English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Misc > MarketPlace

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 February 2010, 17:00   #1
steve_uktv
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 48
Exclamation selling a compact flash card? anyone

hi folks ...just to establish what i want one for and why i wont buy one from ebay.
I have in my possession an A1200hd and a laptop running LInux mint (becuz i hate windows).
I am trying to transfer via cf card data , programmes etc from the laptop to the amiga via a card i already own ...namely the LEXAR 256MB CARD and a KINGSTON CF/ADP PCMCIA adaptor.
I can format the card in most manners of filesytem (via the lappy) and it works fine when in linux.
However when i place it into the amiga 1200 it either locks up the computer or appears as non-dos disk.
I understand this is to do with the file structure and that the amiga cannot initialize the card to use it.
I have even partitioned the card into much smaller sections and it doesnt work.
I am getting really frustrated with this!!
I have read up on the problems other people have encountered whilst doing this and it appears most of the time to be the brand of cf card used.
Has anyone out there got a CF Card that is ready formatted or prepared to work on the a1200 pcmcia slot that they are willing to sell...
I dont care about the size or partitions etc as long as it can be used...also any help would be appreciated .
Amiga is running O.S 3.0 and i am using easy adf , installed to the hard drive .
ANYONE ! please
steve_uktv is offline  
Old 06 February 2010, 21:38   #2
mr.niceguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 117
I got several CF cards which are working in my PCMCIA Adapter. Size is 256MB, brand Kingston or Sandisk. PM sent
mr.niceguy is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 00:47   #3
steve_uktv
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 48
ok guys what is the best cf card to buy for compatibility with 1200 slot ??
steve_uktv is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 00:52   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
SanDisk, every time!

Ultra II, Extreme III or earlier ones. Don't go for the new 'IV' models yet. And of these I personally would recommend the Ultra II.
prowler is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:01   #5
steve_uktv
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 48
thx prowler
steve_uktv is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:07   #6
steve_uktv
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 48
what about this ?? i am bidding and it ends soon
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...STRK:MEBIDX:IT
steve_uktv is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:15   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,348
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi,

I use that same card in my A1200/A600 PCMCIA

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:17   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Yes, that one looks just fine. Nice price too!

I bet it's the same as the SanDisks mr.niceguy's selling.
prowler is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:23   #9
steve_uktv
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 48
yehh lol..thx for the advice mate
steve_uktv is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:28   #10
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Good luck with the auction!

Let us know how you get on.

Hint: Increase your maximum bid to the maximum you are willing to pay for it. Then you are guaranteed to get it unless the bidding goes above that level. You won't end up paying the maximum just because someone else outbids your present bid. Your bid will be automatically raised to match their bid unless they go over your maximum.
prowler is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:52   #11
steve_uktv
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 48
Thumbs up

yehh £2.02 and its now all mine lol...thx for the input guys ..wish me luck with the card in the 1200
steve_uktv is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:54   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
You don't need luck, just a compatible CF-PCMCIA adapter!
prowler is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:58   #13
steve_uktv
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 48
i have got the kingston adaptor
steve_uktv is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 01:59   #14
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Then you'll soon know if it's compatible, because that SanDisk card definitely is!
prowler is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 02:03   #15
steve_uktv
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 48
ty
steve_uktv is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8 GB Compact Flash card Kenan support.Hardware 6 07 June 2013 21:54
Selling: ACA 1230/28 Accelerator & Compact Flash Reader + Card (4gig), Games+ nixxjsteve MarketPlace 1 28 January 2011 20:14
Compact Flash Card as a Disk in WinUAE? Tempest 2084 support.WinUAE 36 30 May 2009 20:35
Compact Flash card as floppy drive? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 4 31 July 2007 19:27
How To Get A600 To Read Compact Flash Card ? Rich M Amiga scene 5 02 May 2005 07:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09027 seconds with 13 queries