English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2017, 23:37   #881
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 610
btw, when I copy the UPD file to my USB stick I always reame it to HxCFEUSB.UPD, removing the version number and everything. Is this required for updating?
turrican9 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 September 2017, 23:49   #882
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
btw, when I copy the UPD file to my USB stick I always reame it to HxCFEUSB.UPD, removing the version number and everything. Is this required for updating?
Not required at all. Just take care to have only one upd to the root.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 13 September 2017, 23:51   #883
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Not required at all. Just take care to have only one upd to the root.
Thanks. Have you done any experimenting with emulating DF0: and DF1: on one Gotek yet?
turrican9 is offline  
Old 13 September 2017, 23:53   #884
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Thanks. Have you done any experimenting with emulating DF0: and DF1: on one Gotek yet?
no, not yet.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 01:22   #885
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,457
Which is the Gotek's maximum capacity support for the USB stick?

8GB? 16GB? More?
(a single partition, I presume...)


If there's a limit, it's the same for all the three firmwares available?
Supamax is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 08:22   #886
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Which is the Gotek's maximum capacity support for the USB stick?

8GB? 16GB? More?
(a single partition, I presume...)


If there's a limit, it's the same for all the three firmwares available?
Official FAT32 size limit : 32GB, but you reformat exfat media to fat32 to support 64,128, 256GB or even more. Not sure but i think you can go up to 2TB with FAT32.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 12:46   #887
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
no, not yet.
ooooh that sounds exciting
Methanoid is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 15:24   #888
Mikerochip
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Send a message via Skype™ to Mikerochip
Hi Jeff, I wonder if you could point me to the documentation with all the different kinds of modes of operation for the HxC firmware?

I'm still compiling my "Intro to Floppy Emulator Hardware" document

I know an AUTOBOOT.HFE exists for Amiga, Atari ST and Amstrad (And that's all I think?)

I know that this program on the disk image lets you manipulate the HxC config file (HXCSDFE.CFG) on the root of the storage media.

You can also make changes to this file using the official (windows only?) command line Exe (which also has a GUI; FF-HxC Editor http://bit.ly/FFHxCEditor) or HxCEdit exe from http://www.ifoedit.com/GotekADFEdit.html.

And finally, there's the configless mode, where each disk is named to a certain convention.

Am I missing anything?
Other than what each "mode" of operation is called!
Mikerochip is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 17:26   #889
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerochip View Post
Hi Jeff, I wonder if you could point me to the documentation with all the different kinds of modes of operation for the HxC firmware?

I'm still compiling my "Intro to Floppy Emulator Hardware" document

I know an AUTOBOOT.HFE exists for Amiga, Atari ST and Amstrad (And that's all I think?)

I know that this program on the disk image lets you manipulate the HxC config file (HXCSDFE.CFG) on the root of the storage media.

You can also make changes to this file using the official (windows only?) command line Exe (which also has a GUI; FF-HxC Editor http://bit.ly/FFHxCEditor) or HxCEdit exe from http://www.ifoedit.com/GotekADFEdit.html.

And finally, there's the configless mode, where each disk is named to a certain convention.

Am I missing anything?
Other than what each "mode" of operation is called!
One thing I am having trouble finding for some reason is how to change the modes on the GoTek - what jumpers to change in regards to Normal Mode and indexed Mode etc...
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 18:42   #890
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 396
No jumper to change, just different cfg file :

Quote:
Mode selection

There are actually three modes available :

Normal mode

In this mode the file image/disk to load is directly selected with the buttons and the LCD screen. One I2C screen is needed to be able to use this mode.
An optional "select" push button can be connected on the JA connector.
No extra software needed.

The config file to copy to the root of the flash media for this mode :

Config_Files/Normal_mode/HXCSDFE.CFG

Indexed mode

In this mode the file images must be named DSKA0000.HFE/.IMG, DSKA0001.HFE/.IMG, DSKA0002.HFE/.IMG,...
(HFE & IMG images supported)
The 2/3 digits display shows the actual file number selected.

No LCD and/or extra push button is needed to use this mode.
No extra software needed.

This is the recommended mode when you don't have the extra LCD & button and when your machine can't use the autoboot mode (see below).

The config file to copy to the root of the flash media for this mode :

Config_Files/Indexed_mode/HXCSDFE.CFG

"Autoboot" / File selector mode

In this mode, the AUTOBOOT.HFE software is used to select the images to load directly on the computer.
This software is actually available on Amiga, Atari ST and CPC computers.
Please also note that some Windows/Linux softwares are also available to make a images pre-selection/setting without the need of a compatible autoboot.hfe.

No LCD and/or extra push button is required to use this mode, but the LCD may help you to see which disk is actually mounted.

