real Amiga. Corrupted file names/protection bits could happen if you extract them in Windows.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 08 December 2016 at 22:59.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 08 December 2016, 22:55   #10
mvickers03
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stockport
Posts: 9
Thanks for your help
mvickers03 is offline  
Old 08 December 2016, 23:57   #11
mvickers03
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Stockport
Posts: 9
All games seem to work apart from the 2 that had errors so I will just leave it, was a lot quicker than doing it via emulation.
mvickers03 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Classic WB OS3.9 VS Classic WB ADV SP fitzsteve project.ClassicWB 6 28 December 2009 21:27
Why not the classic OS..? Charlie Retrogaming General Discussion 3 16 November 2007 20:52
PCMCIA Squirrel + PCMCIA Network Card tootoid support.Hardware 1 18 April 2007 12:13
3COM 589 PCMCIA NIC + classic WB3.1 + ? = working TCP/IP? gizmomelb support.Hardware 7 09 January 2006 08:01
My Classic WB..........So Far....... MSC project.ClassicWB 2 08 October 2004 23:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15094 seconds with 14 queries