English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 July 2017, 15:26   #261
kovacm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 269
Axa. It is problem in multitasking with more apps running.
But if you code game or demo, then cpu data cache is no problem?
kovacm is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 July 2017, 15:29   #262
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovacm View Post
Axa. It is problem in multitasking with more apps running.
But if you code game or demo, then cpu data cache is no problem?
It can only be enabled on some individual computers accelerator. Chip ram isn't datacached. I assume it's inhibited via hardware. If I ever get my a2k up and running again. I'll test the datacache from chip ram. It has an old 030 accelerator in it.
frank_b is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 21:02   #263
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,981
Are you saying that Individual accelerators support caching chip RAM?
idrougge is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 23:40   #264
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,628
I assume he means a specific accelerator, not the ones from IC.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 14:17   #265
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I assume he means a specific accelerator, not the ones from IC.
It's an option in ACtune.
http://wiki.icomp.de/wiki/ACAtune#chipcache
frank_b is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 14:25   #266
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
And one that you'd best leave off (it made my A600 really unstable). The same as the fastchip option - when these options worked it was nice, but many, many things can (and eventually will) go wrong.
roondar is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 14:35   #267
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
And one that you'd best leave off (it made my A600 really unstable). The same as the fastchip option - when these options worked it was nice, but many, many things can (and eventually will) go wrong.
Oh yeah. It's off for a reason
It can't be done safely on the Amiga for the reasons I pointed out in the thread.
frank_b is offline  
Old 29 July 2017, 19:29   #268
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 46
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero View Post
I did a few experiments today, admittedly on my A4000/060, but it certainly seems like even a very small amount of fast RAM would really provide a massive boost for an unexpanded Amiga. With caches off the difference between running code from chip RAM and fast RAM is dramatic, especially when you have lots of DMA enabled.

My little test code could easily plot 2x as many dots to screen with code in fast RAM, without any optimization.
0x0 CPUs with x>=2 benefit much more from Fast RAM than the stock 68k since they have a much higher frequency and lower cycle counts per instruction and thus much increased potential memory bandwidth.

They will be slowed down by the 7MHz chip bus whereas the 68k will not, unless bitplane DMA or the Blitter in nasty mode steal some of its cycles of course but even then, the 68k only requires memory access in one out of every four cycles to run at full speed so the slowdown would not necessarily be crippling.

Also, this kitten likes this thread.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 31 July 2017, 09:58   #269
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 110
The 68000 is really limited by the large number of cycles that instructions take. It makes sense for a workstation CPU to have fairly complex instructions and highly orthogonal instruction set that was good for the C compilers of the day, but for games...

For games having more instructions per second is more important. I've said it before but the 8 bit 6502 derivative in the PC Engine, running at 7MHz, is a much better fit for assembler code and games that just need to move sprites around and implement some game logic.

The best way I can think of to offset this on the Amiga is to take advantage of its relatively large RAM. You can pre-compute things like movement patterns, use triple buffering and generally trade RAM for CPU cycles wherever possible.
zero is offline  
Old 02 September 2017, 09:21   #270
metalion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: São Paulo / Brazil
Posts: 1
I think that Anima´s works is awesome and people speak so much and acts little.
I see a MSX2 (8bit), much less capable machine than Amiga, doing marvelous things:

Ghosts'n Goblins MSX turbo R V9990 (in developement)
[ Show youtube player ]

The King of Dragons like game for MSX2 V9990 (in developement)
[ Show youtube player ]

Pointless Fighter -Street Fighter II clone for MSX2 Moonsound (voices and sound FX)
[ Show youtube player ]

Everything is possible we only need to know how...
metalion is offline  
Old 02 September 2017, 12:23   #271
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,981
Truth to be told, an MSX Turbo R with V9990 is more capable than the basic Amiga when it comes to implementing a typical arcade game (Street Fighter notwithstanding).
idrougge is offline  
Old 04 September 2017, 11:26   #272
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 110
Many systems benefit from having better sprites than the Amiga. The Amiga graphics are better in other ways though. The trick is to write games that maximize the Amiga's advantages while minimizing the weaknesses.

As such, arcade ports where the hardware typically has loads of sprites and a tile mapped display can be challenging.
zero is offline  
Old 04 September 2017, 11:30   #273
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,101
Is better to have game Designed Around Amiga than try to port game from Arcade
sandruzzo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
general movie discussions gimbal OT - Entertainment 2063 20 September 2017 05:36
Japanese Console/Computer RPG discussions Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 2 02 April 2009 01:32
Given the recent Scanlines discussions... DamienD request.UAE Wishlist 26 26 April 2007 17:36
Wii Virtual Console / Xbox Live Arcade? killergorilla HOL suggestions and feedback 2 06 March 2007 17:20
Landover's Amiga Arcade Conversion Contest Frog News 1 28 January 2005 23:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14253 seconds with 12 queries