English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 July 2012, 00:16   #61
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Yes the keyboard isn't working on emucon.
Here is a video of the real stuff : [ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by gibs; 09 July 2012 at 00:36.
gibs is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 July 2012, 01:35   #62
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 148
New snapshot: EmuTOS CVS-20120708
- Fixed entry point address for BlizKick compatibility

The binary is the same as the previous one tested by gibs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Here is a video of the real stuff : [ Show youtube player ]
Excellent
Many thanks for sharing your experience.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 09 July 2012, 13:24   #63
xc8
no c= no fun
xc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 233
Very nice work... I just tested it on the minimig core of the c-one, boots ok.
xc8 is offline  
Old 17 July 2012, 23:44   #64
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
TOS is the bios and console mode part of the OS and GEM is the gui.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_TOS

There is an emu tos build for the Falcon too.
I'm sure TOS is straight CP/M 68k (the commands are identical IIRC) and GEM the GUI just sits on top like MSDOS 6+WINDOWS 3.1. Kickstart and Workbench are not so cut and dry though, for example Windows doesn't use the same task scheduler or kernal as DOS it's pretty much a loader but doesn't Kickstart contain ALL the low level functionality of Amiga OS within the ROM e.g. time sliced round robin multitasking system AND what the BIOS on a PC does too?

Anyway the essential parts of Amiga's OS from 0.9 to 3.0 are basically bespoke versions of TriPos 68k (written by Dr Tim King of Metacomco at Cambridge University UK). Atari could quite easily have acquired TriPos for the ST range too. The Line A routines on GEM are god awful slow for graphical updates, they make Microsoft Windows source code look acceptable
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 01:08   #65
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Lmao
gibs is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 16:47   #66
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,227
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalA1000 View Post
doesn't Kickstart contain ALL the low level functionality of Amiga OS within the ROM e.g. time sliced round robin multitasking system AND what the BIOS on a PC does too?
Not entirely accurate, as there is no BIOS. There is only AmigaOS. The OS is always running in an Amiga mere seconds after you flip the power switch.

It's as if a Windows 7 equipped PC booted directly into the WinNT kernel from a ROM chip with some necessary DLLs + drivers included in that same ROM image and then loaded the rest off disk.
Jope is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 17:33   #67
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 713
Tested on my NTSC A1000 and boots to desktop, very nice. Keep up the good work.
Like everyone says, keyboard and floppy drive support will be appreciated.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 18:30   #68
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by xc8 View Post
Very nice work... I just tested it on the minimig core of the c-one, boots ok.
Excellent, TOS programs running on a TOS-compatible operating system running on Amiga-compatible FPGA core running on foreign hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
Tested on my NTSC A1000 and boots to desktop, very nice. Keep up the good work.
Excellent
Did you use the emutos-kickdisk.adf floppy, or some softkick tool?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
Like everyone says, keyboard and floppy drive support will be appreciated.
I've already added a few things. I plan to publish a new snapshot soon.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 20:15   #69
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 713
I used the emutos-kickdisk.adf file made on A1200, then boot like a kickstart. When doing soft reset with CTR A A it reboot to desktop right away.
This reminds me a video I have seen on youtube called KickTOS using original TOS roms [ Show youtube player ]
and it looks like they got the floppy to work.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 20:27   #70
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
I used the emutos-kickdisk.adf file made on A1200, then boot like a kickstart. When doing soft reset with CTR A A it reboot to desktop right away.
I applause, it works exactly as it was supposed to
And many thanks to Toni for WinUAE, which allowed me to accurately debug that stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
This reminds me a video I have seen on youtube called KickTOS using original TOS roms [ Show youtube player ]
As I already told, this was that KickTOS video which gave me the idea do do the same with EmuTOS - but without any emulation, just clean implementation

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
and it looks like they got the floppy to work.
It will also work on EmuTOS, it is just a matter of time.
IDE is already supported on A600/A1200 (at least on WinUAE).
BlankVector is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 21:34   #71
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by twiggy View Post
I have a MIDI device. I don't suppose you'd know which MIDI software packages are system friendly? Cubase?
There are 2 MIDI sw that I have and can try when the floppy support is working. I have Notator v3.0 and Master Tracks Pro v3.6.
I think both of them work in Hi res screens.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 22:48   #72
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,702
Any chance of SKICK support its a SoftKicker that should work on most Amiga's kick 2.x+
Are there any other SoftKickers suitable?

