English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 January 2016, 20:56   #1
checksum
Registered User

checksum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ely, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 94
A2000 - Best classic Workbench?

Hi Guys,

So I have my A2000 68000 standard, all up and running with with a Compact flash IBM Microdrive connected to a SCSI card reader, Scsi CDRom drive connected to a GVP Impact 2 HC+8 8MB Installed.

Currently running Classic Workbench GAAE ROM 2.04, all is working well machine nice and stable.

I have now installed an Amigakit 3.1 Rom so what is the best Classic Workbench which would suit my system?

Test1: WB Classic Lite - from my A1200 4GB CF Card

I tried a version of Classic Workbench lite which came with the 4GB compact flash card I purchased for my A1200 which worked fine on that but not on my A2000.

First error was "Copper error" so I booted without startup-sequence and disabled copper and rebooted.

Rebooted and all looked great tried Dopus worked fine then went to do a directory listing of WHDload games and workbench crashed out with 80000003 wait for disk activity to finish.

Now this was built for an A1200 so I guess I have a few things in this which are not compatible with the A2000?
checksum is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 January 2016, 10:23   #2
checksum
Registered User

checksum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ely, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 94
Configured WinUAE with my system configuration and added hardfile to sanity check my CF Card's installation and confirmed its not so compatible.

Copper failed and then WB failed so it is the build rather than hardware.

So any suggestions for a good compatible build of Classic Workbench?

Otherwise this could take a while
checksum is offline  
Old 29 January 2016, 10:34   #3
checksum
Registered User

checksum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ely, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 94
It does seem to be dying when HD is accessed, must be a FS bug?
checksum is offline  
Old 29 January 2016, 11:11   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
CWB lite is aimed at the A1200. Stick to CWB 68k stuff.
Arnie is offline  
Old 29 January 2016, 14:54   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@Checksum

Its quite likely running a program, or programs that require a 68020 CPU or better - sadly a stock 68k moto will crash when it reaches an instruction it doesn't understand.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 January 2016, 23:37   #6
checksum
Registered User

checksum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ely, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 94
Thanks guys that makes a lot of sense now, I guess another option is running straight workbench 3.1 with no thrills
checksum is offline  
Old 30 January 2016, 06:44   #7
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by checksum View Post
Thanks guys that makes a lot of sense now, I guess another option is running straight workbench 3.1 with no thrills
No, never run 3.1 with no frills on a 68000.
You should give BetterWB a try

http://lilliput.amiga-projects.net/BetterWB.htm
gulliver is offline  
Old 30 January 2016, 12:23   #8
checksum
Registered User

checksum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ely, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 94
I installed WB Classic 68000 upgrading to workbench 3.1 and its works really nice.
checksum is offline  
Old 30 January 2016, 12:24   #9
checksum
Registered User

checksum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ely, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
No, never run 3.1 with no frills on a 68000.
You should give BetterWB a try

http://lilliput.amiga-projects.net/BetterWB.htm

Now this looks really interesting, no hardware penalties!
checksum is offline  
Old 30 January 2016, 16:18   #10
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
Are there any pictures of BetterWB?
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 09 May 2016, 13:18   #11
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,074
Here you go..



I was thinking of using this in my A600,it has the right kickrom in it so it can install Workbench 3.1.
spannernick is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
well i have update my Workbench to Classic Workbench mcbone Amiga scene 0 02 May 2015 21:22
Classic Workbench for A4000T fitzsteve project.ClassicWB 5 28 July 2011 09:33
Classic Workbench on EEEPC lolafg project.ClassicWB 4 03 January 2011 18:48
Which Classic WB for A2000? KatManDEW project.ClassicWB 2 17 January 2009 10:53
Classic workbench aga backtoskooldaze project.ClassicWB 9 25 March 2008 12:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18328 seconds with 14 queries