English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 May 2016, 19:58   #1
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
ClassicWB CD-ROM Support

I'm trying to get ClassicWB 68K to recognize my CD-ROM drive. Here's what I'm running:

Amiga 2000
GVP HD8+ Impact II SCSI card (8MB of memory)
The CD Drive is a NEC CD-3010A (jumpered to SCSI ID 1)

I tried running the AMICDROM installer program but ran into a few issues. At one point during the install it asked for a disk called WORK. I just hit cancel and the install seemed to proceed, but then it asked me to select the command "which should be executed when you double click a CD-DA (AudioCD) icon". I also skipped that step (clicked proceed) and it says it installed everything, but I don't see the CD-ROM icon anywhere (device should be CD0).

So I went to the shell and typed CD0: and it said "Can't open SCSI.Device 1" (Shouldn't this be GVPSCSI.Device?). That's what I selected when I installed everything. It also does this when I boot up as I told it to automount the drive. Does this mean something went wrong or there's something wrong with my card/drive configuration? Did I miss a step somewhere?

Last edited by Tempest 2084; 30 May 2016 at 20:12.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 May 2016, 23:34   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Have a look in Devs:DosDrivers for CD0/CD0.info
Left click on CD0.info then Right click on Icons/Information menu and check what device it's using (default=scsi.device)
Arnie is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 01:04   #3
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
Actually it is using GVPSCSI, but it's still saying it can't open device 1. Not sure what's going on.

Last edited by Tempest 2084; 31 May 2016 at 01:52.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 02:11   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Try a different device number.
Arnie is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 02:26   #5
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
I tried 2 and 3 as well but those didn't work either.

Other things I've tried:

1. I took the terminating jumper off, nothing worked, so I guess that means the jumper on the CD Drive is terminating properly.

2. I tried hooking up my external CD drive to the port on the back of the card, but then the Amiga didn't see my hard drive and gave me that "Insert Disk" message. Odd that this didn't work. I had the device set to 1.

3. I also tried using HDToolBox to scan the SCSI devices. It sees my hard drive but not the CD drive. The drive has power and seems to open and close just fine. No idea what's wrong.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 02:52   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Have you read the manual for the GVP? Sometimes you can't use certain device ID's as they're reserved so it might be that ID 1 is reserved so you might want to jumper your CD drive to another ID and change the ID in your config file to match.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 16:12   #7
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
Yes I have. 0 is the one the card reserves for itself.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 16:29   #8
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Is the CD Filesystem that is in the DosDriver Installed?

Try a different CD filesystem?

Last edited by Arnie; 31 May 2016 at 16:35.
Arnie is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 17:09   #9
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
I just did the AMICDROM install program. Do I need to do something else as well?
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 17:20   #10
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
AmiCDFS is good at getting CDroms working. Does it create a new CD0: Dosdriver?
Arnie is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 18:02   #11
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
Yes there's a CD0 in Dosdriver.

I don't think the actual driver is the issue. It appears that the system isnt seeing my drive. When I do SCSI searches through various programs it's not coming up. It appears to be a hardware issue not a software issue (or at least I think)
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 20:32   #12
TTD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Copenhagen/Denmark
Posts: 132
Send a message via MSN to TTD
what filesystem in L do you have on your system?
can you make dir l: ? and tell about the filesystem let me guess you have atleast fastfilesystem and proparly a ram-handler here you need to find the one use for your cd file system AsimCDFS or CDFileSystem
another is to see how your file cd0 is can you tell devicename, handlername and unit number is very important.
devicename should be like gvpscsi.device
unit=1 if that is the id of your drive
else type the command type devs:dosdrivers/cd0
TTD is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 21:01   #13
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Amicdrom uses:

handler = L:cdrom-handler
startup = "DEVICE= scsi.device UNIT=1 ML R"

Does your CD0 Dosdriver match those?
Arnie is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 21:32   #14
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
I will check on that and get back to you.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 02 June 2016, 03:22   #15
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
CD0 says:

Handler = SYS:L/cdrom-handler
Startup = "Device=gvpscsi.device Unit=1 Trackdisk any rockridge maybelow"
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 02 June 2016, 03:29   #16
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
New development. If I remove my hard drive from the chain and just have my CD Rom drive it shows up when I do a SCSI search. What could be causing that? I'm using an IBM DCAS-34330 hard drive.

Here's the jumper settings for it: http://ps-2.kev009.com/eprmhtml/eprm0/f2127.htm

Only pins 2 and 3 have jumpers on them (whatever DAS2 and DAS1 mean). The termination jumper isn't on.

Last edited by Tempest 2084; 02 June 2016 at 03:43.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 03 June 2016, 04:19   #17
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
Ok I discovered that it's the hard drive itself. I put my old 1GB one in there (the current one is 4GB) and it sees both the hard drive and the CD drive. So what gives? Could it be because the larger one has two partitions? Could it take longer to spin up or something? I'm completely lost here.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 12 June 2016, 23:25   #18
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
I've made progress. Using my 1GB hard drive the system sees that CD Drive. I have the Hard Drive set to ID 0 and the CD Drive set to ID 1. I ran the AmigaCD install from the MyFiles folder and followed the prompts. When I go to the DEV>DOSDrivers folder and click on the CD0 icon it says that CD0 is already mounted. I assume this means that it sees my CD drive and all is good.

However, I don't see a way to access it. There's no icon on the desktop, and when I go to the shell and type CD CD0: the whole system seems to get stuck. The hard drive hits ever few seconds but absolutely nothing happens and the CD drive light never blinks. Did I do something wrong or did I miss a step somewhere? I see that there's also a directory called AmiCDFS2, do I have to install this as well?

My CD0: icon has these parameters:

Handler = SYS:L/cdrom-handler
Stacksize = 10000
Priority = 5
GlobVec = -1
Mount = 0
Startup = "DEVICE=gvpscsi.device UNIT=1 ANY ROCKRIDGE TRACKDISK RETRY MAYBELOWERCASE"
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 04 August 2016, 11:19   #19
stefcep2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest 2084 View Post
I've made progress. Using my 1GB hard drive the system sees that CD Drive. I have the Hard Drive set to ID 0 and the CD Drive set to ID 1. I ran the AmigaCD install from the MyFiles folder and followed the prompts. When I go to the DEV>DOSDrivers folder and click on the CD0 icon it says that CD0 is already mounted. I assume this means that it sees my CD drive and all is good.
Why is the hard drive set to ID zero when you've said the card reserves ID zero for itself?

Try setting the hard drive ID to 2 using the jumper layout in the diagram you linked

Oh and it s been a while but the last device in the chain needs to be terminated.

In the set up with CD ID 1 and hard drive ID 2 the hard rive needs to be terminated.
stefcep2 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB and WinUAE/UAE support Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 9 02 February 2012 14:39
Performance Issue - ClassicWB Large Hard Drive Support (> 4GB) dabone project.ClassicWB 10 13 May 2010 22:15
ClassicWB WHDLoad support and Kickstart requirements Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 0 29 July 2008 18:48
ClassicWB Large Hard Drive Support (> 4GB) Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 2 22 September 2007 14:54
ClassicWB Glow/OS3.5+ Icon Support Bloodwych project.ClassicWB 0 17 September 2007 15:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22672 seconds with 14 queries