The config and the software file to copy to the root of the flash media for this mode are in the folder File_Selector/ and Config_Files/Autoboot_mode

Last edited by Jeff_HxC2001; 14 September 2017 at 18:47.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 19:08   #891
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
Official FAT32 size limit : 32GB, but you reformat exfat media to fat32 to support 64,128, 256GB or even more. Not sure but i think you can go up to 2TB with FAT32.
Hi Jeff,
what do you mean with "reformat exfat media to fat32" ?
Supamax is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 21:19   #892
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Hi Jeff,
what do you mean with "reformat exfat media to fat32" ?
What i mean is that flash medias with more than 32GB are sold with the exfat file system. You need to reformat them to be used with gotek or hxc. You need a special tool (http://www.fat32formatter.com/) since windows will not let you to choose fat32 during the formating if the media is >32GB. With this tool you reformat sticks or sdcard up to 2TB.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 22:17   #893
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 610
Testing IFPs converted to experimental HFE version 3. Using the latest Alpha version firmware. So far I've tested Addams Family, Batman the movie, Battlesquadron, Hybris, Turrican 1, Turrican 2 and Turrican 3. All seemed to work fine.

Now I'm gonna test Wings IPF with Disk 1 in Gotek DF0: and Disk 2 in Gotek DF1:

This is really taking shape. Most of my wishes have come true. Done a really good job here Jeff_HxC2001
turrican9 is offline  
Old 15 September 2017, 03:29   #894
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
What i mean is that flash medias with more than 32GB are sold with the exfat file system. You need to reformat them to be used with gotek or hxc. You need a special tool (http://www.fat32formatter.com/) since windows will not let you to choose fat32 during the formating if the media is >32GB. With this tool you reformat sticks or sdcard up to 2TB.
Oohh, thank you .
Interesting and very useful to know!

NTFS format is not supported (by any of the three firmwares), am I right?

Last edited by Supamax; 15 September 2017 at 03:35.
Supamax is offline  
Old 15 September 2017, 07:29   #895
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
NTFS format is not supported (by any of the three firmwares), am I right?
Exactly. This is an overly complex file system. Even Linux got problems to support it properly during a long time...

I will study the Exfat to see how i can support it in some of my next projects where i need lot more space.
In the floppy emulator project i don't think that this is useful and as i explained there is some workarounds to push the 32GB limit...
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 15 September 2017, 07:29   #896
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Testing IFPs converted to experimental HFE version 3. Using the latest Alpha version firmware. So far I've tested Addams Family, Batman the movie, Battlesquadron, Hybris, Turrican 1, Turrican 2 and Turrican 3. All seemed to work fine.

Now I'm gonna test Wings IPF with Disk 1 in Gotek DF0: and Disk 2 in Gotek DF1:

This is really taking shape. Most of my wishes have come true. Done a really good job here Jeff_HxC2001
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 15 September 2017, 10:22   #897
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,607
Question: If firmware supports HD images what is to stop (clever, not me!) people from connverting two disk games into single HD ADFs so no disk swapping needed?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 15 September 2017, 10:40   #898
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Question: If firmware supports HD images what is to stop (clever, not me!) people from connverting two disk games into single HD ADFs so no disk swapping needed?
While it does support HD images, it will not mimic the logic which causes the Amiga to identify the drive as a HD drive, so it does not work without a logic board added on. Also, converting a 2-disk game into one HD disk would be a lot of effort only to eliminate a minor inconvenience.
demolition is online now  
Old 16 September 2017, 17:58   #899
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 396
16 September 2017: Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.0.27.1a

- Extra LCD resolutions and sizes options added :

- 2x16 characters (for 2x16 or 2x20 I2C-HD44780 and 128x32 OLED screens)
- 2x18 characters (for 2x20 I2C-HD44780 and 128x32 OLED screens)
- 2x20 characters (for 2x20 I2C-HD44780 and 128x32 OLED screens)
- 2x21 characters (for 128x32 OLED screens only)

To select the desired resolution, enter the internal menu, and choose the "LCD size" sub-menu.

- To enter the internal config menu you can now press both up and down buttons. (without usb stick inserted).

- The internal config menu can now be browsed without the selection button, just wait 4 seconds to select an item.

- SD HxC Floppy Emulator internal EEPROM emulation added : The parameters changed into the internal config menu are
now saved into the Flash memory and restored/used at power up.

- Some more internal optimizations.

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...a_firmware.zip

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...ease_notes.txt
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 00:56   #900
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 830
What do you mean by the last item Jeff?

"SD HxC Floppy Emulator internal EEPROM emulation added"

What does features does this give us? I assume this is for those of us with your own hardware?
dJOS is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek Floppy emulators and Amiga computers now working together! :) H.M News 668 05 June 2017 07:49
Show us your drive emulator mods (Gotek/HxC/etc) ADz Hardware mods 92 27 October 2016 20:50
Gotek Extension Board - Prototype ready and working perfectly, pics & video Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 5 04 November 2014 11:05
Gotek floppy emulator not working Cooljerk support.Hardware 10 16 October 2014 08:27
HxC Floppy Emulator for CDTV, cannot get DF0 and DF1 working CDTV1991 support.Hardware 0 05 October 2011 14:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22093 seconds with 13 queries