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/skick346
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 23:53   #73
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
I have Notator v3.0
You mean that one?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	notator.png
Views:	303
Size:	37.2 KB
ID:	32152  
BlankVector is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 23:54   #74
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Any chance of SKICK support its a SoftKicker that should work on most Amiga's kick 2.x+
Looking at the description: "It does relocation and/or patches of kickstart images.", so this will not work with EmuTOS, except if someone writes such patches, which is a nonsense.

On the other side, on Atari machines EmuTOS (which is very versatile) is able to run in RAM (instead of ROM) when started from a boot floppy or from the hard disk. It will work equally well on Amiga as soon as someone writes a small loader from AmigaOS
BlankVector is offline  
Old 19 July 2012, 12:19   #75
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,702
Shame love to try it on my Amigas
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 20 July 2012, 03:09   #76
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 148
New snapshot: EmuTOS CVS-20120719

- Added keyboard acknowledges. Now the keyboard works fine with WinUAE >= 2.4.0, I hope it will also work on real hardware. It can be easily tested with File > Execute EmuCON.

- Added support for battery backed-up real time clock. Now the EmuTOS welcome screen should display the real boot date and time. If there is no hardware clock, the build date is displayed instead, with 00:00:00 hour.

- Added support for Zorro II/III Fast RAM, Slow RAM and A3000/A4000 motherboard RAM. To achieve that I have imported the AROS AutoConfig routines into EmuTOS, it works like a charm. Now the EmuTOS welcome screen should display the right amount of FastRAM (while ST-RAM means Chip RAM).

- Added Shutdown support for WinUAE. From the desktop, File > Shutdown now exits WinUAE.

- Added debug output support for the WinUAE log. However standard EmuTOS versions does not produce much debug output.

Note that the WinUAE specific features requires the UAE Boot ROM, for example by checking uaeserial.device in the IO ports host settings.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 20 July 2012, 05:51   #77
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlankVector View Post
You mean that one?
Looks familiar.

BTW, I tried the new snapshot on real A1000 and the keyboard works!

Can I pause the EmuTOS startup screen so I can read all the info?
amiman99 is offline  
Old 22 July 2012, 21:13   #78
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
BTW, I tried the new snapshot on real A1000 and the keyboard works!
Excellent, getting things working on real hardware is always a challenge

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
Can I pause the EmuTOS startup screen so I can read all the info?
Sure. Just keep one of the Shift keys pressed at the EmuTOS welcome screen. It will stay until you release the key.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 05 August 2012, 00:34   #79
Dwyloc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 41
Posts: 81
@BlankVector
I can also confirm that it boot and has working keyboard support on my Minimig Amiga A500/A600 FPGA Amiga clone.

I have not tested the A600 IDE support using the Minimigs hardfile emulation as I don't really have the Atari know how to setup a harddisk so I will have to leave that to someone else to test.

So far things are looking good, would it be possible to have support for an non interlaced 2 black and white screen mode as well as interlace is a bit tiring on the eyes.
Dwyloc is offline  
Old 05 August 2012, 19:33   #80
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwyloc View Post
I can also confirm that it boot and has working keyboard support on my Minimig Amiga A500/A600 FPGA Amiga clone.
Excellent

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwyloc View Post
I have not tested the A600 IDE support using the Minimigs hardfile emulation as I don't really have the Atari know how to setup a harddisk so I will have to leave that to someone else to test.
Easy: EmuTOS has support for PC-formatted disks and FAT16 partitions. (up to 2 GB - the by-design limit). So you can use any image of a standard PC-formatted USB stick, SD-Card or watever. Important: you must use FAT16 partitions, FAT32 is not supported.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwyloc View Post
So far things are looking good, would it be possible to have support for an non interlaced 2 black and white screen mode as well as interlace is a bit tiring on the eyes.
Sure, I just need any 640x400 resolution with 1 plane. However, I'm really not familiar with Amiga hardware. If someone could write a proper initialization routine for such video mode, or at least point me to the relevant documentation, that would be big help.
BlankVector is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We NEED something like EmuTOS Antiriad Amiga scene 10 25 June 2012 00:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19247 seconds with 13 queries