English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 February 2013, 19:16   #1
jeff b00toNic
Registered User

jeff b00toNic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arnsberg Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 139
Oktagon 508 SCSI

Is it possible to use "Ultra Fast SCSI-3" HDs with this controller?
I changed the HD form "40 MB Quantum Pro Drive ELS" to "4.36 GB WD Enterprise 4360"
First thing I find suspicious is the Busy LED, it doesn't blink on drive access it shines on.
HDInstTools fails searching for HD (it accesses the drive for one second than stops). The drive itself has several jumper settings I tried them all without any luck.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
jeff b00toNic is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 February 2013, 03:51   #2
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 656
I don't have a specific answer to your question, but most SCSI drives are backwards compatable. That said, There may need to be a upgrade in the rom to use larger drives with the controller. Under HD toolbox did you change the device to oktagon.device. If it points to scsi.device then the HDtoolbox won't find it. The other think to consider is going to the website for the manual for the drive. The drive may need to spin up to opperatine speed before it can be recognized. There should be jumper for it. Make sure the scsi address is set between 0-7. Try id 4 id 0 or 7 may actually be the address for the controller itself and as a result will have a conflict. the newer scsi drives can have addresses 0-15, but your controller will only recognize 0-7. Another aspect would make sure (again with the drive manual) is there termination on the drive. some drives it is a jumper some require external termination. the 40 MB drive likely has 3 sets of resistor strips on the underside of the drive near the cable connection giving the termination for the drive. Hope it helps.
source is offline  
Old 26 February 2013, 17:43   #3
jeff b00toNic
Registered User

jeff b00toNic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arnsberg Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 139
Thank you Source.

I have the quick install guide for the drive and it covers some of your info.
Tried to setup the HD with this disk.
http://amiga.resource.cx/install/Oktagon-215.dms
So I guess it contains the right stuff to set it up.
Will try to use the normal WB install disk and set the oktagon.device by tooltype.

Finally got it working The drive itself came with just one jumper on the options block but I needed two jumpers to apply the correct setting.
SCSI Termination and Termination Power are the options to set in order to get the drive recognised by the system.
Thanks again Source!!!

Last edited by jeff b00toNic; 26 February 2013 at 20:11.
jeff b00toNic is offline  
Old 08 March 2013, 02:47   #4
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 656
o problem. glad i can help.
source is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSC AT-Bus 508 - missing GAL Tomcat support.Hardware 1 16 May 2014 00:06
Oktagon 2008/A2000 radzik Hardware mods 5 03 March 2009 17:25
Oktagon 2008 Rev.7 Board Drake008@ support.Hardware 5 11 April 2007 23:52
Cdrom with Oktagon 2008 controller..how? Nick99 support.Apps 12 10 April 2007 12:46
For Sale: Oktagon 2008 Zorro II SCSI controller Smiley MarketPlace 0 18 September 2006 20:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11118 seconds with 12 queries